Never Give Or Take Excuses

in #busy6 years ago (edited)



Almost everyone I know has been caught giving excuses. On the other hand I remember giving excuses right from the time I went to school as a kid. Earlier this week I was going through some articles that talked about the life of Florence Nightingale and I came across a gem of a quote attributed to her:

I attribute my success to this: I never gave or took any excuse - Florence Nightingale

I was impressed by this quote because it is so simplistic yet so meaningful. If you want to attribute your success in a single sentence to what you do, it is this. If you stay away from giving excuses and never ever take excuses for anything that you ask someone to do.

»»------(¯` ´¯)------»»

First here is the dictionary definition of an excuse:

  1. Seek to lessen the blame attaching to (a fault or offence); try to justify.
  1. Release (someone) from a duty or requirement

The first definition is more pertinent to this post - trying to justify an action or rather the lack of an action, and trying to lessen the blame attached to it.



Never Giving or Taking Excuses

A person's natural reaction when he or she does not want to carry out an action that he is supposed to be doing is to give an excuse. At the same time, if you're one who accepts an excuse from co-workers or those around you, you're setting them up for failure.

I Don't Have Time

This is the most common excuse which is also very convenient especially if you are busy within your working hours. But I stress the term working hours because then you might be in an office - an office that doesn't belong to you. I can understand not being able to do that something extra when you're in an office.

»»------(¯` ´¯)------»»

But what about your time outside office hours. I know of dedicated writers who write their books when they are on a train back home. They go to work like other office workers but during a ride that takes an hour they manage to write about 2000 words maybe an entire chapter.

I'll Do It Later

The time is never right for those who give this excuse. The truth is the right time is always - now. The saying "tomorrow never comes" is very true and what you think you will do the next day actually never gets done. Do it ow and get over with it - and make it a habit.



Not The Right Age

I remember once I was talking to a friend who wanted to start his own business after quitting his job. Something held him back and when I asked him he said that he is too young to start his own business. I did my bit to persuade him as did many others. He had been very successful at his corporate job and he could translate those skills easily into his new business.

We were right about him and when he did start his business after waiting a few years he became very successful. I still don't understand why he could not do the same thing a few years previously.

»»------(¯` ´¯)------»»

Too Difficult

A classic example is those who don't have graphic design skills and have to make covers for their books or thumbnails for their blog post images. They find it too hard in the beginning and give up. I felt the same way too but once I tried it a few times I realized that it's not too tough.

I think getting started is the difficult part. Once you're in motion with what you want to do you may not find it so difficult.

Fear Of Failure

You're usually right about what you feel about doing something - if you feel you can you're most probably right. If you begin a new project with a looming fear of failure chances are that it will end up as a failure. You have to see the end goal in your mind, having accomplished what you wanted to do. If your goal is to gain 1 million Steem, imagine what it would be to have that as your SP - one day it will definitely come true!

(¯`•._ _.•´¯)

If you would like to receive more upvotes on your posts, join Steemfollower by clicking here, and get additional upvotes by upvoting others. It is a service that is free of cost and very easy to use. The best part is your post will get seen by more people and also get upvoted by Steemfollower users.

Would you please UPVOTE and RESTEEM this post so that it can reach others too? Also do FOLLOW me for more useful and interesting posts.

#thesteemengine



#thealliance



#qurator

A Few Of My Previous Posts You Will Enjoy Reading!


Super Fast Skill Building

Got A WEAKNESS? Turn It Into STRENGTH

Will Amazon ACCEPT CRYPTO As Payment? | Signs That IT WILL

Freedom From ADDICTION | Even If YOU Think You're Addiction Free

[Steemit Tips] 7 Ways To Get People To CLICK On Your Link

Best Valentine's Day Gifts With STEEM

Are You Nomophobic? 5 Tips To Cure Smartphone Addiction

Steem: A Blockchain Front Runner

[LOC] A Token That Reduces Hotel Tariffs

Reduce Anxiety With A Worry Journal

Kryll.io ICO Overview - An Upcoming Crypto Trading Platform

Steemit Newbies: Standby For An Important Introductory Message

A Brief Guide On How To Find Crypto Gold

I'm Quitting My Job, What Next? | Tips For Planning Your Own Online Business

Why A High SBD Is A Good Thing | A Post On Behalf Of All Minnows

The Crypto Gold Rush 2018 | Who Wins The Most?

How To Push Yourself To Post Regularly On Steemit

The Alliance: Be Together & Achieve More

Upvoting Bots And ROI | Investment on Steemit Defined

Image sources: Pixabay, Giphy, Canva

Sort:  

Hahaha... I have to agree with @tattoodjay - I would tell myself (and others) the right time will come, not now... Maybe I'm too old now, and/or couldn't care less... Let's get it over with, is more my motto now! And of course, I do slip every off n on... ;)

Let's get it over with, is quite close to no excuses, so you're fine!

I couldn't agree more with you! This is the kind of content I usually post because I think this give readers a boost in their life.

If you excuse yourself, you will never success in anything. We need to set our minds to acomplish what we want.. If you can dream it, you can have it!

And I want to add somenthing "If you never try, you will never kwon how It would been"-

That's a great new addition, thank you!

Great inspirational post. definitely, agree Its all a state of mind. I had to buckle down recently ...No excuses!

I have to admit I was as guilty as anyone for making and giving excuses but I have found in the last few years I have stopped doing that maybe it’s a sign of age but now I do or don’t but I have given up with excuses for the most part

Good to hear that you've given up with excuses! Thanks for stopping by!

WellI should say mostly given up I still slip sometimes lOL

A pleasure to visit

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Maxabit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83