How To Push Yourself To Post Regularly On Steemit.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)



It is easy to lose yourself in the Steemit world of blogs with new and fresh content being pumped out every minute. It can keep you busy for hours without you even knowing how time flew by. For being a successful blogger you need to, well post on your blog regularly. Duh. Everyone knows that!

But then why does your blog page show that you posted 2 days ago or even worse 2 weeks ago!

Call it writers block or just plain laziness, but it hits everybody on Steemit at some time or the other. In this post I will give you some tips that may help you be a regular blogger - from my personal experience.

List

At the outset let me say that the most effective technique is to maintain a list of to dos that you prepare for the next day before going to bed. I make such a list everyday and on this list right on top, features creating a blog post. As I finish the tasks written in the list I tick them off - and it feels good.

You will get a sense of satisfaction(and relief) when you have ticked off items on your list as done. Now this won't happen overnight but if you stick with it for a few days it will become a habit. Do this for a few days and you will find that you tend to refer back to your list several times a day in other to make sure that you're not missing anything.




In fact you will not go to sleep before you complete all tasks on your list. Of course there may be exigencies or more urgent tasks that crop up suddenly. In that case, you can always carry forward some of your tasks for the next day.

Planning your post

Note down a topic on which you are going to write. Better still, write 4 or 5 points that you will base your post on. This will help you get started with a clear idea on what you are going to write.

Start with few words

You may not feel liking writing or typing anything sometimes - typical writer's block. The best remedy for writer's block is to open a blank document and just start typing on it. It doesn't have to be anything to do with the topic. Just type anything that comes to your mind and keep going until your mind opens up. You will find that the content for your post will start forming in your mind as you keep typing.

Once your mind opens up and the content flows out, you can also do your research if you are writing on a complex topic or about something that will need additional information.

Time

I have found that if I follow a fixed time for a daily task it has higher chances of getting done. This is because the mind is automatically alerted at that particular time and you tend to follow the same time every day. Earlier the better is the maxim preached by the time management gurus but I say that any time works, just make sure that you fix a time in the first place.



Notes

I always used to keep a small notepad handy so that I could write down an idea or possible topic that came to mind. Now I use my smartphone and I think all of them have a notepad pre-installed making it easy to note down things that you don't want to forget. Having your ideas noted down enables you to write faster instead of remembering what you had thought of earlier.

I know this question will be there in the minds of many. What if you don't have the time to write or don't write at all?

Steemit also has an audience for images, an increasing demand for videos or just simple drawings. The tips above pertain creating any post and the same discipline can be applied whether you write, draw, create videos or take photographs.

Would you please upvote and resteem this post so that it can reach others too? Also do follow me for more interesting posts.

Read My Previous Posts - You Will Enjoy Reading Them:


Why Are More YouTubers Are Moving To Steemit? | Is DTube The Next Big Video Platform?

The Alliance: Be Together & Achieve More

How To Lose Weight In 2018 | Fulfill Your New Year Resolution

Upvoting Bots And ROI | Investment on Steemit Defined

Cryptocurrencies: Bubble or Misunderstood?

Will The Cryptocurrency Market Mature in 2018?

Is Ripple XRP A Sure Winner? | Why Is Ripple Different?

5 Ways To Explain Steemit To Friends And Family

Blogging Tips For Newbies On Steemit

5 Free Resources To Start Meditation | Reduce Stress And Anxiety In Minutes

Ten Ways You Can Use Steem When It Hits $10

How To Make Positive Affirmations Work For You

Mark Zuckerberg Looks Towards Cryptocurrency For Facebook! | Will Facebook Adopt a Crypto Payment System? | Smart Media Tokens For Facebook?

High Price Of STEEM - Pump Or Correction? Reasons Behind The High Price? What Will It Be in 2018?

What To Do When Steem Is At An All Time High?

Image sources: Pixabay, Giphy

Sort:  

Hi @maxabit! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @tattoodjay :)

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: A Couple Of Classics
Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Great post and ideas
I am a great note taker now all mine are on my devices and google docs or onedrive so I can access from all my devices tip!

Thanks for the compliment, and also for the thoughtful tip!

I use Google Docs too but I do find the smartphone apps super convenient. I have installed three of them and mainly use one called iA Writer that is available in the Android Play Store.

You’re welcome
I haven’t heard if that app I must check it out

Its a tough task to accomplish with 3 young kids and other time consuming hobbies. I try to do a weekly bit and toss together a couple of gems along the way.

I think that is fine because you are posting regularly - which is why I used the word "regularly" instead of "daily" in the post title.

3 young kids must be taking up most of your time, but then it must be quite enjoyable even more than writing.

Yep, they're alot of fun.

Great post! These are some great tips. From a pro writer, it took me years to get in the habit of writing daily, even when I don't have client work to finish. Here on steemit, it's the only way to build any momentum, at all. Keep it up! @markrmorrisjr

Thanks for your comment!

Yes, it does build up momentum and works quite well for me. If I take a break from posting on Steemit, I find it a tad difficult to get back into the habit.

that's life. Well, good luck! Steem on!

Hey, thanks for the tips, I was just looking for something like this! I also noticed that you use upvote bots, is it more profitable when you invest money you earned? Or it only helps your post to be seen?

You're welcome!

I use upvote bots for a variety of reasons, but I can say that it is not wise to just depend on them for success. Consider it one of the forms of promotion that are available.

I will be creating a a few posts on my experience with upvoting bots in the days ahead, so be sure to follow me and read my posts, since I do create a lot of content which is beneficial for those who are new.

I also recommend you read on of my previous posts linked below, if you haven't already:

Upvoting Bots And ROI | Investment on Steemit Defined

Yeah I could actually use some advice so I follow you. I just want to know how to use upvote bots wisely

This was a great read and just what I needed. I have a few stories in the bank that I have been meaning to write but due to some stressful situations and spending most of my days out exploring until all I want to do is sleep, it has been hard to get motivated. I will try and put a list together today and check off everything I can. Thanks for sharing your ideas with us. resteemed, followed and upvoted.

Thanks for the comment!

It is important to build up some motivation first and be clear about "why" you're doing it. I use an app for my to do list and it suits me because I have my smartphone with me at all times either in my pocket or sitting next to me.

You can also set reminders on the apps which will force you to complete your tasks. Hope this helps!

Good ideas... Me? I need to take more photographs... :)

Thanks!

You do take some nice photographs and I wish more users would do the same instead of pasting in someone else's images here.

But where I feel where a vast majority of Steemit users should emulate you is the way you take the trouble of commenting on blogs regularly, appreciating their work and supporting them.

Hi @maxabit, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EST or 7PM EST in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Thanks so much for including my post in the Steemit Ramble!

I do try and follow what I preach, hoping that my regular posting habit can be an inspiration for newer Steemit users who can get easily discouraged after posting a few times. Writers block can get in the way of what can become a joyful routine of posting content on topics that one is passionate about.

I hope that my brief post containing a few tips will be helpful to others. Thanks again!

Thanks for the invite too - I have joined the Discord channel and looking forward to participating!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Maxabit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 28.57 % upvote, thanks to: @maxabit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55213.27
ETH 2919.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.95