Freedom From ADDICTION | Even If YOU Think You're Addiction Free**

in #thealliance7 years ago (edited)



If you are not addicted to drugs, it doesn't necessarily mean that you are free of addiction. Please go through the list below and I'll ask you for an honest answer to an important question:

Smoking, coffee, tea, soda, sugar, junk food, alcohol, TV, Steemit Facebook, Reddit, Twitter, movies, video games...

The list can go on but some of the most common addictions feature in the list. Now be honest and ask yourself - how many of the items in the list, or even outside it, are you addicted to?

Chances are more than one especially if you also consider things that are outside this list.

:۞:••:۞:••:۞:••:۞:••:۞:

No addiction is good for you even if it is as innocent as drinking too much juice(you'll get a stomach upset!) But seriously, every addiction has serious consequences. For example addiction to food has led to thirty percent of people in the world being obese - no small number.



You will experience true freedom once you become addiction free. I used to observe colleagues who smoked leaving their desks every few minutes to get their fix of nicotine. If you're addicted to junk food, not a day will pass by without you having your burger with french fries or whatever your addiction is. If you spend too much time browsing the internet you will never be able to get much work down if your work involves being online or on a computer.

The solution to die-hard addiction lies in abstaining completely, forever. This applies mainly to strong addictions like drugs where there is nothing like having it once in a while after being addicted for months or years.

:۞:••:۞:••:۞:••:۞:••:۞:

Less serious addictions can be regulated easily with some discipline. For example, I used to get distracted by the latest news whether it be a swing in cryptocurrency prices, the latest game or an event that everyone was talking about. It ended up in my browsing the internet for a longer period of time than I planned to.

Fortunately, I was able to regulate my internet use by installing a Chrome extension on both my computers called Stayfocusd. After installing it, my internet browsing has decreased substantially and I am now able to finish much more work easily - and that includes writing posts and commenting on Steemit!

Of course I also follow the discipline of a daily schedule with an online clock to remind me about time limits.



I hardly watch TV now but I know people who have actually sold their TVs or given them away in order to get rid of their addiction.

Addictions can also mean a breakdown in your interpersonal relationships. The reason social media is so popular is because most people like to socialize. But what would be better - meeting friends face to face or chat with them on your computer or smartphone. The stronger your interpersonal relationships are the less susceptible you will be to addictions.

:۞:••:۞:••:۞:••:۞:••:۞:

In fact if you're busy and have a packed schedule, do not get the time to get bored or to brood over things, you can be free of many addictions. On the other hand if you're free of addictions you can do more and achieve more.

An addiction is like a devil living within us. It makes you loyal to it, defying logic and reasoning. Worst of all it robs you of your freedom and you become a slave of your addiction. It may seem difficult at first but we must do our best to get rid of our addictions.

If you would like to receive more upvotes on your posts, join Steemfollower by clicking here, and get additional upvotes by upvoting others. It is a service that is free of cost and very easy to use. The best part is your post will get seen by more people and also get upvoted by Steemfollower users.

Would you please UPVOTE and RESTEEM this post so that it can reach others too? Also do FOLLOW me for more useful and interesting posts.

#thesteemengine

:۞:••:۞:••:۞:••:۞:••:۞:



#thealliance

:۞:••:۞:••:۞:••:۞:••:۞:



#qurator

A Few Of My Previous Posts - You Will Enjoy Reading Them!


[Steemit Tips] 7 Ways To Get People To CLICK On Your Link

Best Valentine's Day Gifts With STEEM

Are You Nomophobic? 5 Tips To Cure Smartphone Addiction

Steem: A Blockchain Front Runner

[LOC] A Token That Reduces Hotel Tariffs

Reduce Anxiety With A Worry Journal

Kryll.io ICO Overview - An Upcoming Crypto Trading Platform

Steemit Newbies: Standby For An Important Introductory Message

A Brief Guide On How To Find Crypto Gold

I'm Quitting My Job, What Next? | Tips For Planning Your Own Online Business

Why A High SBD Is A Good Thing | A Post On Behalf Of All Minnows

How to Start The Day Motivated | Give Yourself A Head Start Every Morning

Praising Children The Right Way | Are You Doing It Wrong?

The Crypto Gold Rush 2018 | Who Wins The Most?

How To Push Yourself To Post Regularly On Steemit

The Alliance: Be Together & Achieve More

How To Lose Weight In 2018 | Fulfill Your New Year Resolution

Upvoting Bots And ROI | Investment on Steemit Defined

Image sources: Pixabay, Giphy, Canva

Sort:  

Yeah, we're all wildly addicted to screens! There are many forms within that but that is the current 'hypnotism' ;)

Yep, screen addiction is what it is at, in today's times. Computer, smartphone, TV and movie screens all the time make for a deadly addiction.

My name is @c0ff33a and I have and addiction to Coffee and Steemit lol. Super post, you are very right are little vices are often little more then comfort for our busy minds, a psychological crutch to keep us going - or maybe take our minds of less pleasant things. Sometimes they can be bad, and at worse fatal...especially when you consider how devastating the effect of drug abuse can have on people - both financially and physically. Another great and though provoking piece of work - I don't always get chance to call by and comment - but try to catch up as much as I can.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Glad that you liked the post, and spared the time to write such a comment - I'm flattered!

I think you're addicted to promoting coffee more than coffee itself! (/jk)

These days i am in habit of addiction. I am steemit addicted:)

Being addicted to Steemit and doing the right things can bring in a lot of money in the long term!

Smoking, coffee, tea, soda, sugar, junk food, alcohol, TV, Steemit Facebook, Reddit, Twitter, movies, video games...

Did i see Steemit in there??? Lol

Totally agree..anything in excess is not good. Balance is key in every aspect of our lives. I m gonna give StayFocused a try and see if it works. I used to install Rescue Time...Come to think i dunno why it didn't work for me..

I thought of including Steemit too in the list, but then I realized that it's quite different with Steemit- because the more you're on Steemit, the more you can earn!

I've used Rescue Time too and it is good, but Stayfocusd has been really the best for me and I do not need anything else to restrict my internet browsing time.

That with smoking habit annoyed me a lot at certain work places, not because I mind smoke but because if you are a non-smoker automatically you are believed to cover up for the coworkers who 'have to go out'. We all work for the same salary, why would I cover up anybody, while they spent more time outside of the work smoking...

That is indeed unfair and break time should be equal for everyone. Maybe if the boss is a non-smoker he'll get the point!

There must be some addiction in our lives ;)

I tend to agree a bit, but not too much or too serious. Being completely free is even better, and you realize it only when you get there. ;-)

You got a 21.51% upvote from @bearwards courtesy of @maxabit!

This post has received a 21.24% upvote from thanks to: @maxabit.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.050 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

Excellent post!!! I never realized the things that I had a true addiction to until I couldn't have them on my detox!!!! Oh boy! What an eye opener!
But it's so good to acknowledge these things! Then we can fight a property battle against them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44