Steemit Newbies: Standby For An Important Introductory Message

in #thealliance6 years ago (edited)


First and foremost, wish you a very warm welcome! Right off the bat I can assure you that there is no place better than Steemit to join now, and it will be so for a long time to come! Now that you know that you are in the right place let me impart my message to you. The title was not just an attention grabbing gimmick but a meaningful call to action for this message, which contains advice that will hold you in good stead during your stay on Steemit.

The most important question that you must ask as soon as you finish reading this post is,

Why am I here?

Have you joined Steemit to earn a "huge amount of money", to create your own blog based on your interest or passion, make friends, or just support a cause? Be sure of why you have come here because only if you know what you are going to do, can create a path for yourself in the days ahead on Steemit.

If you have joined here to earn a good amount of money and would like to make Steemit a regular income source it's possible though not immediately. You can, in the long term, however you must learn how to create excellent content that stands out from the rest. That might seem like a tall order in the beginning but without making an effort, creating posts for weeks and months will end up like writing and publishing a book that no one reads except perhaps your mom or your best friend.

Passion

Follow your passion, whatever it might be. If you like gaming, check out the successful posts on gaming and create content accordingly. If you are good at photography, post images that you have taken with your camera. If you like drawing, scan your drawings and make a post on it. If you post images, make it a point to also include a few lines on what the picture is about.

A perfect example is this post of @tattoodjay and this post. Notice the way that he has written about the images in his post.




Avoid Copying

Posting plagiarized content is not only looked down upon but is also a crime punishable by law. So just stay away from plagiarizing or other dubious practices, and you will be fine. Original content is not only fresh and unique, but increases credibility., something that is important if you want to increase your reputation on Steemit. A writer with a good reputation always tends to earn much more than someone with a lower reputation.

Never ever should you even think of posting images that belong to someone else that do not permit sharing on the internet. If you need images for your post, use free stock images from Pixabay or other free sites, while mentioning the source for those images within the post, at the end or below the images.

Commenting Income

You may be thinking that you do not wish to make loads of money, maybe just a small amount to supplement your main income or while you work a full-time job. You can easily earn a decent sum of money not only by publishing good blog posts, but by posting useful comments on other blogs. Daily commenting can create a drip of regular income which adds up to a good sum at the end of each month.

Your comment should add value to the content on the author's blog, written after reading the post. Do not just post zero value comments like "nice post" or "thanks for sharing." A ballpark you can use for your comment is to write at least 25 to 30 words or 3 sentences.

Here is a link to one of the comments in response to @abigail-dantes's post that I made recently. As you can see, it is a long form comment and a post in itself, made after reading the entire post of the author. Useful comments that add value also get rewarded by authors who appreciate the time and effort taken by the person who makes such a comment.

Here is another one on @ethandsmith's post made by me after reading the review posted by the author. It is only a few sentences long but it is clear from reading my comment that I have read the author's post.

Upvoting

When you like a post, upvote it and also add a good comment. This encourages authors and also ranks good content high, and is something that others will do for you when you publish good content in the form of blog posts or comments. At the same time, don't insert your latest post link in every comment that you make if it is not connected to the author's post in any way.



Followers

Having followers goes a long way in making an author successful on Steemit. But at the same time the quality of followers counts more than the number. Hence do not ask for a follow-for-follow, instead follow those with similar content to yours so that they follow you back and also upvote and comment on your blog.

Rep Score

If you follow all the points above correctly you will see a steady increase in your reputation score, the figure against your username. You will get more attention, upvotes and recognition if you have a higher reputation since it is something that you have earned.

Contests

Participation in contests and initiatives on Steemit will get you good visibility, and you can also win some cool prizes, beside making some friends who will help you out whenever you need it. For a shortcut to contests being held on Steemit you can click on this link for trending contests, this link for hot contests and this one to see all new contests.

Steem Power

If you really want to see success in a shorter period of time, although it is not a guarantee, you can increase your Steem Power by investing your money. Do this only if you have money that you can spare, not the money that would have paid your bills or bought things that members of your family had been asking for - like toys for your kids.

Be Good

Last but not the least, be respectful, polite and tolerant. If you disrespect anyone's post or use foul or objectionable language you will always be at risk of being flagged down(the opposite of upvoting) in which you can lose your earnings. If you have to disagree, do so agreeably and in such a way that others will see where you're coming from.

If you follow this advice you will see consistent success on Steemit in the days ahead.

Welcome again and wish you good luck!!

Would you please UPVOTE and RESTEEM this post so that it can reach others too? Also do FOLLOW me for more useful and interesting posts.

#thesteemengine



#thealliance

My Previous Posts - You Will Enjoy Reading Them!


A Brief Guide On How To Find Crypto Gold

I'm Quitting My Job, What Next? | Tips For Planning Your Own Online Business

Why A High SBD Is A Good Thing | A Post On Behalf Of All Minnows

How to Start The Day Motivated | Give Yourself A Head Start Every Morning

Praising Children The Right Way | Are You Doing It Wrong?

The Crypto Gold Rush 2018 | Who Wins The Most?

How To Push Yourself To Post Regularly On Steemit

Why Are More YouTubers Are Moving To Steemit? | Is DTube The Next Big Video Platform?

The Alliance: Be Together & Achieve More

How To Lose Weight In 2018 | Fulfill Your New Year Resolution

Upvoting Bots And ROI | Investment on Steemit Defined

Cryptocurrencies: Bubble or Misunderstood?

Will The Cryptocurrency Market Mature in 2018?

Is Ripple XRP A Sure Winner? | Why Is Ripple Different?

5 Ways To Explain Steemit To Friends And Family

Blogging Tips For Newbies On Steemit

Image sources: Pixabay, Canva

Sort:  

Great post
A nice surprise to be cited as a good example

Sorry I messed up my upvoting this morning and need to build up again

Tip!

Thanks for dropping by!

You're a role model on Steemit, and giving an example of your posts is the ideal lesson for a newbie.

Thanks so much for the nice tip!

Not sure about being a role model I just do what I can 😎

You're being modest!

No not really I see other posts that inspire me but also make me feel I need to do more with my posts

😎

A must read for newbies... very cool

Thank you!

Thank you for all of this useful information! It will come in handy :)

You're welcome! It sure will, and if you follow all that has been explained in the post, you will well be on your way to success on Steemit.

Great article, @maxabit! I am going to drop a link for it in the #resources channel of my Discord Server. I have a lot of newbies join my Server, so this will be a great article to have there.

You are completely correct on your point of making regular, good comments on posts. I have noticed a big drop in my daily rewards for the past month because my work demands have made it impossible for me to spend time making comments like I had been doing. It's really great advice for everyone, but especially for the people who need to build up their initial funds in the platform.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 02 FEB 2018. I'm following you now, too!

Would you mind if I copied and used your divider graphic? It's really nice!

Cheers

Thanks for the compliment, and for the upvote, resteem and feature! I would be happy if newbies learn something from the post.

I make it a point to comment every day, especially on posts of those who support me. Time is indeed short for most people, but you have to make the best out of it.

Here is the source of the dividers, go ahead and choose your pick:

Text Dividers for your posts. Easy to use! Just COPY and PASTE.

Hope it helps!

The kind of post I wish I had read when I first started Steemit. I think the main point for me is to make sure you have quality followers rather than quantity. After 2 months, I went through all the people I was following and checked their posts. I unfollowed anyone who was posting poor quality.

That was the right thing to do!

Also, quality content attracts followers who like your content and would like to post content of a high quality. I haven't seen quality followers following bloggers with poor quality posts.

Awesome post, this is really good advice for everyone - not just new starters there is always something to learn and this advice can help everyone improve their rewards.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thank you for dropping in and posting your comment!

Indeed although the post is addressed to newbies anyone can benefit from it.

I just wrote something similar! Lol, then headed over to steemit bloggers and found this! Well done :)

Thanks!

I just went over to your latest post and I must say that it is also a must-read for newbies.

I am a member of @thesteemengine and @thealliance, and you may have probably come across a link to my post in one of those groups. I am not a member as yet, in the Steemit Bloggers group.

Very informatative and worth a resteem. I enjoy welcoming new folks to the platform, but you hit a home run with this one. I think calling this a social-media is a little off putting for the hoards of people that look at Facebook as the definition of that word. This is more like a blog platform with a rich interactive network, incentives, and tools for monetizing content. I think we are insulting Steemit by calling it by such a word, in my humble opinion, but for getting the zombies attention, it does turn heads towards the idea. Cheers!

Thanks.

You're right. Steemit is much more than just a social platform.

Being fairly new, but really enjoying myself, this is some good advice. I love finding great checklist sort of posts of things you can do or may be doing so just happily continue on and it will get better.

I just wrote a post about how, as a sub minnow and an artist, I am still enjoying the process and posting of Steemit for myself first. Treating it in a way as a diary and daily affirmation makes me feel like I've done a good thing for myself each time I do a post, so even if I only earn .25 cents I'm still a winner. It's just nice to have a great place of passionate people to share your ideas and work.

I might bookmark this. It's full of good tips.

My granny used to say nothing is lost and so much gained from dilligence, hardwork, and determination. It's advice that has always held me in good stead. :)

Such a great post and so many great articles and advice, thanks! keep up the good work it really helps us minnows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65647.77
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60