I'm Quitting My Job, What Next? | Tips For Planning Your Own Online Business

in #thealliance7 years ago


Some years ago I quit my job and walked out a free man. When I say free I mean freedom from stress, and the unshackling of chains that bound me to an office desk, to a suffocating organizational environment and a pseudo-corporate culture where the boss was always right.

I started on my own and even though the initial years were a bit tough, till now I have never had reason to look back. I used to think about quitting my job quite often and it was only after I left that I realized that there is never a right time to quit your day job. You only need to plan for it and then quit your job.

It is the bitter truth that stress at the workplace forces many people to say goodbye to their jobs forever. If you have decided to leave your job but are held back by the thoughts of what the consequences could be, these tips might help you.

First and foremost plan your finances. Make sure that you have saved enough to last you 6 months or a year, providing you with a supplemental income. If you have a passion that you plan to make a full time living out of, you may need to get settled and start earning a regular income.




Build up your mindset so that you can make the switch from a day job mentality to that of an entrepreneur. You may need to work harder than before in order to exceed expectations of your clients. The best thing about working at home is that you are your own boss, but it can also be the worst that happened to you. Follow the example of those who are successful online, without getting sucked into sales funnels of shady or aggressive online entrepreneurs who only want to sell you their latest course that will make you rich.

Be sure about what you intend to do. Don't quit your job with no plan in mind. The good thing about the internet is that for almost everything there is an equivalent vocation on the internet. For example, if you are good at marketing, you can promote your own products whether created by you or bought for reselling. There are ready jobs available for those who are engaged in arts and crafts as well as professionals. There are professionals making a living on sites like Elance and Freelancer.

If you're a good writer it could be a content creation that you may be interested in. Bloggers and authors are always looking for ghostwriters. If you are good with graphics there is a great demand for logos, book covers and graphics for websites.

If you're an engineer, project manager or an advertising professional you could stat your own consulting business. Of course you will need to promote your service and acquire clients but there are courses that teach you to do that.

Planning your work schedule and time is something that most people take for granted. When high are in an office your boss plans what you do and gives you time lines. When you are on your own you need to do this yourself. Plan which days you will be working and whether you will take the entire weekend off. If you were working a 9 to 5 plan of fixing similar hours for your new business.



I believed in an early start and this has gone well for me. I am able to complete almost major tasks by afternoon and I am free before the evening. I plan my days with a to do list which I follow to the last letter.

It could be different for you and late hours may suit you better. But make sure that you have tasks cut out for each day and monitor your progress by keeping track of how much you are able to complete each day. Make changes in your schedule accordingly so that your to do list does not become an impossible task master.

Don't lose contact with your friends in your job and keep in touch with your old colleagues. Once you begin working from home you will tend to be cutoff from the world. If you are a blogger on Steemit make sure that you join various groups and channels on Discord, adn form your own social group.

Last but not the least, you must take your family into confidence. They will be your immediate form of support until you have enough friends and contacts in the online world with the same interests or business as you. Share your plan with them and address their concerns so that they are confident that everything will be fine.

Hopefully, using these tips will ease your transition from an office worker to an online entrepreneur.

Are you a work-at-home entrepreneur? Did you quit your job? Describe your experience!

Would you please upvote and resteem this post so that it can reach others too? Also do follow me for more useful and interesting posts.

My Previous Posts - You Will Enjoy Reading Them!


Why A High SBD Is A Good Thing | A Post On Behalf Of All Minnows

How to Start The Day Motivated | Give Yourself A Head Start Every Morning

Praising Children The Right Way | Are You Doing It Wrong?

The Crypto Gold Rush 2018 | Who Wins The Most?

How To Push Yourself To Post Regularly On Steemit

Why Are More YouTubers Are Moving To Steemit? | Is DTube The Next Big Video Platform?

The Alliance: Be Together & Achieve More

How To Lose Weight In 2018 | Fulfill Your New Year Resolution

Upvoting Bots And ROI | Investment on Steemit Defined

Cryptocurrencies: Bubble or Misunderstood?

Will The Cryptocurrency Market Mature in 2018?

Is Ripple XRP A Sure Winner? | Why Is Ripple Different?

5 Ways To Explain Steemit To Friends And Family

Blogging Tips For Newbies On Steemit

5 Free Resources To Start Meditation | Reduce Stress And Anxiety In Minutes

Ten Ways You Can Use Steem When It Hits $10

Image sources: Pixabay, Canva

Sort:  

Drop by from The Steem Engine Express and loved what you wrote.

Be sure about what you intend to do. Don't quit your job with no plan in mind

Totally agree with this. I quit my job due to ethical reasons and was completely unprepared. I learned it the hard way that when you are not intentional about what you do and you grope about in the dark, not only are you wasting your precious time and resources, it also demoralizes you. I am building my business now and I must say, having a concrete plan in place and being really intentional about what I want to do in the next 1 month, 1 year, 3 years and 5 years is absolutely critical

Wish you all the best in your new business!

Having a plan with goals laid out is the way to go. Those who don't have a plan nor any goals rarely success, except fluke.

I review my plans and goals every month and with each review things start looking better.

True that! And I must add, having goals with clear deadlines is critical too. Goals with no deadlines is a recipe for disaster too

Good point!

In fact, a goal without a deadline is like a game without a time limit!

Just curious - are you building an online or an offline business?

Impressive, I admire the discipline you have put in and it has obviously worked out well for you.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thank you for your kind words!

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 7 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Thank you so much and it is indeed a dream come true, for I was wishing the other day that any one of my posts get featured in The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. You granted my wish!

It is a brief post which I hope will be useful for those transitioning to an online work model. I will be writing in more detail about some of the finer points that I did not elaborate in the short post. Thanks again!

I hope you enjoyed what I had to say about it. I'm glad you're planning more posts on this theme! Many people here on Steemit are around full-time, so I'm sure they will appreciate the advice!

I really like this post. I am a teacher and I have no desire to quit the job yet. But I was interested in the self discipline aspect. I know I prefer to work in the morning and evenings. Hats off to anyone who has done this.

Self discipline is very important in any work-at-home business. Think of it this way - the self discipline rigor takes the place of your boss in the office!

  1. Don't quit your job with no plan in mind.
  2. You must take your family into confidence
    I think these two points get overlooked a lot. Thanks for sharing those!
    People also tend to forget, If you are finally free, do what you want to do. Not because others told you, because you think it will make money, just ... it makes you happy everyday.

Yes, you got the gist of it! Be free and be happy!

Yes, and if you ain't happy, you aren't really free :).

I will be retiring in a couple of years so quitting my job is not really on the cards for me

but it was so interesting to read your take on this and advise for those who are considering it

The fact that you are working a full-time job, posting great content every day and also handling a senior role(or roles) on Steemit deserves commendation!

By the time you retire I am sure that you will be one of the bigger whales on Steemit.

I hope to be a dolphin by the time I retire, a whale I don’t feel is realistic goal lol

Hmm, I'm a bit too young to talk about quitting my job but because i'm a full time student and a part time freelancer / intern( helps in resume and experience)
But my friend who worked for the big four like Ernst & Young did quit his job recently and works as a freelancer now because the working hours was too long.

So what's your plan at the moment? and how's it going?

No age is too young to start out on your own. :-). But if you like it, to each her own!

I quit my last job in 2011, and it has been going well for me for the last couple of years, with a small mix of niche businesses, some of which are quite popular online.

So. It's been over 20 years since I said Adios to the corporate world (not quite true, I own a corporation. It's a great conversation piece). About 10 years ago I started with the innerwebs for serious (If online poker is serious).

Not to write another post, but I violated every single one of your rules. Some more than once. Every failure added to what I knew. God, did I fall for the 'online marketing class' scheme. Laughable.

Thanks for a wonderful post. And maybe more, thanks for those to follow us, maybe your post can keep them from one serious mistake. Then you will be successful beyond your knowing.

Oh, man! I can relate. I walked out one day and never looked back. It was the most terrifying, painful yet absolutely magnificent experience of my life. It is so hard to encapsulate what a person really goes through when they make this leap. You have captured it here! Excellent work and very, very interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44