🍌 Leave the Strings Attached! 🍌

in #bananamemos6 years ago (edited)

The rambling, fast-talking Roxana is a fledgling nutritionist who doesn't always quite know what she's talking about, but she's earnest and she tries really hard. We all know this banana nutrition stuff anyway, so let's just go along with her...




Hi all! I'm Roxana Bananamon, and as the Banana Nutritionist on this here blog, I'm always psyched to be bringin' everybody the latest information on banana nutrition.

Or at least the latest info I've discovered.

And today, I'm super excited to be bringin' you this information 'cause I bet it's somethin' you didn't already know. I mean, I'm a banana and I didn't know this!

Not only that, but I got two young'uns, Tay'Tran and Havana, that I'm always trying to find the most nutritious snacks for, you know what I'm sayin'? It's a big responsibility, raisin' kids. You want to make sure they have the best nutrition you can give 'em. So it's not like I'm bringin' a bunch of junk food into the house all the time, 'cause, as they say, "You are what you eat."

Not that, I mean, if you eat a chocolate bar, you'll turn into a chocolate bar. No, that's not what that sayin' means at all. It means... um... somethin' about the nutrition in a food and maybe that being turned by your body into nutrition... or, I mean, you know.

The upshot is that you wanna eat good nutrition, and you wanna feed your kids good nutritious snacks and such.

Which, surprise! Brings me right back to where I left off -- all about the good nutrition in bananas, and a little secret info you probably didn't know:

The strings hangin' off the banana when you peel it are actually good for you!
Don't pull them off! Eat 'em up!!

Those strings are technically called -- try not to get grossed out here -- “phloem bundles.”

Bad name for 'em, I know.

But these phloem bundles are actually the nutrient delivery system for the banana, taking water, nutrients and minerals to all parts of the banana while it's growin' inside its skin. The strings are sorta like (another gross analogy comin' here) arteries or veins carryin' liquid stuff to the chunky part of the banana. I just mean that there's nutrients in those strings, so don't yank 'em off... EAT 'EM!

phloem strings 400x258.jpg




Hey, Havana! Come here, I've got some phloem for you...









MO-OM-MMM!!
Tay'Tran's trying to phloem me!!









Kids! Pretty much the same, everywhere you go.
See y'all next time, and Happy (nutritious) Eatin'!











@bananamemos


If you enjoyed this post, please consider re-steeming
so that others can meet
the Banana Collective. Thanks a bunch!

line of palm trees.png

More Tay'Tran & Havana shenanigans ~

nutrition from Roxana ~
Ants on a Log / Are peels appealing? / Bananas vs apples

Dali with the latest Memorable Quotes from Fruitywood Films

The Nottingham Banana! ~ It's exciting news!

Red Peel on Steemit's Social Conditioning Experiment

GramNana on Penny-wise and pound-foolish

B. Foster with Frozen Chocolate Banana Bites

Van McPeel's favorite book ~ Bananalocks & the 3 Bananas

A 13-year-old educates us all about HODL

. Victor Frankenpeel's latest genetic experiments

Professor Bananington rants about banana peppers


@bananamemos

line of palm trees.png
Hey, y'all -- This is a post for The Banana Program by @stellabelle.

Welcome to these 5 newcomers: @aivlis24🍌 @jetjacky🍌 @frednoble🍌 @knockoutnumber1🍌 @amazing-fact🍌

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Wow, I wonder what other amazing facts you have to reveal about the BEST FRUIT IN THE WORLD! It makes me want to go back to school and get a degree in Bananaology.



oh, you ain't kiddin', @emergehealthier! I could write and talk ALL DAY about all the great nutrition in bananas! Here's a snack for you, to keep your energy up while Steemin':

Thank, I enjoyed my snack and feel healthier already!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53