๐ŸŒ A BANANA a day keeps the doctor away ๐ŸŒ

in #bananamemos โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Sir Geoffrey Bananington is the Professor of Comparative Fruit, Literature and Interspecies Negotiation at Bruisington University (and never lets any of us forget it). Professor B tends to rant a bit, but he means well.

There is undoubtedly an anti-banana bias that pervades our society.

One only needs to recall that totally inane saying, โ€œAn apple a day keeps the doctor away.โ€ Why do I say it's inane?

Because we all KNOW the fruit most responsible for keeping away assorted medical personnel isโ€ฆ The Banana.



I just gotta say, Professor, that you are super on target with that one! As the Banana Nutritionist for this blog, I can second that opinion that bananas are the healthiest fruit around, and are really, really helpful at keeping medical people at a distance.

Did you know that bananas, besides having potassium, which everybody knows about, also have lots of other good nutrients? Like Niacin, and Vitamin B6, and Magnesium. And another "M" mineral that I can't remember the name of right now, but believe me, it's somethin' that people need to be eatin'.

Really, Roxana. I hardly think that you need to remind me about what nutrients there are in bananas! I am, after all, the Professor of Comparative Fruit, Literature and Interspecies Negotiation at Bruisington University. When I say "I wrote the book on comparative fruit," I mean
I literally wrote the book on comparative fruit.

Sheesh.




um...








So, back to my main point, which is how nutritious bananas are. And how we have been overlooked for centuries, and that WRONG needs to be made RIGHT.

As I see it, this can be accomplished in three ways:
  • Change that insulting saying. It will now henceforth be, "A BANANA a day keeps the doctor away."
  • Re-write all school biology and nutrition books to always list bananas as the most nutritious fruit on the planet.
  • If that doesn't work, inject all apples with a bacteria so that everyone eating an apple must go to the doctor, thereby negating the saying about apples keeping people away from doctors.


Now hold on there just a second, Professor. Now you're gettin' into MY territory of conspiracies and manipulations that keep the people DOWN!

The Banana Collective is actually on the side of GOOD. We don't want to be causin' bad stuff to be happenin' to the people; they're lost enough as it is. I make it my business to 'red peel' them about the nefarious activities of the evil overlords; I don't want to become an evildoer!




Oh, alright. Strike that last point. There will be no injecting of any microbes into any fruits, even the over-rated, prissy apples.

I think I've made my point. I can't loiter around blogging all day, like some bananas can. I must get back to my office. There is more research to be done and, I promise you all, I will bring more banana injustices to light!






@bananamemos


If you enjoyed this post, please consider re-steeming
so that others can meet
the Banana Collective. Thanks a bunch!

line of palm trees.png

Just who are the Banana Collective, and why are they writing memos?

GramNana explains "panties in a bunch," as only a grandma can

An Ode to Catnana

Truther Red Peel -- Just say NO to banks

Sort: ย 

Dear Prof. Geoffrey Bananington, Ph.D.,

Before I get to my point, I would like to let you know that I was born and raised in the Philippines. Some people actually refer to my country as the Banana Republic, and some of my fellow countrymen are deeply offended by this name calling. I don't know why. For me it's a great compliment as we love bananas. There are lots of banana plantations all over the country. The agricultural industry thrive because of the amount of bananas the country produces.

Anyway, my grandmother, who eventually migrated to Australia, used to write us a letter every month or when she'd talk to us over the phone, she would always remind us to eat a "saba banana" every day to keep us healthy and strong, and it has lots of nutrients essential for brain development (according to my dear grandmother - may she rest in peace).

This is a picture of saba banana which originated in the Philippines:
sababanana.jpg
Image Source

And I'm telling you my siblings and I never had to see a doctor growing up. We owe it to the wisdom of our beloved grandmother. We didn't even get the chance to eat an apple on a regular basis, because apples are a bit too expensive in the Philippines.

Yours sincerely,
@evlachsblog


Thank you @emergehealthier for your comment because through you, I have learnt how to properly address Professor Bananington.

My dear Mrs. @evlachsblog. I cordially welcome your expertise and experience to this discussion about the health benefits and doctor-keep-away benefits of BANANAS.

You have added greatly to the empirical data and inherent wisdom brought forth by the other esteemed responders to this post.

It was a surprise to see my second cousin, Enrique, in the picture you included of the saba banana bunch. Ah, the memories it brings back!

Thank you for your contribution to this discussion glorification of mucosa acuminata. ๐ŸŒ

I enjoyed the part where she spoke about her adventuresome grandmother's sage advice to eat a banana every day.

Thank you, @evlachsblog Dearie.

Oh, Gramnana! I love my grandmother. I always listened to her advice and did my best not to give her grief.

@evlachsblog, you 're welcome. It is important to show respect for all members of the Banana Collective. Otherwise, people will just see them as a bunch just hanging around and miss out on their important messages!

That's right. Anyway, thanks again and take a bunch of care!

Hmmm... I wonder if that sentence "take a bunch of care" has something to do with bananas, originally. :-)



Exactly, @emergehealthier! The Banana Collective is so much more than just a bunch of friends hanging around (though we do enjoy a Friday Happy Hour together along with just about everyone else).

It's sounds as though your Grandmother was very wise and caring. This was indeed good advice to remind you to eat a banana a day, and this particular bunch of bananas looks perfectly ripe and ready to eat. I am not sure I have ever had "Saba Bananas", but I certainly would love to try them!

Saba bananas are great for banana splits and desserts, especially when they are overly ripe, as they tend to become even much sweeter. Even when they're overly ripe, they don't bruise as much on the inside because they have thick banana peel. I actually prefer it when it's really ripe and mushy, too.

There are many things we can do with saba bananas, such as:

  • banana cue (coated with brown sugar and deep fried) YouTube
  • Caramel banana spring rolls YouTube
  • Fried saba
  • Banana with caramel sauce

They're very delicious!!! You should try them. You may find them in Asian or Filipino Groceries/Supermarkets in your city but they are probably not sold as fresh but frozen. It's not the same, but I have no choice but buy them if I am craving for saba bananas.

And yes, my grandmother was very wise, caring and the most loving person I have ever known. Thank you, @futuremind.

Wow, the banana cue sounds out of this world! I must try this!

Futuremind is now on a mission to find Saba Bananas. When I do, I think I might make a blog about my experience. Maybe even a video of me eating them ;)

Thank you as well @evlachsblog, It's a pleasure conversing with you.

Well, if not for @bananamemos, I would not even remember how much I love bananas, especially the saba. I could eat it every day given the availability and the supply of this fruit, not to mention, it was one of my grandmother's best advice. She never failed to mention it in her letters.

Again, it's also an absolute pleasure conversing with you. Thank you and you're most welcome.


Great job on the banana recipe research, @evlachsblog. If you were a banana, I'd hire you as part of the editorial staff.

And @futuremind, be sure to let us know of your saba banana adventures!

Nice...B7A03B71-C417-42AD-91CA-FA37EAF5856B.jpeg

That is an awesome meme, @alamgirl140491... love all those smilin' banana faces!
Did you make that?

No my friend send me this picture but I like it, when i sow your post then share with you..

Well thanks, we like it a lot!

I can't stop laughin!!!!! Oh my heart!!!! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Laughed harder when Prof. Geoff reminiscesd on his cousin, Enrique. My siblings and I love him so much since we were kids!!! ๐Ÿ’•

You are all brilliant!!!


I... my name... that is to say, my dear Ms. @dynamicshine, my name is Professor Bananington, or to some in my country, SIR Bananington.
(sigh)
oh well. I'm glad anyway that you read Bananamemos and that you like my post. Here's a snack for you, the best snack I can think of to give you:

Oooppss my apologies, Professor Bananington. I should've addressed you properly ๐Ÿค—
Thanks for the banana snack ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Anyways Professor Bananington, while I was studying earlier about electrolyte imbalances, specificaly the hypo/hyperkalemia, I thought of you guys right away haha...made me smile..

Good learning curve for you, my dear sis @dynamicshine. Don't forget, address the Professor as Prof. Geoffrey Bananington, Ph.D. or Professor Bananington, or Sir Bananington. He is, after all, the:

Professor of Comparative Fruit, Literature and Interspecies Negotiation at Bruisington University.

I love you, sis!


I am one happy professor right now. Thank you.. Dropping a snack here for you, too:

Thank you for the snack, Professor Bananington.

Hahaha yea definitely sis @evlachsblog! ๐Ÿ˜„

Im still laughing out here ahaha whoever the person/people behind all this is/are witty!!! I love their sense of humor. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Thanks for introducing bananamemos to me lo


It is good for bananas to be thought of any time health and well-being are considered.

You are now an honorary member of the Banana Collective, @dynamicshine. ๐ŸŒ

Awwww I'm honored to be a member of the Banana Collective and teary-eyed right now as I'm touched by this recognition, Professor Bananington. Thank you so much!

I soooo agree with you on this one

Because we all KNOW the fruit most responsible for keeping away assorted medical personnel isโ€ฆ The Banana.

Potassium is one of the most important electrolytes in our body, especially in helping regulating the blood pressure and for our muscles & nerves work properly. So, when ever i feel muscle cramps, I feel weak or when I sweat a lot, 1 banana could resolve it immediately.

And one more thing, banana is too popular in all the hospitals, they always include it when they serve food for the patient recovering from illness. Banana is no. 1!


You got THAT right, @dynamicshine! As a Banana Nutritionist, it is my A-#1 goal to spread the message about the nutrition and all the other good things in bananas. Plus they're just plain handy.
If more people knew about the benefits of bananas, this world would be a healthier place.
Keep spreadin' the message, Girl! ๐ŸŒ

OMG I am sooo glad I saw your comment on my blog because I LOVE your banana art. Now this is what I call a super fun Niche. Thank you again :)

Thanks, @sarahjorndan! Our aim is to bring a laugh, or at least a chuckle, with every blog post. ๐ŸŒ

This was a hoot to read. I'm not sure why, (perhaps I have a strange sense of humor), but the part I laughed the hardest at was when Roxana says:

And another "M" mineral that I can't remember the name of right now, but believe me, it's somethin' that people need to be eatin'.

Brilliant hahaha, you are gifted at this my friend @bananamemos

Thank you, @futuremind. I appreciate the appreciation.

Roxana is so busy being a mom and trying to get her Nutritionist career off the ground that her mind runs a thousand miles a minute and she frequently loses track of what she's saying. Plus she doesn't have the time to do any actual research. :-)

Here's a snack for you:

Roxana is determined indeed. I would love to share my snack with her. Hopefully this doesn't make her a cannanibal ?

Tay'Tran92x122.jpgHAHAHA, now THAT is funny! ๐ŸŒ

โ”ฌโ”ดโ”ฌโ”ดโ”ค อœส– อกยฐ) โ”œโ”ฌโ”ดโ”ฌโ”ด

I'm guessing, Cannanibal Lecter?

LOL Sounds about right.

I appreciate all the info about the nutrition value in the banana. Long live the banana! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ ๐ŸŒ

We're 100% on board with that. ๐ŸŒ

Dear Prof. Geoffrey Bananington, PhD,

I personally don't believe an apple a day keeps the doctor away. I use to eat an apple a day and the Doctors kept scheduling appointments for me. I now eat two bananas every morning, and the number of doctor's appointments is decreasing!

Bananas have helped me Emerge Healthier!


Finally! Signs of intelligence on the Steemit platform! Someone who
(a) uses my title when addressing me and doesn't call me simply, "Geoff";
(b) has the sense to double up on their banana intake; and
(c) supports my theory with empirical data.

You, @emergehealthier, are obviously a far superior individual. I know one when I see one, being one myself.

Dear Prof. Geoffrey Bananington, PhD,

Thank you for the compliment! It is truly an honor to receive a compliment from such a revered member of the Banana Collective and Steemarian. I do strive to be my best and use intelligence and other talents to make the world a little better place.


If you ever desire admittance to Bruisington University, @emergehealthier, I would be pleased to put in a good word for you. It would be nice to see such a learned human in one of my classes.

I love learning, hopefully in the future I will apply to Bruisington University. I know your recommendation would be extremely influential.

Currently, I am learning new skills that improve my content on this platform.

I support the change from an Apple to a Banana a day. Bananas are the far superior fruit!


@paradigm42, I welcome you into the group of Sensible Individuals who can clearly see when drastic change needs to be made.
The Fruit-that-begins-with-A shall no longer rule in the fruitbowls of the world; they will need to roll aside and make way for the Master of Nutrition and Doctor Avoidance, The Banana.

Congratulations @bananamemos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32