🍌 HODL actually has TWO meanings 🍌

in #bananamemos6 years ago (edited)

Know-it-all teenager Tay'Tran Bananamon explains HODLing...



This blog-writing is actually pretty cool. I know so much information and this is a good way to tell people about it. When I try to talk to my mom about this stuff, she just interrupts me and tells me to take a shower or sweep the kitchen.

I've posted before about how Steemit works, and what cryptocurrency is. If you haven't read those already, they're pretty good background for what I'm gonna be talking about today, especially if you don't really understand much about the crypto field and the Steemit platform. I'm becoming sort of famous 'cause I know so much about crypto and whatnot.

Today I'm gonna talk about HODL. When crypto geeks like me talk about their cryptocurrencies, you'll see the term HODL. I mean, when they write about it, 'cause hardly ever do crypto geeks know another crypto geek in real life, so there's hardly ever a chance to actually TALK about it. So we write about it instead.

So, if you see the term HODL, you might be, like, wondering what it means. It means Hold On for Dear Life. hahahaha It's kinda a play on the word "hold." It means, if you've invested in a cryptocurrency, and you see it start going down in what it's worth, but you have faith that, like, it's gonna go back up at some point, you just hang onto it and don't sell it off or anything. Just hold it, or HODL it, and hope that it gets more value, like, sometime in the future.

HODL can also mean, "Hover Over the Down Line," like when you're looking at the graphs of where your crypto is going, and yours is going down, down, down... just WAIT. Just hover over the down line and wait, 'cause it's gonna hopefully come back up at some point.

That's it for today. Gotta split!





@bananamemos


If you enjoyed this post, please consider re-steeming
so that others can meet
the Banana Collective. Thanks a bunch!

line of palm trees.png

Tay'Tran runs on about Crypto / Steemit / Knock-knock joke / Tax Day joke and haiku / Gettin' on his sister's nerves / Another knock-knock joke

Dr. Victor Frankenpeel's latest genetic experiments

Professor Bananington rants about banana peppers

Roxana Bananamon asks you to check your grocery list

Havana Bananamon with a Nature Haiku

Bananadore Dali with Fruitywood Films #5

Conspiracy Theorist 'Red Peel' ~ Where we go one, we go all

GramNana pulls out another grandma story, about the
dog days of summer Not very accurate, but some cute photos of puppies

@bananamemos

Sort:  

Hahaha!!! Thank you Tay'Tran for this simple explanation. I might ask you for an advice, like when is the best time to "power up?" or cash in your SBD? Maybe in your next post?

At least your Mom only asks you to have a shower or sweep the kitchen. How about mowing the lawn? Bye for now!



Totally cool, Ms. @evlachsblog. I can answer those questions in one of my blog posts.

Thank you Tay'Tran Bananamon for another wonderful explanation of cryptocurrency terminology. This is extremely helpful. In the past when I saw people use the term, I thought they misspelled HOLD. I ignored their advice, because why would I put faith in someone who couldn't spell a simple investing word.



I totes got your back in the crypto world, @emergehealthier. Just follow me and you'll learn everything you need to know.

LOL, I read that it was a drunken rant by a redditor, just a simple mis-spelling!
I like yours, H.O.D.L. better, but I think the drunk actually started it...

😎


You know how these stories get started on the web, @underground Dude! I mainly ask myself, "What makes the most sense?" I mean, does it make more sense that some Redditor who'd been drinking misspelled the word "hold"?

Or is it more likely that a teenaged banana, yours truly, came up with HODL for "Hover Over the Down Line?"
Dude.
🍌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48