🍌 Steemit's doing a number on me, man 🍌

in #bananamemos6 years ago (edited)

"Truther Red Peel" is, of course, not my real name. But I gotta watch my back, you know? Lot of nefarious players out there trying to keep us Truthers from speaking out and exposing their dirty deeds.
Get ready, 'cause I'm here to drop some Truth Nuggets on you. Truth Nuggets are sort of like the red peel that Morpheus gave to Neo in the Matrix movie; once you've been "red peeled," you've been shown the truth and there's no going back!




I'm Truther Red Peel, and I gotta tell ya -- Steemit's doing a number on me, man.

I don't know if it's a conspiracy. Or not.

I don't know if it's social conditioning or social engineering. But something's goin' on.

In the four months the Banana Collective has been here -- posting and commenting and commenting and posting -- our habits have changed.

I mean, when I go on to another social media site (you know who are are, aceFay ookBay), I find myself engaging more with the other posters. Especially if they're postin' Truth or something even moderately interesting.

I don't just hit the 'like' button; I write comments. 'Cause that's what we do on Steemit. We leave comments, write replies, and engage with others.

Follow me for a moment down this rabbit hole, peeps. Connect the dots with me.

Are we being conditioned to interact differently on social media platforms? Is this something purposely put into the design of Steemit by @ned, @dan, the development team, the programmers and designers, the witnesses?

If so, let me just say that it worked on us bananas. As a community-minded bunch, we were ripe for this kind of change in how we interact on social media platforms. We like being social, and so this social conditioning worked on us.

Case in point: We were on that other site last night, reading somethin' on someone's wall. In the past, we would have clicked on the 'back' button to return to the feed. But we couldn't do it, not without clicking the 'like' button on what we'd just been reading! We had to make sure, before we left, that we let the writer know their material had been seen, read, digested and appreciated.

Another case in point: That pool of upvotes that's available to us to use each and every day on Steemit. It's literally sitting there calling to us... "Bananas, come spend this free money... find 10 or 20 Steemians to give upvotes to, just 'cause it's here and just 'cause you can."

We can't shut down the computer for the night and climb in our banana hammock until we've used up our available pool of daily upvotes.

What the heck is goin' on? How could one internet platform change our patterns of behavior in just four months?

And are we, the Banana Collective, the only ones guided/brainwashed (which is it?) into these changes of behavior? Or could it be... hmmm... that we are all being red peeled?

I kinda think it's happenin' with many of you out there, as well. So just let me say, as you join with your fellow Steemians, bananas or otherwise: Welcome to the Red Peel Club!




@bananamemos


If you enjoyed this post, please consider re-steeming
so that others can meet
the Banana Collective. Thanks a bunch!

line of palm trees.png

More from Truther Red Peel WWG1WGA /
Just say NO to banks / bug juice / fabric softener sheets / our screwed-up calendar

GramNana tells another grandma story, about Letting the Cat Out of the Bag

Chef B. Foster with Frozen Chocolate Banana Bites

Van McPeel's favorite childhood book ~ Bananalocks & the 3 Bananas

A 13-year-old educates us all about HODL

Dr. Victor Frankenpeel's latest genetic experiments

Professor Bananington rants about banana peppers

Bananadore Dali with Fruitywood Films #5


@bananamemos

Sort:  

Upvote, comment, resteem... it's all good.

Truther Red Peel, I do not believe that Steemit is involved in any conspiracy. I believe that they are actually revealing a conspiracy by other social media sites, who claim to be social. I believe Steemit is actually putting the social back into social media. Just some food for thought.



hmmmm... food for thought, @emergehealthier. I like the way you think. Maybe it IS the case that Steemit's putting "social" back into "social media"! Thanks for that red peel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33