🍌 Pardon us while we rant about "banana peppers" 🍌

in #bananamemos6 years ago (edited)

Sir Geoffrey Bananington is the Professor of Comparative Fruit, Literature and Interspecies Negotiation at Bruisington University (and never lets any of us forget it). Right now he's on a mission to right the injustices done to bananas. Professor B tends to rant a bit, but he's part of the Banana Collective, and we love 'im.





I take it upon myself to educate the human masses on the stupid mistakes they make when it comes to bananas. It's the least I can do, given my education and background as an esteemed Professor at Bruisington University.


Take a look at this picture of a so-called "banana pepper":


Does that, in any stretch of the imagination, look like this most glorious of fruits?


I claim that it does not. The Capsicum annuum is a member of the pepper family. It is a crunchy, tangy and spicy vegetable.

Bananas, as we all know, are in the genus, Musa, and are a sweet fruit, for pete's sake. The two are categorically dissimilar, i.e., have nothing to do with each other! Humans seem to think that just because something is yellow-ish and has a little curve to it, that it's related to bananas!

As an aside, the original scientific name for bananas was Musa sapientum meaning, roughly, "Muse of the wise." But I digress.

Where was I? Oh yes, I'm at the point in this dissertation where I demand that the name of those little spicy peppers be changed to something completely unrelated to the King of Fruits. The scientific community will, I'm sure, back me on this. I propose a new name that reflects the peppers' spiciness and curvature:


The Spurvy Pepper

All with me, say "Aye!"




@bananamemos


If you enjoyed this post, please consider re-steeming
so that others can meet
the Banana Collective. Thanks a bunch!

line of palm trees.png

Professor Bananington rants about

Roxana Bananamon asks you to check your grocery list

Havana Bananamon with a Nature Haiku

Bananadore Dali with Fruitywood Films #5

Conspiracy Theorist 'Red Peel' ~ Where we go one, we go all

Cryptocurrency explained by a teenager

GramNana pulls out another grandma story, about the
dog days of summer Not very accurate, but some cute photos of puppies

See the whole Bunch ~ WE'RE CELEBRATING 50/500!

Just who are the Banana Collective, and why are they writing memos?


@bananamemos

Sort:  

Those impostors, how dare they!



Precisely my sentiments,
Pirate @drakos. We are besieged on all sides by imposters, interlopers and banana-wannabes.

sigh

100% Aye!!! Thank you for educating the whole community, Professor Bananington! I'm glad you brought this to light. We cannot be ignorant and associate these spurvy peppers with the most glorious fruit.


Glad to see you're on board with this initiative, my dear @evlachsblog. It may take a generation or two to fully adopt this new name, but I have faith that you will teach the young ones about this!

And, once again, thank you for the re-steem. 🍌

Always my pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32