Chickenosaurus (WIP)

in #art6 years ago

Gallus gallus domesticus Theropoda!

Working On The Feather/Scales

I still have a ton of work to do on the little girl and her basket. This piece is still a work in progress.

I spent the last week writing and researching for my other posts and didn't have much time to work on my art. Plus I was stuck on exactly where I wanted to take the scales. Scientist have found dinosaurs with feathers and scales, and I thought I would make the body of the Chickenosauras all scales and feather out the neck and tail.

However the part of the mind that doesn't use words was in full-out rebellion, so I was stuck. Yesterday I spent the day outlining and shading the body scales and feathers. Thinking to myself, "just sit down and do it." Which is how I usually push my way through creative blocks, finally today I had the brilliant thought, "Why not make feathered scales? I started feathering out the scales with Zinc white gouache mixed with my watercolors, and my non-verbal mind was happy!

Problem solved, I ran into my husband's "man-cave and told him my creative insight." My beloved husband said, "Yeah I could have told you that!" I need to talk to him more; he is fun to bounce frustrations and insights off of when I am researching my Dhamma articles. Now I am going to start using him for my idea board for my art projects.

We are going on 16 years of living together, and I am still getting to know the guy. I still love him as much as I did when I first met him, but even more in subtle ways one only gets to know when living with someone for a long time."

18 x 24inch pen and ink, watercolor and gouache

This coming week I am going to focus on finishing up this painting, and I have a ton of yard and garden work to do before the HOT Oklahoma summer hits us.

How birds evolved from dinosaurs.n the 1990s, an influx of new dinosaur fossils from China revealed a feathery surprise. Though many of these fossils lacked wings, they had a panoply of plumage, from fuzzy bristles to fully articulated quills. The discovery of these new intermediary species, which filled in the spotty fossil record, triggered a change in how paleontologists conceived of the dinosaur-to-bird transition. Feathers once thought unique to birds, must have evolved in dinosaurs long before birds developed. The dinosaur and the gravity paradox.

Prisma color pencil on mixed media paper, 2014


    Can We Grow A Chicken As Big As A Dinosaur?

  • WIP One
  • WIP Two
  • WIP Three
  • WIP Four
  • WIP Five

    • some_text A link to My Blog

      Sort:  

      @reddust,
      My dear friend, this artwork is amazing as always! With your bus life I know it's hard to draw a lot! But you are making remarkable artworks when you got free time!

      Cheers~

      Wow , I must commend your creativity on this one , this is amazing. I must say you’re lucky to have such a wonderful partner, a second half and a soul mate. I wish you guys the best in life.

      Scientist have found dinosaurs with feathers and scales, and I thought I would make the body of the Chickenosauras all scales and feather out the neck and tail.

      Wow, I haven’t heard this prior now. This is an awesome discovery, we get to discover things of the habitants of this earth before us. Way so cool

      About the other day , I told you I’d get you on discord, I sent a text but I guess to the wrong person. I’m gonna try again

      I knew some dinosaurs have feathers but I didn't know the great big T-Rex sported feathers...that's amazing.

      I get on discord once in a blue-moon, you probably sent the message to the right person, I don't get notices ...I will go check!

      Your art is as beautiful as your beautiful thoughts. I remember previous time you wrote about Buddhism and true meditation. Today I think the great art is the reflection of your meditation. You have nicely draw it with mixing the sweetness of your mind. I highly appreciate your great creativity. ♥

      Yeah, she really likes art and have devoted much of her time in making art and passing messages across through art. Her name tell more about her love for art "Red dust art "She is beautiful with a beautiful mind

      Thanks @msena for the great comment

      Thank you @msena, you are so kind and your thoughtful message uplifts my heart today. <3

      Thank you @reddust. I'm very pleased as you always share some motivated content.

      I'm very happy to know that you get support from someone who so close to your heart. It's good and it gives someone Courage when get support from our loved ones.
      So happy to see work in progress on chickennosarous, well done and thanks for keeping us updated.
      You have done a great work so far.

      Thanks for sharing @reddust

      My husband is very supportive, it is hard to live with a creative personality like mine. I get very sensative when I paint and write...hahahaha

      I am going to use a bad word, I grew up on a farm in Oregon everyone cursed, Buddhism has helped me calm that habit down but I still curse on occasion, you can call me a hillbilly, ...when I researching/writing or working on my art I can be a BITCH...HAHAHA <3

      MY HUSBAND IS A SAINT!

      Good to know that, you are very lucky to have him and He is lucky to have amazing and hard working woman like you.
      So you also like farming? Am into farming also.

      We are helping family right here in Oklahoma. Once the family dosen't need us we will move back to Oregon and start up our little hobby farm again. I can grow enough food gardening and selling the chickens I raise to feed us year round.

      We are retired, so there is no need to farm for a living.

      I grew up in a part of America that is on the West Coast, we have a lot of timber and farms. My family lived on a 45 acre hill farm located on the foothills of the Cascade Range...the main jobs were timber and farming......

      The Lumber-jacks, the men who cut huge trees for a living could turn the air blue with their cursing...hahaha

      Most of my community were hard working farmers, some of them were very polite while others had rough manners but all were good Christian people...

      The town near my farm was small only 1,200 people back in the 1960s
      https://www.cityofestacada.org/

      That's amazing! 45acres of farm land is not a little,hope you still visiting the place? 1960s that's far back, the place would have developed now.
      In my country here especially in western side of the country, we have problems of land ownership which really affect the level of production.
      But still people are trying and thank God for the technology, tractors and other farm machinery have make agriculture more easier nowadays. I'm also into poultry.

      I find your feathered scales to be really nice.
      It makes the theropoda much more cohesive.
      (although that could be just because you finished painting the scales)

      I wasn't sure how you were going to go with the scales.
      I figured i would sit here and watch you put highlights on each one (making them shiny)

      I was thinking of making them like jewels, I love making things shiny but my creative mind had other ideas...thank you @builderofcastles!

      @reddust, Your Chickenosauras painting work very close to finishing. But need to spend lot of time for finish. But last times you spent much time for created another topics indeed post. Now I see more live looks both objects.

      Scientist have found dinosaurs with feathers and scales, and I thought I would make the body of the Chickenosauras all scales and feather out the neck and tail.

      Oh..you found amazing thing. I have never know above content. What a remarkable detail found by you. I appreciate your combination work with lovely husband. It's great love story to hear me. Both you better understand each others. I'll wait to see final production.

      I should be able to finish this painting if I work on it at least 4 hours a day for the next five days...

      I know! We hardly know anything about dinosaurs...it's all guess work, putting fragments together like a quilt...the story about earth millions of years ago is just a big guess by educated well trained scientist..hahaha

      Your painting art really cool to eyes. Also non steemians never see these. My whole heart connect with this art and attractive. Fantastic creativity @reddust.

      I will show my work at art contests this summer @kingsberry. I sell some of my work as well...Steemit gives me enough rewards to buy art supplies and ...amazingly creative energy <3

      Wow, Awesome art 😃

      Hello, my hero I hope so that journey successful know that this excellent work very ask for lots and lots of misery I really appreciate effort great and surprisingly, I hope for the life of a family in the top of happiness and excellence the way Hello in my simple would be an honor a great for me

      Painting isn't fun all the time, it is like any discipline, you need to work long hours every day to become good. Thank you @faissalchahid...

      In any field of routine kills but try that you're with one of members of the family Dear to me you're happy so greetings

      "just sit down and do it" is the best way to overcome creative blocks I believe. And over that you have a wonderful companion, your husband, who seems like a wonderful guy. Congratulations for making it for such a long time. May the almighty Allah bless you two with eternal happiness 😊 your work is already amazing, and I'm sure it is going to be incredible when it's done, as you are an wonderful artist, I can say that just by glancing at your work. Don't forget to share with us when it's finished. Best of luck 😊

      That's the only way I have found to become good at anything and get over the creative roadblocks...is JUST DO IT! No one else can do it for you ;-)

      Thank you for blessing us @tamurah. May you and your friends and family be happy and healthy.

      ☺☺😊

      Coin Marketplace

      STEEM 0.18
      TRX 0.12
      JST 0.027
      BTC 63049.68
      ETH 3022.53
      USDT 1.00
      SBD 2.50