Chickenosaurus (WIP)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Gallus gallus domesticus Theropoda!

I will be spending the rest of the weekend finishing up this illustration.

You are looking at the first layer of colors on the chickensaurus scales and feathers. By the time I apply additional paint the colors will change completely. I like to mix my colors through layering different colors on top of each other. A light yellow with a strong purple for shadowing will change the yellow and blue scales to a light brownish yellow, and the blue will turn to a lighter purple. When I shadow, I use contrasting colors rather than black or gray. When using a contrasting color, like orange and blue, or yellow and purple, or red and green, you darken the color without losing contrast and the pop! When you put two contrasting colors (opposites on the color wheel) your colors stand out, they compliment each other.

Third layer consistest of color layering, shadowing and detailing and is the most time-consuming work.

18 x 24inch pen and ink, watercolor and gouache

I'm working on the third layer starting with the face of the chickenosaurus.

How birds evolved from dinosaurs.n the 1990s, an influx of new dinosaur fossils from China revealed a feathery surprise. Though many of these fossils lacked wings, they had a panoply of plumage, from fuzzy bristles to fully articulated quills. The discovery of these new intermediary species, which filled in the spotty fossil record, triggered a change in how paleontologists conceived of the dinosaur-to-bird transition. Feathers once thought unique to birds, must have evolved in dinosaurs long before birds developed. The dinosaur and the gravity paradox.

Prisma color pencil on mixed media paper, 2014


Can We Grow A Chicken As Big As A Dinosaur?

WIP One

WIP Two

WIP Three


some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

The cutest Chickenosaurus I have ever seen!))))

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with divine emanations of G-ds creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. I am part of the Curators Guild (Sephiroth), through which Ein Sof (The Infinite) reveals Itself!

Wow, that is an awesome introduction @chesed, I love esoteric teachings and thank you for blessing me, now I am curious to find out what Sephiroth and Ein Sof means.

  • now I am curious to find out what Sephiroth and Ein Sof means.
    Pardon me, but so am i

Maybe @chesed will provide us with an educational link @mistakili ;-)

I will be thrilled

@reddust, You're reaching step by step final production. But not finished yet coz need more time to spend. Color contribution awesome of chickensaurus. Now chickensaurus being awesome and small girl live looks as I mentioned previous comment. You're a talented painter. Appreciated your every task.

I still have to work on the little girl, everything is still in the middle of the 2nd and 3rd phase. It takes a lot of courage for me to post my unfinished work with all it's mistakes and warts...hahaha You kindness helps me work on @madushanka

Every time you created amazing art work via deeply meditation using your experience @reddust. You see every predict image in future. Lot of peoples not going and not thinking to create those looking arts. Water color using and color distribution better whole drawing.

I wish I could sit with all of you and we could create art together, it is very good for the mind and heart to create art @kingsberry. Have a lovely weekend!

Such a fun piece of work and I already love the beautiful colors you have created! 💚

@innerstellar, working with fantasy helps me debref and let go of the negative and hard work researching and writing about the vaccine industry...I have bad dreams sometimes after reading about the injuries adults and children have suffered.

Working with art helps let go of all that stress!

That makes a lot of sense to me @reddust. I lost a daughter at 5 weeks old due to vaccines. I didn't realize it at the time. I was much younger and uninformed. I had to go through another grieving process once I discovered the truth. Much love to you for all you do! 💕

@innerstellar, I can't imagine the pain you went through and you were so young (gentle hugs). This is why I write my articles and why I will try and improve my writing and understanding. I'm glad my art makes people smile and imagine a happier life for all of us, let us keep the chilid-like wonder in our hearts.

Hello, i just found your blog and i love the way you just expressed your art, your analysis is so understandable, i almost felt like i was seeing the colour mixtures you were talking about. I love the images, however I love image 3 more, it has a funny twist to the whole Chickenosaurus. Thanks for sharing

Thank you @mistakili, I struggled explaining my art and technique when I first joined Steemit. Now I see how much my art has improved sharing and getting feedback, thinking about how I came up with the idea, sketched it out and how I move through the painting process.

How nice. Im curious though, did the sketch come before the story? Or the story came before the sketch? They fit so perfectly together as if though they were borne at the same time. Im just curious

I was researching the dinoausar and gravity paradox and as I was trying to find sceintist that had a logical answer to how these huge animals walked the earth the more I found unknowns. I know chickens are actually dinosaurs and as a farm kid I grew up riding horses and taking care of chickens. The thought popped into my head, what if I had a chicken as big as a horse, could I ride it? However there is a size problem with land animals, because of our gravity there is a size limit for land bound animals. I provided the link and how the idea came about for this painting at the bottom of my article.

That is really interesting, the animal first looked like a Hippogriff(mythical creature in Harry Potter)except that Hippogriffs have the bodies, hind legs, and tails of horses, but the front legs, wings, and heads of giant eagles, with cruel, steel-coloured beaks and large, brilliantly orange eyes. Okay i didnt open the link before, i will now

Every time I see this I think of the Pixar movie, Up. Love the color palette you are using.

Maybe I will write and story and sell it to Pixar...hahaha Thank you @lydon.sipe!

Your art is really appreciable......and info about evolution of birds from dinosaur is also nice..

It is fun to imagine what the world would be like with gigantic chickens...thank you @angli

@reddust,
My dear friend I assure you this is a great illustration! I like the idea behind it and the colors you used so far! Willing to see that amazing artwork as the final outcome soon!

Cheers~

You are so talented @reddust.
I love your art and so thank you so much for sharing it with us.

You are welcome @joalvarez and thank you for stopping by...this has been a fun piece to work on...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50