Chickenosaurus (WIP)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Gallus gallus domesticus Theropoda!

I am working on the first layer of the balloon. The rope anchoring the balloon to the basket will be the colors of a rainbow.

I will be leaving the foreground and the background blank. I will be enhancing the clouds with white gouache and strengthening the shadows of the balloons folds. As soon as I am done with the balloon and when the paint and paper dries I will strip off the masking fluid, which is a glue I painted the balloons with to protect the paper. Masking fluid is an easy way to cover paper that you want to protect while covering large areas with paint.

18 x 24inch pen and ink, watercolor and gouache

I spent a lovely day working on comments from my previous articles. I enjoy talking to you all and using your ideas in my work. I added a sky into my painting while keeping my background and foreground blank. I was able to use your ideas, thank you so much!

How birds evolved from dinosaurs.n the 1990s, an influx of new dinosaur fossils from China revealed a feathery surprise. Though many of these fossils lacked wings, they had a panoply of plumage, from fuzzy bristles to fully articulated quills. The discovery of these new intermediary species, which filled in the spotty fossil record, triggered a change in how paleontologists conceived of the dinosaur-to-bird transition. Feathers once thought unique to birds, must have evolved in dinosaurs long before birds developed. The dinosaur and the gravity paradox.

Prisma color pencil on mixed media paper, 2014


Can We Grow A Chicken As Big As A Dinosaur?

WIP One

WIP Two


some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

@reddust,
I like this illustration! Specially the sky which is show on the phase of balloon! Amazing artwork is building again! This is what you always do my dear friend!

Cheers~

Thank you @theguruasia, fantasy work is always fun. I am going to write a little story to go along with this painting.

Interesting painting :) The balloon reminds me somehow of the sacred flower of life :D -

download.jpg

@glodflesh I was thinking about flower petels when I drew out the designs. Everything is fractalishes ;-) The flower of life is a beautiful design you can find everywhere.

maaf @reddust, apakah anda seorang seniman? lukisan anda sangat indah, seandainya saya yang melukisnya mungkin pada balonnya saya akan memberi warna campuran antara coklat, dan merah, karena saya sangat kacau dalam mengambar, gambar saya semua bernuansa gelap, mengapa anda tidak memberi warna hitam pada rambut si gadis..
tapi jujur, lukisan anda sangat indah

328/5000
@steemitcountry, Cucuku dan putriku berambut merah. Saya cenderung melukis apa yang saya tahu .... Saya lahir pirang tetapi rambut saya menjadi hitam. Di keluarga saya rambut kami datang dalam semua warna, genetika kami berasal dari Eropa Barat. Untuk lukisan-lukisan saya berikutnya, saya akan memasukkan seorang anak Indonesia sebagai gantinya karena banyak komentator saya berasal dari daerah Anda di dunia.

wow,,anda bisa bahasa indonesia??luar biasa, saya sangat bangga berteman dengan anda,,ini foto putri saya,,rambutnya luar biasa hitam dan lebat,,

20180319_164452.jpg

20180314_133001.jpg

Telah kami follow ya.. :c)

You speak bahasa, how dyou know bahasa @reddust? and your bahasa is more than google translate as I see

@reddust, The Chickenosaurus being creative and perfect. Looking forward to final productivity. Already drawing and kid girl part so awesome with water color using. Excellent color contribution. These girl seems live inside balloon. She's hand seriously working to my eye. Keep going.....

I think we all live in little balloon worlds...my world has dinosaurs and giant chickens! Can you imagine the size of their eggs? One egg could feed several people...hahaha

The detail on this balloon is mesmerizing... just wow... The clouds and the "stretch" marks look so real, I think if you moved the camera away a bit it wouldn't even show it's painted like it does a bit in close up :D Awesome work, can't wait to see how it turns out

I took the picture with my ipad camera, it sucks...lolol..when I finish this piece I am going to take it to a printing shop and get a professional grade photo digital copy. I share the picture on Steemit. Thank you for your critique @positivity!

Then I guess I'll have to stalk your blog until you publish the professional picture :D

The painting is really coming out so well. Love the effect of cloud reflection the balloon.
Can't wait to see the final strokes!

I am happy with the cloud effect as well @hashcash. Some ideas come out others crash and burn, looks like this one is taking off like a hot-balloon...hahaha

Keeping my figurative fingers crossed.
Good to see the artist happy ............and it reflects in the painting :-)

Wow the cloud reflection inside the balloon was great. Looking forward to the final. It will be perfect. @Reddust congratulations

Thank you for your suggestions @turkishcrew, I have a lot of fun working with everyone's ideas.

Hmmm. That's why you are being a successful steemian, you never behave as if you know everything, you listening to others suggestions despite your high intelligence. You really have a lovely heart dear...@reddust

I've said this before, kindness makes me cry, I felt your compassion and it always moves me to tears, just little ones, but they have a lot of energy. Thank you @ohakfarm, kindness is like a balm for a sore heart <3

Superb work... Drawing is also my passion... Your sketching is perfect and the concept is fabulous..specially the little girl on the ballon looks more beautiful..@reddust

The concept came out of my day-dreams of huge dinosaur chickens, I grew up on a farm and the Dinosaur/Gravity paradox question came together as an awesome idea for a story and painting. Sometimes unanswered questions and daydreams make awesome works of art @prince121.

beautiful work! I recently started experimenting with masking fluid...It's super useful! Cant wait to see the finished piece!

Be sure and have a lot of crappy paint brushes, the masking fluid sticks to the brush hairs and is almost impossible to remove. I found masking fluid that sells applicators but I have tried any of them yet. Thank you @terminalblue.

Your artistry is progressing nicely. I am intrigued with your imagination and how your mind works. I love the concept of this and thank you for the creativity you show @reddust.

I am just learning how to use my creativity, working with everyone here on Steemit has helped. I love asking questions and learning new things. This helps creativity grow... <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50