Gallus gallus domesticus Theropoda!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Can We Grow A Chicken As Big As A Dinosaur?

18 x 24inch tracing paper and pencil

I started the day with a migraine and was able to shake it off with the help of the herb feverfew. I was going to do some detail work on my "Picking Apples" painting. Instead, I chose to work on something that takes very little concentration. This was a perfect day to avoid overthinking and let my creativity flow!

I have often daydreamed about drawing a chicken as big as a dinosaur, which science guesses chickens evolved from the same lineage as the mighty Tyrannosaurus rex. This is my light-hearted sketch of my Dinochicken T-Rex.

I think I am gong to make the Dinochicken T-rex carry some flowers and a maybe a stuffed animal...lololol

Because the world doesn't grow birds as big as a T-Rex anymore I added a balloon for extra buoyancy. I will use watercolor very lightly with pen and ink.

I usually do my sketches on tracing paper and transfer the outline to my expensive watercolor or mixed media paper. Once I transfer my sketch to my watercolor or mixed media paper, I ink in the outline and some details adding ink and paint until I get my desired effects.

In the 1990s, an influx of new dinosaur fossils from China revealed a feathery surprise. Though many of these fossils lacked wings, they had a panoply of plumage, from fuzzy bristles to fully articulated quills. The discovery of these new intermediary species, which filled in the spotty fossil record, triggered a change in how paleontologists conceived of the dinosaur-to-bird transition. Feathers once thought unique to birds, must have evolved in dinosaurs long before birds developed.

Prisma color pencil on mixed media paper, 2014


Pictures From Pixabay


some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

@reddust,
A chicken into Dino! That would be a great imagination! Hope to see another great artwork too!

Cheers~

I hope this one turns out, it is easier to draw and paint flowers and butterflies :p

A chickensaurus. Hmmm I would not envy the farmer who would have to face that big chicken when he got his eggs. Sounds like something they had in Bedrock with Fred and Wilma. LoL very nice artistry @reddust.

Just think about the yummy barbaque, one leg could feed everyone😜

This looks like a fun drawing.
I can't wait to see the colors you will paint the dinosaur.

Roosters, although often annoying, can have some of the most exquisite colors.

I've had roosters that were so mean I ate them and others (both I raised from incubator eggs) that were as loyal as our dogs and very friendly, which I kept of course. All the roosters I had would hunt down mice and rats and eat them! Can you imagine a chicken that is as big as a T-rex, that would be frightening...hahah

your drawings are great you're so talented, I think that's a wonderful gift. I make cakes but if I compare it with making drawings it is very easy. Drawing seems so difficult.

I can make cakes too but they are not fancy, so I give my drawings instead. Thank you @denissemata

lol that dinasour chicken hahaha nice reddust 😍

I need to lighten up the atmosphere on my blog, the laughter is refreshing <3

this looks funny but seems interesting while a dinosaur and chicken are going to made in one shape, exceptional idea for drawing.

Actually the T-rex is supposed to be an ancestor of our domesticated chickens. I don't know if that is true, however when you look at their skeletal structure they have similarities along with the feathers both sported.

i like your new idea chicken mix with dinosaur, innovation in drawing is one of the creativity. other chicken drawing also done before and waiting for the color layer next one, best of luck.

I can't wait to figure out the feather designs!

@reddust, This looking fun drawing work. You expand your mind soul and then thought draw chickensaur. I bet final production will be amazing. Another rooster smoke one nice and made me lough. Keep going & best of luck.

The chickensaur is a great title for the drawing, several people have mentioned this and I will keep it! That rooster with the dancing chicks is taken from my favorite rooster, he was was nice to his hens and didn't attack humans. Unfortunately he died of a disease caused by commercial chicken feed. When I started feeding my chickens organic feed and let them free range no more disease or death!

Looks like something they should add in ark survival evolved. A giant chain smoking chicken that knows how to have a good time. I really love the effort y put into the patterning on its arms. I can almost feel with my eyes the texture of it.

If you have raised chickens you know the rooster rules the roost, they are burtal, this guy is actually nice, he isn't raping the hens, just watching them dance...lolol

That's the design I will use on my big chicken T-rex!

Texture + detail = bliss <3

Do chickens stop growing at any time, or do they continue to grow until they die, like reptiles? If the latter, A.wyliei could just be a chicken that lived for several hundred years.

Chickens have a size limit like all birds. Science has tried growing bigger chickens like the Cornish Cross but they get heart infections and deformities in their legs because they grow so fast. Their butcher weight is reached in less then 8 weeks. I raised a few and felt so sorry for them, the Cornish Cross grows so fast it can't walk but the time it is 5 months old.

If you have noticed all land animals have a size limit, no matter what scientist do they cannot excrease a species size beyond a certain limit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50