Nocturn Epilogue - final episode for a Steemit adventure game

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Nocturn was a Steemit-exclusive adventure game, based on a series of my paintings. The series originally told a mysterious tale of one night adventuring through a haunted, fantastical castle, through 40 paintings of interiors, exteriors, characters, ghosts and monsters.

After the series was finished (as well as the exhibition with the visitors watching the paintings only by the light of a candle) I noticed there was an adventure game in it: you see a painting and read a bit of story; then choose an option to progress in a specific way, leaving the other options a mystery.

And that is exactly what we have done here on Steemit - we have played through 12 episodes, with each time the most popular option chosen determining the way the game progressed. I may not be the only and original one doing this here, but, hey, the idea for Nocturn stems from 2014, I just thought this was the ideal platform to play it in public. I enjoyed myself, I hope everyone upvoting and commenting enjoyed him or herself as well.

These are the twelve episodes if you want to re-read. I'll be doing a 'What-happened-if-the-other-option-was-chosen?' post tomorrow, and then Nocturn will be done.

Episode one: Dramatis Personae.
Episode two: Nine o' Clock.
Episode three: the Daughter of the House.
Episode four: Chimaera.
Episode five: Laura.
Episode six: the Ghost of the Wine Cellar.
Episode seven: One o' Clock.
Episode eight: the Keepers of the Candlelight.
Episode nine: Killmoulis.
Episode ten: Djinn.
Episode eleven: 5 o' Clock.
Episode twelve: The Ghost of the House

Now I may be breaking character with the epilogue, or really just come careening through the fourth wall. If you're mentioned in the story and don't like it, drop a comment and I'll rewrite, ok? This last painting was my way to concludes the series, but I have adapted it to the Steemians playing this game. I don't know if I'm going out on a limb, but it's all in good fun, let me know if it doesn't fit you. It's really a salute to the Steemians voting the most options during the game, without you Nocturn would've fizzled and crashed, so thanks again! Rewards will follow - 11 sbd in prizes will be split between the 4 most consistent upvoters/commenters: @deemarshall, @fraenk, @hazel420 and @richq11

Original painting 60x90cm, oils on canvas

"So, there you have it, you found the exit. Well done!" @marty-art concludes the game with a sigh of relief.

"You mean, we won?" @deemarshall asks.

"Yeah, you made it through allright, you defeated Djinn."

"But we didn't rescue Laura, wasn't that what it was all about?" @fraenk asks.

"Well, you probably could've saved her and made it out as well. I dunno, I was really winging it at the end, you guys played pretty clever."

"Gotta go guys," @richq11 says and leaves the table, "still got some work on The Night Gods".

"See you around, man, thanks for playing! I'll read your book soon, ok, you know I've been busy running this game," @marty-art says.

"Well, I liked the Laura plotline. I really wanted to be a hero there. Sorry I didn't have my mind on the game all the time, but when I did, it was fun!" @fraenk says.

"No problem," says @marty-art, noticing he's been fiddling with a pair of #googlyeyes, "really glad you enjoyed my story!"

"I was curious thoughout the game, and really enjoyed going into the fight with Djinn," @hazel420 remarks.

"Fooled you there, right?," @marty-art grins, "but really, every option had a consequence. I'll explain it in some detail tomorrow. It's Seven o' Clock in the morning now, gotta get some sleep."

"I'm in for another adventure, this was dope!" @deemarshall says excitedly.

"Cool, thanks! And I bet there will be another one, first I just need to paint some new series, one that leaves you with more options and that speaks to the imagination." @marty-art replies.

"Creepy and dangerous?" @deemarshall asks.

"Yep. Well, goodnight all, thanks a bunch for playing!", the players get up to leave the room.

"Wait a minute, did you say it's Seven o' Clock? Are we still in the game?" @fraenk asks.

The room fades, all is silent.

.

Sort:  

What a great surprise to receive a prize! Thank you so much! You didn't need to do that. I had real fun on the adventure. That ending above finishes it so well. Now have a rest and I hope you will feel like making another adventure for us one day :) Is the painting above available to buy? Or a print?

Thank you, and you are very welcome! Glad to share a bit back :)

The painting is available, but it's bigger than the others: 60x90cm (that's 24x36 inch). I have it on my website at € 575, but I could come down a bit, to € 400, shipping included. As for a print, I could do some research on sizes and prices, but will have to do that this evening. Thanks again!

O it's way too big for me to hang it. If the prints are the same size they would be too big as well. I'm only small person so can't reach far up the wall. I'll have to wait till next adventure and see if there's anything suitable to buy,-. Thank you for info.

Hey @deemarshall, yeah, this one is quite big so you need the space to give it its full impact. I understand :) I did some research for prints and can get you a quality print on size 20x30 cm (8x12 inch) for € 40 (shipping included), or on size 30x40cm (12x16inch) for € 60. Maybe best to mail me at [email protected] if you're interested :) thanks a lot!

Thank you. will email you when I check out how the sizes look on my wall.

this was an awesome adventure... I really love what you did with the epilogue just now...

kudos... and I hope to see more like this in the future!

Hey, thanks for that, really appreciated :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41