Nocturn Episode 9 - a Painting based Adventure Game for Steemit: "Killmoulis". 10! SBD in prizes

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Night falls. Is this real or did you just wake up in a dream? The story continues...

In short: I post a dark, mysterious painting with an accompanying storyline. Within (+/-) 24 hours, anybody can choose one of 2 options on how the story continues: by upvoting an option or making a comment on what you would do. The most upvoted or commented option after (+/-) 24 hours of posting will determine the way the story continues and which painting I will post next. Have fun!


Read all about the what-why-who-when-rewards of this adventure game in the introduction. Check out the first episode. Episode 2. Episode 3. Episode 4. Episode 5. Episode 6. Epidsode 7. And the previous episode 8


Update: as I'm getting some votes and interaction in this game, I have (for now) set aside at least 10 SBD to be devided among the most consistent upvoters/commenters. I love how this game has gotten some traction, and I feel like I can give away some SBD. Thank you! (This amount has already grown since the start, isn't Steemit awesome? And yes, anybody joining now can still be elegible for some SBD, so vote or comment, it's much appreciated! And I enjoy making an interactive story with my paintings, only on Steemit, yay!)


Episode 9: "Killmoulis"

Stepping out on the balcony when a thunderstorm has just passed by maybe isn't the smartest idea, so you take a candle and continue to the next attic. Surely the long lost portrait of the ghost Laura must be here somewhere (see episode 5 ). Or did the drunk Ghost of the Winecellar (episode 6 ) just say something to fool you? With just the light of a candle, you enter the next attic (option 1 was chosen°).

With only the light of a small candle, you are forced to walk slowly and investigate everything from really up close. You carefully rummage trough old boxes, medieval coffins and half-decayed closets. You find worn and torn clothes, books that are beyond reading and letters of which the ink has faded over time. Toys from an ancient past. A bundle of paintbrushes on which the mice have probably fed. And the strange thing is... There's dried candle wax all over the floor and you realise that... Maybe... You aren't the first adventurer exploring this attic? You shiver.

"Exploring attics is fun - but not at three o' clock in the night", you think to yourself. Looks like you're never going to find that portrait.

Then, you hear a noise at the window. It opens from the outside and a small figure floats through it. You recognize this etheric creature. It's a friendly, little helper - a benevolent house-spirit: it's a Killmoulis.

"Looking for something, there? Can I help you find it? I would love to help you find it, you know, I really would!" The Killmoulis has friendly intentions alright, and he immediately starts sifting through all the things in the attic:

"Lady Penelope's shoes, 1741? Is that what you seek? Lord Noctilux III's glasses, 1768? George, the gardener's whisky flask, 1698? Got it right here. Miss Isob..."

"Laura's portrait", you interrupt the little gnome.

The Killmoulis silently looks at you for a while and then speaks:

"That's 'Madame' Laura's portrait for you, adventurer. Yes, I can find that. But Djinn won't be happy."

"Who's this Djinn you and the Keepers of the Candlelight talk about?", you ask.

"Ah, Djinn. Djinn is the Master. Djinn is the Dreamer who dreams living dreams and nightmares. Djinn is the Devil. Are you still sure you want to find Madame Laura's portrait?"

"I'm sure", you reply.

The Killmoulis comes closer. You notice he smells of raspberries.

"Alright, I'll tell you," the Killmoulis whispers, "the portrait's here, hidden in a cupboard behind that mouldy old closet over there. And this is the key to that cupboard. But, like I told you, Djinn's not going to like you finding that portrait. So, either you can try to get that portrait to Laura before the night's over; that might rescue her of her ghostly existence... Or you can confront Djinn about his ways and end this dream for him, for Laura, for me... For everybody here in this castle -- for once and for all. The night is nearly over, adventurer, what are you going to do?"

Option 1: You take the key, move the closet, open the cupboard, get the portrait and try to take it back to Laura.
Option 2: You call out Djinn to show himself and confront him about what he's doing.


Anybody can vote or comment, there is no way to die in this game, just a mysterious adventure to explore. Enjoy! (Some small) rewards for the most consistent upvoters/commenters. Read all you need to know in the introduction.

°Episode 8: option 1 (explore the attic further up ahead) got votes from @rem3600, @richq11, @fraenk and @hazel420, thank you! Option 2 (step out onto the balcony) got a vote from @deemarshall. Thank you! .

Original painting titled "Killmoulis", 24x30cm, original painting sold, limited edition prints possible. Contact me.

Sort:  

Option 2: You call out Djinn to show himself and confront him about what he's doing.

Option 2 please :) Yes, come on out or I'll come in and expose you!

Option 2, noted! :)

And while we're at it: the night of Nocturn is almost coming to a close... I have +/- 3 more episodes in store for you..

How do you like it so far? Feedback is very much appreciated!

Was the format clear and understandable when you first saw it?

Do you like the format of the adventure with the most popular option? Do you like the 'castle' or have you got suggestions for another setting? Would you like more (3, 4, 5) options? Do you want longer text? Or shorter?

As there won't be a whole lot of new episodes for Nocturn (I only have so many paintings in this series), but I would like to continue and grow this kind of game here, I'd appreciate any and all feedback.

I'm really having a blast doing this, I hope you are too, so, feel free to tell me what you like and/or dislike, thank you!

The format confused me the first time I saw it but I am a slow learner. Also I joined late so had to read the older episodes to catch up. It was confusing because the least popular option can get lost in the chat but you can't do much about that.
I like the longer text we have with the later episodes. Ep 9 is a good length for me. Plenty to think about :) The castle is fine but I'd like different settings if there are future adventures. Could be a forest with caverns, pits, hollow trees etc; an old, abandoned garage and workshop with haunted car body skeletons, scary tool racks with hanging tools ready to drop on you and a horrible pit for working under vehicles. Anyway, you know better than me what would be fun for a setting.
Two options are fine for me but more would also be fine.
I love the paintings. One day I hope to buy one. Your interpretation of Killmouris reminds me of an embryo, he he, you know, a scan before it's born.
Good news that you enjoy it all!

Hey, thank you, that's some very valuable feedback! I made the outline for this adventure on an obscure blog, but never did anything with it, really.

I do write a whole lot more story here than on that blog. Glad you enjoy the longer texts.

I think if more regular players come (which is starting to happen somewhat), I could increase the number of options, or find ways the players can interact with the storyline. Good fun, thanks again!

Option 1: You take the key, move the closet, open the cupboard, get the portrait and try to take it back to Laura.

nice art dear check my blog if u can thanks alot

Thanks, I wonder how you read all that in 26 seconds :)

Hah, good one Marty!

Thanks, I take that as a compliment :) Feel free to choose an option - most voted option continues the storyline

Almost 24 hours, voting for the story here is over, Episode 10 is online! Thanks for the vote, @deemarshall!

General votes and comments still appreciated!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marty-art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44