Nocturn Episode 10 - a Painting based Adventure Game for Steemit: "Djinn". 11! SBD in prizes

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Night falls. Is this real or did you just wake up in a dream? The story continues...

In short: I post a dark, mysterious painting with an accompanying storyline. Within (+/-) 24 hours, anybody can choose one of 2 options on how the story continues: by upvoting an option or making a comment on what you would do. The most upvoted or commented option after (+/-) 24 hours of posting will determine the way the story continues and which painting I will post next. Have fun!


Read all about the what-why-who-when-rewards of this adventure game in the introduction. Check out the first episode. Episode 2. Episode 3. Episode 4. Episode 5. Episode 6. Epidsode 7. Episode 8. And the previous episode 9.


Update: as I'm getting some votes and interaction in this game, I have (for now) set aside at least 11 SBD to be devided among the most consistent upvoters/commenters. I love how this game has gotten some traction, and I feel like I can give away some SBD. Thank you! (This amount has already grown since the start, isn't Steemit awesome? And yes, anybody joining now can still be elegible for some SBD, so vote or comment, it's much appreciated! And I enjoy making an interactive story with my paintings, only on Steemit, yay!)


Episode 10: "Djinn"

You're facing quite a dilemma - either you try to save the one ghost who asked you for help (Laura, see episode 5 ). Or you take the whole castle down with the Devil himself. You decide to go all the way and take it to the highest level. You shout: "Djinn! I'm on to you, so show yourself!" (option 2 was chosen°).

The walls of the attic fade away. The Killmoulis has vanished without a trace. It is still dark but at the horizon the black of the night turns into the darkest blue. It's four o' clock. Dawn is approaching. The nightmare is about to reach its finale. You notice a pitch black figure against the sky. Its head slowly turns towards you - its eyes sparkle with the faintest of light. It's Djinn. You swallow involuntarily.

"So we meet", Djinn says in a soft, almost sympathetic voice - not a voice you expected from the so-called Devil himself. "Not many adventurers have chosen this path, I salute you."

"You're not fooling me, Djinn", you straighten your back and try to speak as confident as you can. "I know you're the one responsible for all this - the castle, the ghosts, poor Madame Laura. I demand you to stop this charade."

"So, you want the game to stop? I thought, or at least hoped you enjoyed it a bit. Because you see, if I stop now there would be no adventure to play. I am the Teller of Tales, as you might have heard, the Weaver of the Story. Without me there would be no castle, no Laura, no drunk George in the Winecellar, no Keepers of the Candlelight. I may be a Devil to them, but at least I'm providing them with a story. Without me, not even you would be living through this Nocturnal night, facing fascinating choices as you go. Do you really wish me to stop?"

"Um...", you mumble.

"And if I do stop, then what? Is this real or are you awake in a dream? What will happen to you when the dream is over? Are you going to wake up in your real life, if there even is a real life out here, or out there? And on the other hand, if you keep dreaming, where will that lead you? Have you thought things trough, adventurer?"

"Um...", you mumble. Your mind is racing. You had no idea this would get metaphysical. Still, Djinn could be bluffing, if only he didn't sound so sincere.

"Now I could be bluffing," Djinn continues (did he just read your mind!?), "but this is the most difficult decision you will be making. And I don't blame you, not many adventurers have faced me and my conundrum. What will you do, though? Do you still want to rescue the fair and sweet Laura? I can give you her portrait right now, and you two could be blissfully dreaming together forever. Or do you still want to fight me, even though I explained I am the teller, the Weaver of my - no wait, our joined story? Then I can give you as much story as you wish. Or do you want to wake up from the dream alltogether, not knowing where you will wake up? Take your time to think, adventurer."

Option 1: Get Laura's portrait from Djinn and save her.
Option 2: Djinn's bluffing: fight him, even though he tells you this is his own story.
Option 3: Stop the dream and wake up from it


Anybody can vote or comment, there is no way to die in this game, just a mysterious adventure to explore. Enjoy! (Some small) rewards for the most consistent upvoters/commenters. Read all you need to know in the introduction.

°Episode 9: option 1 (Take Laura's portrait) got no votes, option 2 (call out Djinn) got a vote from @deemarshall. Thank you! .

Original painting titled "Djinn", 24x30cm, original painting sold, limited edition prints possible. Contact me.

Sort:  

Upvoting or commenting on the storyline is over, episode 11 is published. Thanks for everyone voting and commenting!

General votes and comments are of course still welcome!

Option 2 for me please. I want to have an adventure I can talk about for ever like he promises, ha ha.
I don't want to save Laura. I want to just steal the portrait coz I love Marty's art.
Waking up? Nah, want to see if I can beat Djinn.

Thanks! Option 2 "Fight Djinn" is getting popular! 1 - 3 - 0

Fight him... even if he's not bluffing, you have to fight for what you believe. If it's a trick (there's no guarantee that Laura will be safe if you choose option 1- that presumes that Djinn isn't lying) Fight!

You are awesome in your determination! Thanks for voting! :)

I just have a suspicious nature... If a djinn told me something, or made a promise- I'd be a little skeptical. The protagonist is probably going to have to fight anyway (or give up Laura- something I couldn't do) might well get it over.

That's what Djinn's are all about - are they telling the truth or mixing it up with lies? Good to see you're on to them :) And that's also what, I guess, I wanted to be Nocturn about - is it real? A dream? A lie? A story? You decide :) Glad to have your vote, thanks man!

I like to keep people confused as well. In the Night Gods I stay nebulous about them while telling what they are at the same time (if that makes sense). People ask: are they people, demons, what? They transcend all. They are gods, not bound by the physical laws that govern the rest of us... they live both in and outside of time and space.

That's cool and absolutely makes sense! I think it's also about keeping options open. You can write characters & creatures (or paint them); as the author you can know a lot about them, but only give some clues to your audience every now and then. That creates the mystery - which makes you keep reading the book, or stay fascinated with the painting.

It's awesome to have extraordinary beings with beyond-human powers and abilities, that's what keeps our fantasy going :) There's always a bit more to the story, be it Djinns or Night Gods. I'm very glad that's what my painting does for you and your story. I have my ideas about all my paintings, but my ideas never are absolute. Anyone can add their own interpretation. I think it's awesome that you found your connection with it - and anyone can from his/her own perspective. I still think it's cool that my painting resonates with your story and makes both of them richer (and I will read through when I find some quiet time - it's kids' holidays right now :D

I hope you enjoy my story half as much as I enjoy your painting!

this is getting good... I missed yesterday...

and today... let's save the damsel in distress... like a real adventurer would!

Thanks @fraenk, your vote for option 1 noted. It is a tempting option, isn't it?

absolutely!

Option 1: Get Laura's portrait from Djinn and save her.

save her! and end it in an eternal blissful dream!

Option 2: Djinn's bluffing: fight him, even though he tells you this is his own story.

kick his ass!

Option 2 for you, @hazel420, that currently makes it

1 - 2 - 0

for now, thank you!

Option 3: Stop the dream and wake up from it.

Congratulations @marty-art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @marty-art.


This post got a 4.76 % upvote thanks to @marty-art - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44