The Writing Impact Challenge

in #writingimpact6 years ago (edited)

Welcome To The Writing Impact Challenge

The purpose of this challenge is two-fold

(1) To create a literary piece of beautiful art (2) to write something that evokes a certain feeling, so that your readers can remember how you made them feel when they read your piece of literary art.
Also, the challenge in this contest is to use more than one word in your entry, from the word prompt list below. Your entry can be a poem/prose or just short story prose in 50- 500 words.

The Word Prompt List

  1. Sequence
  2. Music
  3. Coffee
  4. Dreams
  5. Silence
  6. Language
  7. Hidden
  8. Fire
  9. Touch
  10. Rhythm
  11. Train
  12. Invisible
  13. Captivate
  14. Breathe
  15. Thirsty
  16. Vision
  17. Bluebirds
  18. Taste
  19. Pause
  20. Swan
  21. Wind
  22. Pearls
  23. Candle
  24. Help
  25. Heal
  26. Focus
  27. Play
  28. Smoke
  29. Tip-toe
  30. Imagine
  31. Coolness
  32. Whisper
  33. Listen
  34. Grow
  35. Trees
  36. Reach
  37. Shelter
  38. Remember
  39. Ache
  40. Cotton
  41. Smile
  42. Understood
  43. Serenity
  44. Seldom
  45. Masterpiece
  46. Dirt
  47. Dandelion
  48. Feet
  49. Joy
  50. Strong

The Challenge Rewards Are As Follows

1st Place – 7 SBD
2nd Place – 5 SBD
3RD Place – 3 SBD

The Rules For The Challenge

  1. You can write a story or a poem. The word count should be between 50- 500 words.
  2. You are to use in your entry 4 or more words from the Word Prompt list above.
  3. The words “ writingimpact” should be your first tag and a part of your title.
  4. Winners will be chosen with consideration of the following: Grammar, Rhythm, Imagery, and Creativity.
  5. Upvote this post and resteem it to your blog.
  6. (Links Only) Drop a link to your entry in the comment section below.
  7. The deadline to enter this challenge is Wednesday, February 28, 2018, at 12 midnight, eastern standard time, Georgia, U.S.A.

Let the Challenge Begin. Wishing You All The Best!!!

Sort:  

I must say to all of you Much Love and Thanks for your support of my writing challenge. I have never given a contest or challenge and got this big or should monumental response. It's going to be hard because you all write so well. I wish I had a couple of thousand SBD right now so that I could award all of you first second and third place. But I will do my best, which does not speak fully to your gift. Know that if you continue to write in this way you will have your share of victories. Much love to you all. ~Ms. Ren

Hi Ren
I tried messaging you on discord but am having trouble sending messages, I have just realised you didn't get my last one.
I feel my entry here albeit hard earned is very much a token contribution of the limited mind set I have at the moment.
I would like to withdraw it from contention and rather contribute a further 10 SBD to the prize pool, for you to allocate as you see fit.
You have done an amazing job motivating people to dig deep, me included. The value I have from knowing you and learning from you is my prize.
Edit -
My entry is the first post I've done for 6 days, and someone has deemed it worthy of a follow and thus become my 1500 follower. That's nice. 10 SBD doesn't really do that sentiment justice either, but we do what we can with the best of intentions.
I have transferred to you. X

The main thing is for you to be at your best, pace yourself and feel good about eveything you do day to day. It is so important that we all take care of ourselves first then our families and then Steemit. You have already added to my life in more ways that so many I have known for many years have not. You are always in my thoughts and my heart, I think its that kindred spirit thing we have going on. You can withdraw your poem and apply again in the future. There will be so many other contests. Be at peace in knowing that you are awesome in a multitude of ways which make up who you are. I celebrate you. ~Ren.

I actually had fun constructing it this morning, I relinquished my ego and put a word puzzle together, it was theraputic.

You do have a curtain something to know about how I'm travelling without having to say to much.
Pacing is something I'm in the process of discovering. I am not good at it, and I am not dignified in a compromised state.
I hear your advice, which is uncannily on the mark.
Thanks.

Hi 🦋 This is my submission to your awesome contest. Thank you, enjoy! 🦋

https://steemit.com/writingimpact/@lorilikes/be-here-now-writingimpact-entry

✨⭐️✨ edited to note: I upvoted my entry here, to become visible. I subsequently evened the score by upvoting a few others who seemed to need the voice as well. . Thank you

I read your entry @Lorilikes and as usual it is beautiful! Wishing you success in this competition, you are one talented and truly deserving winner :)

This poem is very well written, I Like the style you chose with the stars. Than you for your entry @lorilikes.

What a cool contest, I've read some amazing entries so far!

Here is mine:

https://steemit.com/writingimpact/@bennettitalia/inquiry-a-poem-for-the-writing-impact-challenge

Magnificent! Where did you come from?....WOW!! @bennettitalia Thank for your entry.

https://steemit.com/writingimpact/@artwatch/dandelion-queen
Here is my entry - thank you for the challenge. I did every word. :) Cheers

So real it made my heart bleed love. It is a painful and sobering reality that breaths this truth through every line upon line. For me you changed the game and captured my heart, greatfull that you shared the message, love you. Thank You For Your Entry. @artwatch.

Thank you for your kind words @rensoul17.

I decided to go a little bit overboard and do more than just four on the list (while still remaining concise and cohesive). Here is my graceful entry: Swanlike

Beautiful @poetrybyjeremy, I feel the stillness and the serenity. Thank You For Your Entry.

Here's my entry for this challenge : Ethereal

Ahh! awesome, what a fresh take on such surreal beyond beautiful transformation. @jazzybells Thank You for your entry.

I hope am heard. Thanks for the contest.
Here is my link
https://steemit.com/writingimpact/@febizle/my-muse-an-impact

Most def, you are heard, I love it, I love It I LOVE IT!!!. WOW, Love the flow to it also. Thanks for being the first entry in the Writing Impact Challenge. You set the pace and opened the door for this challenge. Much love to you...@febizle

Yes it took me hours but I did In style

THIRSTY FOR THE TASTE OF YOUR TOUCH (Writing Impact poetry)

You did a great job @josediccus, you put a lot into this one. Thank you for your entry.

And, I am happy to be the second entry in this challenge. Here, Ren, is my Abyss Dancing...

Gamze Bozkaya.jpg

Yes, and I am glad that you are the second entry I must say as always it is an honor to have you in the space. What I will say about your entry is just WOW!!! @yahialababidi

Grateful to you, sister Ren, for the opportunity to share and unburden myself. 🙇🏻‍♂️

My entry for your consideration @rensoul17, Hyperborean (thank you for all you do to continue to unite and grow the creative writing community):

https://steemit.com/writingimpact/@carmalain7/hyperborean-writing-impact
Hyperborean.png

...speechless. Thank you for the honor and thank you for your entry. @carmalain7

I am launching a new Steemit Collaborative Fiction Series, I would like you to be on that project and write for one of the characters that I personally created for you. You can connect with me on discord at Tribe Global Love just in case you lost your connect link, here is another invite. Been missing you. https://discord.gg/KmEBvSH

Oooohhh.... that sounds like fun! @rensoul17 I would be honored if you had the time to check out my recent freewrites, would love to participate in a collaborative fiction project if you think I would be a good fit. If not I totally understand, poetry is familiar to me, as are nonfiction prose pieces (https://steemit.com/jerrybanfield/@bennettitalia/supernatural-writing-contest-dragonflies-and-other-magical-creatures-by-bennettitalia), but actual fiction is brand new, just opened the package and trying to follow the instructions ;)

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@bennettitalia/pajamas-freewrite-126-switch

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@bennettitalia/freewrite-129-fingernail

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@bennettitalia/the-strangeling-part-ii-freewrite-130-wasps

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@bennettitalia/the-strangeling-part-iii-freewrite-131-solitude

@carmalian7... holy @#$%^ing crap. That first poem. Ouch, it hit me so hard! Incredible use of language, and imagery. Will revisit and comment when I have more time <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62