Hyperborean

in #writingimpact6 years ago (edited)

Hyperborean.png

    Hyperborean


The world we live in
is a distorted projection,
        this moment,
naught but a polaroid dream,
fires dancing at the edges,
ink collapsing in on itself.

These streets have melted
        bad acid lust visions,
abandoned shopping cart homes,
deep inner-city arm infections
and other various tripping hazards.

Resolved, we residentially meander,
        keep our heads firmly fixed
        to glass floors shattering
                florescent,

        the crunching of our boots
grace the bent forms of those beneath,
finger-painting cragged gravel surfaces
        opaque with their pupils,
filling potholes with Sisyphean shortcomings.

Hammer-handed, delusional,
needle-minded and insecure,
we turn our heads towards the sun,
bleach the pale expanse of our sight.

We construct these hyperboreal steel escapes
                                                        ever higher,
high enough to puncture the heavens;
we know perfection does not lie naked,
                pallid beside us
under thousand count satin blankets.

        Perfection does not lash
        morning's anemic figure
        with languid nine-tail eyes -
        punish her for violating
                a restraining order,
        crossing closed borders:

                these heavy curtains
sole purpose: keeping strangers out

torn aside and bloodied
in this storm of light;
our clothes lay scattered
        around the altar,

cast off and discarded
        for the next life.
 

    As Below, So Above

"Perfection," the dawn mused,
"perfection lies in the unreachable."

We stretch out the length of our bonds
                        like aroused house cats,
rattle the foundation till we loosen the bolts
        just enough to overextend ourselves;

rub elevator gears with Vaseline,
arrange what's left of the dust
energetically and meticulously,
                perfectly straight lines;

        blow everything so high,
even steel buildings get nosebleeds.
So damn high we pierce the heavens,
                rain the whole sky dry;

                restart, humidify
and breathe deep the dreams
        of a narcotic sleep.
 

    Exalted, A Mouth Full of Flies

        Our skin arid and cracking
the toll of dry conversations held over
three course dinners beneath mirrored ceilings
                polished to focal points;

        the crests of sand dunes, wasted days
and wasted praise of meaningless three ways
        sprawling across the beaches
where no one sleeps and no one wakes
and nothing you do ever matters.

I remove a pack of gold, hotel-crest
trimmed crimson, from my match collection,
a footstool to grab a white shine jar of light
                from the shelf of my shed,

light sticks of incense and watch as
the air smolders, warps, and burns;
                hold the match stick still
as my thumbprint is branded glass.

                        Put a scent to darkness
and am forever marked by my awareness.
 

    Thinking Makes It So

                Every message conceals
claustrophobic spirals trying to escape,
        an imprint, a unique tattoo
        accepted unto our being;

roll the heads down the stairs,
        hold our daggers high;
we are nothing but a single instant,
a distorted projection of everything
        and everyone we never loved.

        Woe the forgotten man,
remembered only for being forgotten;
a pure, untainted, lobotomized canvas
        decorated with spoiled milk.

        Preach to the tired, the poor,
        the huddled and the yearning!
'Cast aside Demons, my friend! Cast aside
                all spiritual rubbish!

Overturn the lottery ticket wheelbarrows,
drain pensions wasted in whiskey shots and
        The American Dream!'

                because we can.

z_divider'.png
I dream of a world that does not exist.
I write about a world that does.
I am because I think I am.
I dream because I am not.

written in line with @rensoul17's The Writing Impact Challenge
words used: dreams, fire, breathe, vision, reach, remember

also, @uniwhisp's call for Songs of Sadness.

thank you for the read
z_IOW_WM_BLACK.png
@isleofwrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics
header photo base is public commons

Sort:  

fires dancing at the edges,
ink collapsing in on itself.

This and so many other hauntingly beautiful, achingly true turns of phrase. I don't do well in cities for many of the reasons you illustrate here. May the forgotten ones be remembered, the impossible striving for perfection abandoned. Well woven... and nice formatting!

Cities build their own allures into their dark sides - everything is grey, but there are some colorful people navigating the concrete jungles. I agree with you, I hope they all find places where they will not only be remembered, but also feel remembered.

Thank you so much for the read and comment, @katrina-ariel.

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 81%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "You learn to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Thank you for the review, mate; mind giving me some pointers on where my post fell short so that I can improve in the future?

Appreciate it, good sir!

Hyperborean - some deep stuff there. Enjoyed, upvoted.

The title made me think of Biosphere's track Hyperborea (funny that!). Link here:

I love Biosphere so much, especially his early field recordings and ambient techno, and am a big Twin Peaks fan; makes you wonder if this title came subconsciously from this song. I find elements of music in all my poetry, too much time spent in that world not to have it bleed over. Thank you for finding this one in the words, @guytmartland!

Hey there @carmalain7. I saw you featured at @thealliance's Rising Stars post and I could see that is the case. You make such soulful pieces. It's an honor to be featured with you lol. Seriously, I could never make pieces like that even if I wanted to.

I hope to see you around on Steemit and Discord for that matter. I will follow you since it has been endorsed that you have a knack for philosophical thoughts which I am simply dying to hear. More power to you and our family over at #thealliance. See you around @carmalain7 :D

Loving the music in this:
the crests of sand dunes, wasted days
and wasted praise of meaningless three ways
sprawling across the beaches
where no one sleeps and no one wakes
and nothing you do ever matters.

And the message of building resonance with a bird's eye view. Reminds me of the Steve Earle song (I picked up a Joe Mitchell story collection because of it):

I do not know what to say to you, right now. I will go back and read it, maybe then i will have words to describe how you have made me feel. I love poetry!!!!! Thanks for this. I am going to go now. My writing needs improvement.

you do me far too much, honor, @warpedpoetic, your words are far too kind. Thank you so much for the read and comment, my friend, it means much and more. <3

EPIC!

You inspire me to try. Thank you for writing and WOW!
Yep I'm going back to read it again too.
I look forward to seeing / hearing you read this.
Amazing Beautiful.

I couldn't be more honored, raven traveler, your words are so kind and mean so much to me - thank you thank you.

What @warpedpoetic said....speechless. Thank you for the honor and thank you for your entry. @carmalain7

so many thanks to you, Ren, you inspiring light of goodness, you.

z_thank_you.png

This is so impressive, I don't recall ever reading poetry this long before - and it works flowing perfectly, so very clever.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

the length of my writing is probably more of a hindrance to most readers, honestly, so I'm always a bit sad at that, but the narrative is too important to me to sacrifice for easier reading, so it goes.

That all said, I'm just extra honored for the read, good sir, can't tell you how much it means to me.

Brilliant piece congratulations to the win :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51