Pajamas (Freewrite #126 - switch)

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

I've been needing to get back into freewriting, which is a daily practice for most poets and fiction writers, designed to loosen up and get things flowing, like stretching before exercise. Visual artists, especially those who draw or paint from life (figures, landscapes, still lives, etc) do something similar in "gesture drawings". After reading several of @poetrybyjeremy's freewrite posts, I got excited to try these again. Many thanks to @mariannewest for hosting this daily freewrite! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-126-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-switch

So here's my first entry:


(source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corsage - image By Tai Gray from Provo, USA - CorsageUploaded by France3470, CC BY-SA 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=17578554)

Pajamas

Pajamas. She was wearing pajamas. White cotton pajamas with purple teddy bears and little pink hearts all over them. I didn't know what to do, so I just stood there looking at her. She wasn't saying anything, and the look in her eyes was open to interpretation. After considering the situation carefully, and weighing the possible repercussions of any words I might speak or actions I might take, I brought out the little silver box that I had been holding behind my back, and handed it to her. She looked at it, her eyes half examining its contents through the little cellophane window on the front, half abstracted. "It's pretty", she said at last. Her voice sounded faint, as if it had had to cross a great distance to reach me.

I coughed, fidgeted, looked away for a moment to collect my thoughts. My eyes were caught and held by a picture on the wall, an antique black and white photograph of a young couple, the woman stunningly beautiful in a white wedding dress, the man dignified in black suit and tie. Their faces wore very serious expressions, frighteningly serious, and I wondered for a moment if they had even wanted to be married. Which was silly: of course they had. Why else go through all of that?

I looked back at her. "I'm glad you like it... I thought it would go with that gown you had picked out".

Now it was her turn to fidget, look away. Like steps to a dance we both knew without having to learn them.

"I couldn't do it", she said. "I... just didn't feel like it tonight. I'm sorry."

I thought about the money. The limousine parked outside. The corsage. The tux rental. The hotel room. I thought about how excited she'd been.

I thought about the couple in the photograph on the wall. Her grandparents.

"Can I have that back?" I asked, holding out my hand. She gave me a quick, searching look. Then she handed me the box, not even looking at it, her eyes fixed on mine.

"Thanks", I said.

I opened the box and took out the little clump of flowers and ribbon. She looked away. I reached over and, carefully, pinned the corsage to her cotton pajamas. When her eyes came back to mine, there were tears in them.

"Finally" I thought to myself.

"Should we watch a movie?" I said out loud.

©2018 Bennett Italia

IOW COLOR MAP.png

Sort:  

Ohh! You played with my heart a little there! It's interesting how you got this out of the prompt - really creative. You have a great eye for descriptions. - the pajamas, the "frighteningly serious" looks. Great job!

Ha yeah I had that thought after I posted it: "Wait... how did I get here from 'switch'?" Then I remembered it was the idea of events going in a certain, expected, direction, and then suddenly there's a switch...

The first two lines just popped into my head. I had no idea what they meant or where it was going, but the clock was ticking so...

I didn't expect it to be prose either XD

Prose works better for free-writing. Poetry tends to be more concise and more inhibition - which is opposite of the purpose of the freewrite. It would be hard to try to shape it into a poem while remaining 'free' and uninhibited. Yeah, I could tell where the 'switching' was. Nonetheless, it was quite creative to come to that idea!

:) Thanks.

I wasn't expecting to write straight fiction, that's what caught me by surprise, bc in the old days I usually seemed to have a more a stream-of-consciousness style with freewrites.

Glad you could see the connection to the prompt, I was so fried by the time I finished writing this (it was late) that my mind was spazzing out a little ;D

Haha. I definitely enjoy writing fiction. Most time, my brain is too fried to write stories, although I have managed a couple of times - but I understand what you mean. Maybe when our brains our tired, there is less consciousness and more stories to be told.

This post has received a 4.28 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @bennettitalia

Nice congrats on your first #freewrite. Keep them coming. 👍👍

Thank you! Following :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Great job!

Urgent - Another Attempt to Steal from You. Read this Do not click on links in your wallet from @gtg.witnesses - it is a scam!!!

Now for some fun! here is the prompt for today! As I'm all bundled up under blankets! LOL

Day 127: 5 Minute - Prompt: sunburn

Welcome in the freewrites community!
I already read some of your poems in the @terrycraft contest...I see you're gifted for the prose too ;)

Thank you @marcoriccardi! The prose was a surprise to me too...

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31