Embracing the Inner Reader

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

enter image description here



I Read, Therefore I am

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go.”
― Dr. Seuss, I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!

This year I decided to do my best to improve as a writer. I have recently posted links to my efforts on the writing side of things, but writing was only half of the equation. To write is important for someone wanting to become an author (obviously), but volume is necessary. I achieved this in spurts. But the other equally important part is reading. And also in large amounts.

I have never been an avid reader. Which probably explains why it has taken so long to dedicate myself to writing on a regular basis. But this year I made a decision to rectify that. I used Goodreads to keep track on what I completed. I set a challenge of 25 books for the year (although I did start part way through the year). I know this is not much by some people's standards, but it was a challenge for me. And for 2018 that challenge will increase even further, having just set a target of 50 books.



2017 Reading List Completions

  • Journal Your Writing Dreams to Life: The 10-Minute Practice That Changes Everything - Jennifer Blanchard

A very recent completion which I decided to read for inspiration for my daily writing goals. Useful, but not life changing.


  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo - Steig Larsson

Having seen the Swedish movie versions of all three of these novels, I decided it was time to read them, and see if I could learn more about the art of writing thrillers, and creating interweaving plot lines.

A book review of this novel will be posted in the not too distant future.


  • The Biology of Belief: Unlocking the Power of Consciousness, Matter and Miracles - Bruce Lipton

Part of my constant research and reading into matters related to health.


  • Ghosts of Spain: Travels Through Spain and Its Silent Past - Giles Tremlett

Found in a small cafe in Galera, Spain. The owner insisted that my wife and I could take it if we wanted it. I'm glad I did. It was a very interesting read. Concentrating on the period in Spanish history from the Spanish Civil War and the rise of the Franco Dictatorship, upto the present, it weaved it's way through many and varied aspects of Spanish culture, landscape, and language. This was a great read.


  • Milk and Honey - Rupi Kaur

A disappointing waste of my time.


  • Wool - Hugh Howey

This was good story. Perhaps a bit long, but interesting.


  • Understanding Show, Don't Tell (And Really Getting It) - Janice Hardy

Brilliant. I need to reread, and follow up with a review on this book. I wrote a Notes From an Amateur Writer post inspired by this book here.


  • 10 Core Practices For Better Writers - Melissa Donovan

Useful book for writers, and aspiring writers.


  • Philip K Dick: The Last Interview: and Other Conversations

As a fan of PKD this was a valuable read. You get a real sense of his fragile but functioning state of mind. These were mostly from around the time he wrote VALIS (more about that below).


  • Factotum - Charles Bukowski

The life of a down-and-outer never seemed so interesting. Reads well, but it made me wonder about the life he lived.


  • VALIS - Philip K dick

Written after the time PKD had a mental breakdown, this story is a thinly vieled dramatisation of many of the events that occured to him, put into novel form. The main character believes he is receiving messages from God, or a god-like being. This story details his search to understand the meaning and significance of these messages, and the people he meets on that journey.

A book review post will be written on this, so I will go into further plot details then.


  • The Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian

One of my favourites. I wrote a book review post here.

You can find more of the author's work at her Steemit account @snowmachine


  • Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K Dick

Where my PKD journey began. I had seen Bladerunner first. This novel is the basis of the film. There were enough changes to make them both different stories in their own rights. But to me they both work. The film certainly has a darker feel to it. But the book is a favourite of mine, and I have returned to it several times. Well worth a read for fans of SciFi.


  • Conquering Writer's Block and Summoning Inspiration: Learn to Nurture a Lifestyle of Creativity - K M Weiland

Part of my writing education. Some very useful information and explanations.


  • 5 Secrets of Story Structure - K M Weiland

I discussed this in a blog post here.


  • Fight Club - Chuck – Palahniuk

Another favourite. And again I am torn between deciding which I like more – the film or the book. I like them both, equally. I wrote a book review here.


  • On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft - Stephen King

A very good read from the master. The first half reads like a memoir with elements of his brush with writing being woven into the story. Worth a read just for that section alone. He does go on to explain in more detail his writing philosophy, and pass on lessons on the topic. Definitely worth a read for aspiring writers.


  • Diet, De-Stress, Detox - The Formula for Reclaiming Your Health & Vitality - Kevin W Reese

Part of my health education. For those interested in detoxing for health purposes.


  • Altered Carbon - Richard K Morgan

I have a book review on this ready to post so I wont go into too much detail here. A brilliant book. A SciFi masterpiece.


  • American Gods - Neil Gaiman

I stumbled upon this thanks to Borders (remember them?) having it in their recommended section when I was browsing the SciFi and Fantasy section. And I am so glad they did, and that I purchased it. A wonderful story. Loved it. I am working on a book review post for this one also.


  • American Promotheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J Robert Oppenheimer - Kai Bird

A very detailed and exhaustively researched biography of the life of J Robert Oppenheimer, who lead the Manhattan Project during World War 2.

I do seem to get drawn to those whose lives involve tragedy as well as triumph. The human condition and our imperfections at work. My interest in this man, and his work involves much synchronicity and curiosities. I haven't told the story yet. Maybe I will in the near future.


  • I Am Pilgrim - Terry Hayes

A fantastic book. A thriller of exceptional quality.


  • The Nowhere Man - Gregg Hurwitz

Another great thriller. Follows Orphan – X.


  • Orphan X - Gregg Hurwitz

The first in the series. This is a great read and thriller.


  • The View From the Cheap Seats - Neil Gaiman

A non-fiction book from the author of American Gods. Lots of essays, introduction pieces, anecdotes, as well as general thoughts and ideas.


  • The Gunslinger - Stephen King

The first book in the Dark Tower series. If you saw the film then you missed 95% of this story (The film seems to be the whole series of 7 books crammed into a 90 minute film). I enjoyed this story, and the developing mythology and plot lines being laid down in this novel. I will be continuing the journey.


  • No Quarter: The Three Lives of Jimmy Page - Martin J Power

A well written biography of Led Zeppelin guitarist Jimi Page.


enter image description here



If there were others then I didn't keep a record of them. My purchase of a Kindle part way through the year certainly helped with boosting the length of the above list. And the use of Goodreads for tracking progress is also a very useful new tool for me.

On top of this list above, there were the stories I read here at Steemit. Hopefully one day one of those (or a new one) will be published and I can add another of my friends here at Steemit to my official list of published authors I have read.


This is post 1 in @dragosroua's January 30 day writing challenge.



Image used with permission, and thanks to unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Links to earlier works

My Fiction Writing Collection

Notes From An Amateur Writer Collection

My Poetry Collection


Sort:  

Loved American Gods and Fight Club.

I read several books at once, seems to help me with the idea of trying to read more.

Those are both great books. And I tend to read many books at once, perhaps for the same reason. Sometimes one will hold my attention above all others, but usually I have multiple books i am flipping through.

I also refer to King's On Writing a lot too. I was a teacher when I read it and his description of a sentence, a noun and a verb, Bob ran, was so profoundly simple I was angry I had never heard it described that way before. So I used it in my teaching from then on.

And I like it because he talks about his 2,000 words a day, followed by afternoon naps. Love that image.

On Writing helped me a lot. Books like that I tend to refer back to often. You mention some perfect examples of how to simplify a seemingly complicated subject matter. Hopefully I can incorporate some of these lessons into my writing style without too much struggle.

Perhaps a good 2018 resolution is to write something worthy enough to be included in your year-end list haha! Reading is something I need to work on. The thing is whenever I read something while I'm writing, I unconsciously replicate the style and incorporate it to my own. As I don't want to be accused of plagiarism, I try to steer clear from reading. But, I'm not even a fraction as good enough as I gope to be so improving my inner reader might just be an essential step.

There's a challenge for you - make it onto my end of year list, indeed. These will become legendary one day so best get on early and make a name for yourself. Lol, went of into fantasy land there.

Being influenced by what I read is a real issue, and certainly can happen. I have noticed it myself, but not to a degree that I think shows more than 'being influenced' by what I read. And to me that is fine. But something to keep an eye on.

To me having so many ideas and styles entering into my writing subconscious is a valuable concept. It helps broaden my know how, and hopefully abilities. I guess it is an osmosis thing.

If A Day in the Clouds didn't even make the cut, then I don't know if I will ever make it haha! It seems I have peaked with that one. All my other work seem trivial haha! I'm calling it right now, I've missed my only shot of ever making the list haha!

Not at all. I see a bright future ahead (well the crystal ball in front of me does - and I tend to agree with it) so there is plenty of scope to jump to the top of the leader-board. Write, write, and write some more. That's my 2018 philosophy, and that gives us all a chance of putting the words in just the right order, and creating our own masterpiece. I'm cheering you on as we move in the year. Resilience being the key word, I believe.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great list, good use of 2017!

I've actually read similar books this year: American Gods being close to the top! I really enjoyed Wool, I am pilgrim (sequel coming out soon I believe)...

If you want a fun book I just recently put down is 'After Life' by Marcus Sakey. It's sci-fi thriller genre.
In the pure thriller genre, I'd recommend 'The Naturalist' by Andrew Mayne.

Bothe of these are quick and easy reads, but fun!

I look forward to following your literary travels this year.

Thanks for the suggestions. I will look into those for sure. And thanks for the follow, it's been reciprocated.

And I will definitely keep an eye out for the sequel to I Am Pilgrim.

thank you for the wonderful list, I might pick some up, I haven't read a good sci fi book since well ring world and ender's game (that then goes on for another 11 books or so)

Thanks for reading through the list. Definitely some good SciFi novels on that list. And I have many more on my list to read over the next few months. I will be leaving more book review posts on my blog if you are interested to know what they are like.

I haven't read Ender's Game, although it is a classic of the genre and on my list (which just keeps getting bigger). Ring World is near the top of to read list so i should get to that quite soon.

I like this, I might steal it:

I read therefore I am.


I set a challenge of 25 books for the year (although I did start part way through the year). I know this is not much by some people's standards, but it was a challenge for me.

I should set this for myself too... I think I already read around 5-10 books a year but not all of them are long enough. And if it's just reading then I probably read from the internet posts what can be collected into thousands of books. but that's not a quality reading.

I was reading a few, and very haphazardly at that - leaving some incomplete, or getting distracted part way through them Occasionally I would find a gem that inspired me, and that has kept me going as a reader. But it never came easily to me. Until making a more concerted effort, and the Good Reads reading challenge helped with that.

And knowing that it helps my writing to read so much more is also good motivation.

The girl with the dragon tattoo was a thrilling and disturbing read. I have all three in the trilogy but haven't read the other two yet. The only books I have read by Neil Gaiman are Coraline and The Graveyard Book. Both were very well-written. I may pick up American Gods to read. Thanks for the list.

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo was a fabulous read. I have just finished the second in the series, the Girl Who Played With Fire. Only just a few hours ago. So now I am onto the third one. I tell you , the second one is an even better story than the first one. Hard to believe, but true. If you get time give it a read.

I have read Coraline. Great story. I haven't read the Graveyard Book, but I have great things about it.

Thanks for your comment.

That is a good selection of books! I loved The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo and look forward to your review. Stephen King is one of my all time favourites. BUT if I have a good book I have to almost obsessively finish it. I can easily read a thriller in a day or weekend.

Some books I do obsessed with, but I have never been a super quick reader. Try as I may. The Girl In the Dragon Tattoo was brilliant. Just finishing up part 2 in the series. Hoping to have a review ready for next week.

Do you have any favourite Stephen King books?

Wow, there's a question! I need to catch up on his later books, as I became to broke to buy them new, for years (and couldn't find then second hand)! The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon really touched me. Duma Key, One Past Midnight: The Langoliers, The Storm of The Century; Cell...are just a few that spring to mind.

Like asking 'how long is a piece of string?', lol. He wrote so many. I have only read a few of his, so I am a long way behind, but I know all those you named.

I think 25 books a year is more than I'm capable of! And looks like an interesting mix. I'll try to increase to 2-3 books this year if I can XD Ahh I remember when I used to be an avid reader, about a million years ago XD

Do you feel like your writing has improved heaps with the extra reading? :D

goatsig

25 books seems a lot, and is really. Although I upped it to 50 for this year. I noticed people on Good Reads that I follow have theirs around the 200 mark. That's 4 a week. I wish I could read that quickly.

I do feel my writing has improved from the extra reading. Just getting a varied amount of styles and themes into my writing mind seems to be helpful. Although writer's block still kicks in, but that is a separate issue. And I use those times to read more, so when ready to write I can have that extra data ready to go. That's the plan, anyway :)

Interesting! Subscription to your blog!

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72