Weekend Freewrite - Challenge Accepted - Three unknown prompts, one story!

in #writing6 years ago

Weekend Freewrite

Challenge Accepted - Three unknown prompts, one story!


I participated in my first ever #freewrite yesterday and enjoyed it so much that I had to check for today’s prompt only to find a special #weekendfreewrite that had not one but three prompts to make one story. I am always up for a challenge and given my hubby @shai-hulud is asleep hungover, what better way to spend my free quiet time.

So here we go! Wish me luck!

Each prompt was written with a five-minute time limit and I did not know the prompts to come, the challenge is to look at the first prompt and write and then the second and make it a continuous story etc. Are you up for the challenge? If you do accept, please link your #weekendfreewrite here as I would love to read your take on these prompts.

Happy Sunday!

Prompt 1: First Sentence:

He considered all songs. Emily rolled her eyes and spit on the floor.

He hated how much she had changed since her mother’s passing, she was no longer the sweet innocent twelve-year-old, she was an angry fearless destructive sixteen-year-old that hated everything.

We used to love going to Sunday afternoon karaoke as a family, her mother was a fantastic singer and adored nothing more than to belt out a tune to the amazement of the onlooking patrons. She was such a petite little thing her mother, just 5’4 but god she could sing.

He looked back over the playlist and turned to his daughter, who no longer there. This was not tuning out to be the family event he had envisioned it to be, he had hoped that she would remember the good times as things had been going so well.

Prompt 2: The Interference

He turned the corner and it felt as if his heart fell to the floor.

There was his daughter laid on the floor with a bunch of less than reputable fellows around her, she seemed to be unconscious but breathing, it was then when he saw the needle sticking out of her arm, she had gone and done it. It had been a year since she had exited rehab and we were celebrating.

A million things swirled through his head as he rushed towards her body, someone was on the phone to the ambulance and tried to stop him getting to close to her body.

She’s my daughter!

They let him through and he fell to his knees to join his heart next to his damaged daughter. The ambulance arrived soon after and whisked them away to the nearest hospital, she had regained consciousness in the ambulance.

Prompt 3: The Dramatic Twist

The cage in the middle

She kept mumbling about a cage in the middle of the floor and blood and death, she was making no sense and I wrote it off as drug-induced hallucinations as this wasn’t the first time he had seen his daughter in this state. Even so, he couldn’t help but notice the blood on her jacket with no cuts to be seen.

After getting the all clear, he called a cab and took her home. It wasn’t until I closed the door behind them that she burst into tears and started talking through breathless sobs about the cage again.

After what seemed like an eternity she explained the full extent of what she had seen, she had stumbled upon an animal fighting and gambling ring in the basement of the establishment, the smell of blood and death was ripe all around her and it was too much.

She found an exit and took it.

The End

So I ran out of time but I think I did well, the third prompt really threw me but I thoroughly enjoyed the challenge, thank you @mariannewest.

Power Up and Steem ON!
---

Want some inspiration, a hint or a maybe a laugh, I'm pretty funny I have been told. CHECK out these posts, all brought to you by @insideoutlet!

Freewrite #211 Prompt: Swing - Childhood Memories
Mini Motivation #2 Tough times never last, but tough people do! Walk with Me - Mother's Day Markets #5 What is it? First to guess right wins!

My hubby @shai-hulud is also a great steemian worth a follow, check out some of his below:

I must not fear.

Steemit Week 1: Who Are You Don't get hooked by a Phishing scam. Actual steps you can take to protect yourself. Steemit Day One #2: Why lock an Empty House Welcome to Steemit. Day one: Get ready for the learning curve.

Shai & I.jpg

What to know more about @shai-hulud and I Check out these posts:

Butt naked with 2500 other cruise line passengers! Featured in @qurator & @asapers
Love isn’t always shit free. Featured in @thesteemengine and #themagnificentseven How I got flipped Inside Out... For REAL! Featured in @thesteemengine

Did YOU know that your upvote needs time to recharge? If not check out this post below, if you like it please consider upvoting a more recent post as this one has now paid out.

Steem & Voting Power, how not to waste it!

If you like any posts above and they are past seven days please consider upvoting a more recent post as these while very useful have already paid out.


Asapers.gif

One last thing! @asapers has started a profit-sharing curation post called Read me A.S.A.P that picks from their followers so make sure you follow the @asapers to be curated next.

The STEEM Engine Team Australia Banner - @insideoutlet.png

Steemit Bloggers

Upvote follow resteem.png

Team Australia Banner @bearone, @asapers by @shai-hulud, @steemitbloggers by @zord189
All images my own or directly sourced at the image.

Sort:  

How do you even come up with stuff like this? Haha. Amazing. These challenges really push you to do something great in short format.
Kinda heavy, the story. Really is.

It is a bit dark. Not sure why my head went there. I had planned on a much more playful piece but the second prompt sent it dark and ir got worse. :/ maybe more luck next time. Lol.

I got a bit puzzled trying to sort out the characters but got there eventually. Well that spun out of control really quickly! Nice job turning those three things into a coherent story :)

goatsig

Haha, I can understand how you got lost. It wasn't easy brining them together in 15 minutes especially with no knowledge of what was coming but it was fun all the same. Thanks taking the time to try sort it out lol.

That's traumatising even for me as an adult.... but so easily accessible is what's scary ....

I know the stoey took a dark turn somewhere there. Sorry ahout that. Its where the prompts took me.

I keep on forgetting about the free writes on here, so great! You have a talent with words my fellow Steemian ;) I love that Steemit has opened this door for people to find a place to express themselves. Keep sharing, it seems the words are bursting to be shared :)

Thank you, it took me a while to remember them too. I do like the prompt to get me outside my own head as starting is always the hardest. I appreciate you taking the time to read it.

You did very well!! It tied all together! It is not easy to do these 3 prompt stories!!

Thank you! I was going to do the one prompt only give you gave us all of them but I thought why not throw myself in the deep end.

Will have to check out today's after work. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15