Meet Our Steem Witnesses - A weekly show For All Steemians #28 With @krnel

in #witness-category6 years ago

IMG_20190126_110323_663.jpg

Wow! What a great delight to be back again after four months since I last published Meet Our Steem Witnesses due to some things that came up.

Looking at things here, the on going dip as affected the atmosphere here on Steem platform but I hope that the RockDB and SMTs would bring good impact to the Steem project. To those that might have never heard of Meet Our Steem Witnesses before, here is a recap here

For some months now, I have been interviewing some witnesses and it has been an amazing and remarkable experience presenting my their chat here for steemians to read and see what they have been up to.


Here are the links to my previous interview


You can check and read my previous interview with
reggaemuffinexyleadsactly-witnessfelixxxlukestokesneoxianabh12345good-karma
liondani
aggroedyuriks2000jatinhota themarkymarkenginewittyb0y2karcangetimcliffroelandpsomeguy123pfunk
justyy
yabapmattjackmillerpjauhelpieguiltyparties
and you can make sure you follow along with the next episode.

HOW FAR SO FAR, I will continue with the interviews I have at hand before I went to the long time break. I will focus on those once first before moving the the new one.

So stay tuned, follow up and learn from our witnesses.

IMG_20190128_092607_190.jpg


Welcome to my interview and thanks for the honor

  • How did you first hear about steemit and what made you decide to join?

@krnel I heard about Steem from a Facebook post, where someone claimed they made thousands of dollars. But that was because they were popular outside of Steem, and popular people that go to Steem get a lot of votes thrown at them when they arrive.

  • For steemians who don't know much about witnesses, can you give a layman explanation of what it is that witnesses do?

@krnel Witnesses verify and validate the blocks in the blockchain, making sure the data integrity of the chain is maintained so that everyone who uses the blockchain on sites like Steemit.com or Busy.org can get the same data that can't be altered or corrupted.

  • Being a witness takes a lot of time and energy, how do you keep a balance between this and other commitments?

@krnel Being a witness doesn't take much time. You run a server that does all the work. Only sometimes do you have to do updates if everything is running well. It just costs money to rent a server, or buy the hardware and data connection.

  • What is one thing that most people don't know about you?

@krnel I like bananas. I don't know what to say. If people follow my content, they get a pretty good idea of what I'm about. Other than that, there are only personal preferences or history that I can say that they don't know about me.

  • What makes you from different witnesses in the steemit community?

@krnel I suppose it's my attempt to change people and the world for the better through providing knowledge about morality, psychology and philosophy (for the most part).

  • Do you have any project at hand now or you already have one?

@krnel I had started a project called SteemKure at the end of 2016, but I didn't continue it as I didn't think it would be useful. I should have kept developing it anyways and seen where it would have gone, but it took time from posting which was what I was mainly focused on.

  • Apart from being a witness what other thing do you do?

@krnel I post content on the topics I previously mentioned, manually curate, and delegate some SP now and then to others.

  • What is the biggest challenge you have ever faced since you joined steem?

@krnel- Trying to get the platform to change for the better.

  • As one of the witnesses, what is your duty?

@krnel Witness duties are to validate blocks and maintain the integrity of the blockchain. People get into the top 20 for various reasons. Some built apps, some created community support projects. I don't know what they all do to get upvotes.

  • What is the biggest challenge the steemit community must overcome before it goes widespread?

@krnel Dealing with the concentration of power that rests in few hands.

  • I know that you are always busy with your computer trying to help the community, apart from that, what are the other things you enjoy doing?

@krnel Spending time with my girlfriend, cooking, cycling.

  • Where do you see the value of steem in the next 4-5 years along with the platform?

@krnel It could be worth a lot as crypto becomes more widespread, but there are issues on the platform that don't get resolved, and have remained a part of the platform since it's inception, or new problems have emerged and not been resolved.

  • Besides being heavily invested in steem, what other crypto currencies do you fancy?

@krnel I'm not too heavily invested in Steem. I earned what I have mostly through posting, not buying votes and rewards like many do now. I like EOS. Anything Dan Larimer makes is bound to be great.

  • Some people have called crypto currency the internet 2.0 while other think it is just a hiccup in evolution, what are your thoughts on the future of crypto?

@krnel It's not the Internet 2.0, it's a better way to ensure data integrity and distribute data security. It can't replace the Internet structure, it's not meant to or would be feasible to do so.

  • What do you think is the future of cryptocurrency?

@krnel The new monetary tool for the planet.

  • What will be the implications of government having a say in cryptocurrency world?

@krnel Regulation, control, taxes. Not really good things, apart from bringing more people into it because they "trust" government controlling it for them.

  • If you could only vote for one witness (not yourself) who would it be and why?

@krnel
@steemcommunity I think. I like what @abh12345 is doing and I like what he stands for with respect to Steem, as it's similar to myself.

  • In five sentences or less, tell steemians why you deserve their vote.

@krnel I'm no tech genius to make apps for the platform, I'm not ROI or investor focused, but I have a goal of trying to share knowledge of how to better ourselves and the world, and want to use Steem to do so. That's how I can help Steem. I am suing Steem as the avenue to influence such change for the better. Support me and my work to help make Steem, the world, and ourselves better.

  • If you could have a privilege to change something about steemit, what would it be?

@krnel To change the way influence works on the platform so that people we more empowered, rather than the current concentration of power. That would resolve abuses of power in voting and flagging. I would also like to change the code somehow so that delegations for profit wouldn't be a thing (maybe remove delegations so that things were more even again).

  • It is so awesome finally having a chat with you @krnel
  • Thanks so much for creating time for meet our steemit witnesses. Have a wonderful day

@krnel Thank you for interviewing me.

Thank you all for reading. Like I said before, I feel so amazing to be back again and I promise you all more and interesting episode of this interview. So today i call it the end of this week episode of meet our steem witnesses. Until next time, I love you all.

PS Possibly you have any show, event or project you want me to feature on Meet our Steem Witnesses feel free to drop it in the comment section below. Thank you

PROMOTING AND INTERVIEWING STEEM WITNESS IS ALL I DO

As steemit users we need to do everything in our power to choose witnesses that will represent the community well. Before voting make sure you do some research on the people you are voting for and be informed. Head over to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and click on some of the witnesses names, get to know them a bit better and do your part to make sure this community thrives.

Now that you have read something about @krnel

I strongly recommend you to choose and vote @krnel

https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=krnel&approve=1

as a witness. For now if you want to select it then open it

please vote @krnel to be your witness today!

If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me by Upvoting, Sharing and Reblogging and kindly follow for more content to come !

linedivider.jpg

Help a soul today so that the world will be a better place for you and for me.



I remain my humble self @dhavey

IMG_20180810_003836_823.jpg

GoldenProjectBanner-01.jpg


Sort:  

Good to be back after a long while. I have missed your show

Haha! Thanks man. I really appreciate your comment

interesting.... good to have the show back, its a really good one.

@krnel nice knowing you better, keep up the good work

Thanks Jeannie. I appreciate your support so far. Have a wonderful week ahead.

Congratulations @dhavey! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcom back @dhavey, i have missed your update on interview of witnesses

@krnel keep up the good work on the blockchain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82