Creamy Millet Porridge - Step by step Recipe! Healthy, vegan, sugar free and gluten free breakfast! CLEAN FOOD! PHOTO SHOT!

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Hi lovely people out there!! Its time for me to improve my posts and my recipes with more pictures, step by step instructions and showing you how to actually recreate my food and desserts. For me this is one way of stepping outside my comfort zone, because until now I have always just showed you the end-result. I really hope you will enjoy this and I would be very happy, if you could let me know, how I can improve my recipes even more!

Recently I wrote about my love for millet and millet porridge, and honestly I prefer millet before oats most of the time, not only because the health benefits are far ahead of oats, but also because the creamy texture you can make and the sweetness of it. Millet has a lot of nutrients as iron and a great amount of protein. For me as a vegan, I really love to add millet to my diet.

Today I will share my creamy coconut-millet porridge recipe, and show you how to to make it!

Note: this recipe is nothing for stressed people. You will need some time and peace to make it, and also take your time to eat and enjoy it! If you dont have time to make this millet porridge in the morning, than you can prepare it the evening before, and layer it in glasses or a bento box, that you can take with you in the morning. That works very well.
For homeworkers, parents with children, students and many more, this is a breakfast that will keep you happy many hours. So take your time to try it out!

Enjoy!!! (And let me know what you think about millet and if you have tried it! Write me in the comments;))

Creamy Coconut-Millet Porridge! And a sugar free berry jam!

millet (1 von 1)-14.jpg
Before we start with the recipe, this is what we are going to make together today! As you can see my boy snapped some berries while I took the picture. Thats how a mommy life goes;)

Recipe

Makes 2-3 portions.

Ingredients

Porridge:

  • 1/2 cup millet (not the flakes!)
  • 400 g coconut milk and cream (separate the cream and milk in 2 bowls)
  • 1 ripe banana (chopped or smashed)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon or gingerbread spices

millet (1 von 1)-3.jpg

Method:

  • Start by giving your millet a good rinse. I usually rinse and drain my millet in alternately hot and cold water to get rid of all dust and starch. You can also soak the millet some minutes before doing the rinse, than it goes easier.

millet (1 von 1)-4.jpg

  • After the rinse and drain, add the water and coconut milk to the millet in a pan, add the chopped/smashed banana, and let the millet cook 10-15 minutes.

millet (1 von 1)-6.jpg

  • Reduce the heat a little and add the coconut cream to the pan. Stir with a spoon to combine the cream with the millet. * Let it cook on a lower heat for 5 minutes.
  • Than add the cinnamon and/or gingerbread spices.
  • Lower the heat and let the millet simmer 10-20 minutes until all the liquid is absorbed. Stir a few time with a spoon to make it creamy. When needed add more coconut milk and spices.

millet (1 von 1)-9.jpg

  • Taste the millet porridge and see if it is creamy and sweet enough. When you are happy with the texture and taste, add the porridge in 2-3 bowls.

Jam:

  • 1 cup berries or choice (I used frozen raspberries)
  • some lemon/orange juice
    You can add 1 tbsp chia seeds and sweetener if you wish to, I didnt do that this time)

millet (1 von 1)-5.jpg

  • Heat/cook the berries and juice for 2-3 minutes until the berries are soft and juicy.

millet (1 von 1)-7.jpg

  • Blend the berries if you want to have a creamy jam texture.

millet (1 von 1)-8.jpg

  • Pour the jam in a bowl.

millet (1 von 1)-10.jpg

Now its time to eat your porridge! I love to enjoy my breakfast with berries, fruits, nut butter, coconut butter or whatever I have at home. Today I made our breakfast with a lot of berries that my partner bought for me. (He knows how to make a foodie like me happy;))

millet (1 von 1)-15.jpg Decorate if you are a passionated food photographer like me, and enjoy before your baby picks out allthe berries!!

This was a lot of fun, and after the picture, I really enjoyed my breakfast/lunch! And so did my boy;)

Today I have been very creative, and also made an other recipe I will share with you soon. My boy is feeling good again, and we had real summer weather! I went to the dentist, because I have a had a teeth pain over the Easter holidays, so I had to. But most of the day I have been working with my pictures, and spent the day in the sun.

How did you spend the day?


From now on, you will see more recipes like this one with a lot of pictures, so stay tuned for a lot more inspiration and creative meal ideas! I am very much into clean food, no added white sugars, gluten free flours, superfood and organic as much as it goes. Healthy, high nutrient food! When you are into the same things, you are welcome to follow my journey from a hobby chef towards new goals and levels!


This is something I have created for my dear Lena @lenasveganliving and her #fruitsandveggiesmonday! If you havent heard about her great contest. here it is for you!


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Love, Niina

Check out my instagram and blog for many simple and healthy vegan recipes.

While you are still here, take your time to check out my other recipes and recent posts:

  1. Contest: My birthday contest for you to win SBD!

  2. Brownies: Brownies that will change your LIFE! Fudge, rich, delicate CHOCOLATE BROWNIES! Vegan, GF, Sugar free RECIPE!
  3. Coconut Ice cream Cake: LAST MINUTE EASTER DESSERT! Coconut Ice-Cream Bundt Cake with hot Jam and Chocolate! Vegan & GF! A foolproof recipe for everyone!
  4. Muffins: Chocolate Muffins with a blueberry jam filling! GF, refined sugar free, vegan and so juicy RECIPE to try out today!
  5. Pancakes:

More recipes:

Chocolate Cups: CHOCOLATE CUPS to die for!With roasted almond filling and peanut butter! RECIPE!
Breakfast: Healthy Breakfast & Dessert Idea - Vegan Recipe! Millet Porridge with a warm Blueberry Jam
Cake: MATCHA-CHOCOLATE CAKE! Recipe - Vegan - Raw

Poetry & Inspiration:

This MOMENT- POETRY AT THE AIRPORT
How to find your inner purpose in life❤


Thank you all! ❤
I want to inspire you to live your dreams, eat delicious, wholesome, nourishing, healthy food, and keep a creative mind. We all can do that, now!

Sort:  

I want to live at your place !

Haha, yea I love my kitchen and home 😉😂😋

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 23:45:40
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 394.47/400.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 00:04:32
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 404.87/800.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh my, that is a meal fit for a queen! Needless to say your son is very lucky to have a mom like you! So beautiful. You really inspire me with your rich creations. I have used millet in baking, but not as a breakfast/lunch option. I'll need to check that out!

Yea definelty try out millet porridge! It is really worth the effort and time! 😋💕💕😙

Oh my goodness Sweetie, this is amazing...............I need it right now!!! I am so happy you joined this week, I was wondering what happened to you 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Haha I am sorry for the delay! I had to post the contest yesterday and didn't get the time for 2 posts in one day! But I am happy I managed to make it anyway!😉😍Glad you like it sweetie!💃🙌🙏

Ohhhhhhh, I understand Sweetie!!! Glad you made it XOXO

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
2.png

Wow thanks so much Lena!!! So glad you have choosen me!!!

You are most welcome Sweetie, how could I not??? LOL!!!

Haha THANKS FOR MAKING ME SMILE!!😉😙

I've just been scrolling through your feed and been getting very hungry, last thing I should do at 1.30am in the morning. Going to look for some more millet tomorrow actually because I think it's a bit healthier than porridge. Dreaming of breakfast already.... Night x

Haha you are also up late! I am too! Have to go to sleep now;) Soon 2 am;) Good night dear!! Enjoy your breakfast tomorrow! I am also looking forward to mine, have some organic strawberries and one ripe banana that I will add to my brekkie, yumm;)

Looks tasty—thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much! Wish you a wonderful day!😙

NOM! Thank you for sharing the recipe, the berries make me crave the wildberries.... I have to wait a couple months before berry season!

Yea me too, but until then I look for the frozen once and organic fresh berries!😉😙Thank you for stopping by!

que rica se ve ,lo voy a preparar,éxito te invito pasar por mi blog

Thank you so much for your sweet words!! Happy you want to try it out!!

interesting recipe, be sure to prepare

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading my recipe!💕😙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33