Healthy Breakfast & Dessert Idea - Vegan Recipe! Millet Porridge with a warm Blueberry Jam

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hi friends on Steemit! The recipe I will share with you today, is really healthy and serves you a great amount of health benefits. Lets head to the core:

About Millet:

Millet is a gluten free grain that provides our bodys with high content of nutrients, including impressive starch levels, vitamin B, calcium, iron, potassium, zinc, magnesium, and fat. Millet can boost our immun system, help us to protect against heart diseases, prevent onset of breast cancer, reducing blood pressure and control high cholesterol levels.

Millet also contains a lot of protein, fiber and magnesium. It is also quite cheap, perfect for people living on a low budget.

I use millet for breakfast most of the time, but sometimes also instead of rice.
Important is that you wash, rinse and drain it very well before cooking, as it contains a lot of dust (same as lentils or rice), and you dont want that. I wash it in cold water, than hot, than cold and repeat it 4-8 times for the optional result.

Blueberries or Bilberries

Wild blueberries, also called bilberries, are small and have a very strong taste and purple colour, they contain more antioxidants than the big blueberries you can find in grocery stores. Bilberries have been popular in Europe since the 16th century, and blueberries were first widely grown in the U.S. in the 1920s.

I like the bilberries a lot more than the big tasteless blueberries, but it is probably because I grow up in Sweden, where we used to go in the forest to pick our own bilberries for jam and to freeze for the winter. We always ate a lot of them, and they are so sweet and colourful, the most beautiful and delicate berry you can find in the swedish forest.

CREAMY MILLET-BANANA PORRIDGE WITH WARM BLUEBERRY-CHIA JAM (and chocolate)

blueberry (1 von 1)-4.jpg
I added a lot of cacao nibs, wild blueberries (bilberries), and melted chocolate to my jars, it makes a breakfast/dessert just amazing;)

Recipe:

Makes enough for 2-4 portions.

Ingredients

Millet Porridge:

  • 1/2 cup millet
  • 1 1/2 - 2 cup water or plantbased milk
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • spices of choice (cinnamon, vanilla, cardamom, cacao)

Berry Jam:

  • 1 cup berries (i used frozen wild bilberries)
  • a little water or lemon juice
  • 1-2 tbsp chia seeds, depending on how thick you like the jam to be. (Thanks @amy-goodrich for the tips!)

Method:

  1. Millet: Wash, rinse and drain the millet well in cold and hot water a few times before bringing to boil in a small pan, together with the 1 1/2 cup water or plantbased milk and the bananas chopped in small pieces. (Or mash the bananas before adding it to the millet.)
  2. Let it boil for 2 minutes before lower the heat and let it simmer until all the liquid is absorbed. Takes about 20 minutes. Add more liquid when needed. Stir with a wooden spoon from time to time. Add the rest of the liquid and turn off the heat. Add the spices of choice and stir again.
  3. Let the millet absorb all the liquid for 10-15 minutes. Blend it, if you wish to make the porridge very creamy.
  4. Jam: Heat the berries in a small pan and let it simmer for a couple of minutes together with a little water or lemon juice.
  5. Blend with 1-2 tbsp chia seeds for some seconds and let it set for 5 minutes. Add a little sweetener if you wish the jam tobe sweeter.
  6. Layer the millet porridge with the warm jam and melted dark chocolate if you wish to.
  7. Add more berries for the toppings, and cacao nibs, more chocolate or whatever you prefer.
  8. Enjoy!

I want to share my recipe and nutrient facts with @celestialcow and the best #healingfoodschallenge ! This challenge is such a great idea to bring people together and inspire each other to eat healthier. I give it my full support and hope also you want to join the challenge! Here you can find more information.


I am going to the Netherlands tomorrow and just getting everything prepared now. My grandparents live there and I am happy I will visit them with my little boy again, I try to go there as much as I can. I really love to stay to my grandparents place and just enjoy the slow time there and great food my grandmother cooks for us. She makes everything vegan for us, that is really nice and so kind, her food reminds me so much of my childhood.


Wish you all a magical night/day!!

Kisses!

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Love, Niina

Ps. Check out my instagram and blog for many simple and healthy vegan recipes.

While you are still here, take your time to check out my other recipes and recent posts:
3 Ingredient Pancakes! Recipe! VEGAN, SUGAR & GLUTEN FREE. And how I contribute to a happier, and healthier world.
MATCHA-CHOCOLATE CAKE! Recipe - Vegan - Raw
HELP NEEDED! CHOCOLATE MUFFINS! Gluten free and refined sugar free
WHY YOU CANT MAKE ME HAPPY, & a HOT CHOCOLATE RECIPE! Sugar Free & VEGAN
Congratulations to the Winners of the #VeganBreakfastContest!!!
How to create the perfect layers for a parfait!
VEGAN TIPS🎆 Monday motivation on healthy living- tips and tricks for everyone!
A simple Friday pizza for everyone!
Why vegans live a healthier life, or why not. RAINBOW BREAKFAST - How to create the next level food.

Follow, resteem, comment and upvote if you like to see more from me. I would love to see more from YOU!

Thank you all!
I want to inspire you to live your dreams right now, eat delicious, nourishing, wholefoods, and keep a healthy mind. We all can do that, and it is that easy!

Sort:  

Nice post, I have never heard of bilberries. I’m going to try the millet sounds like it might be something nutritious to add to our diet.

Yes millet is a great source of protein, nutrients and carbs. I really like it a lot! Thank you for you nice comment;)

That jam has me drooling! I bet those berries are so delicious fresh. I love when healthy food can elicit such wonderful memories of childhood. Enjoy the time with your family!

Thank you so much gorgeous!! I enjoy my time here.❤Bilberries definitely wakes many memories in me! I love the Swedish summer's, long days and light nights, and all those wild berries in the forest.😍

Sigh... summer nights...

Yeaa I know😍

Nice! I use millet for breakfast too. It is really great! My favourite is probably oatmeal or buckwheat as a go-to. Millet is the third in my list. Thanks for sharing this.

Yes it takes a little longer than the regular oatmeal, but it is so worth it! Thanks for stopping by sweetheart!!

This is really beautiful. Makes my mouth water! I haven't tried millet, but with the blueberry jam, oh what a wonderful idea. I hope your time with grandmother is joyous. Grandmothers are such a blessing and they love their grandchildren! Blessings and safe travels.

Yes they do;) Thank you sweetheart so much for your sweet words! You make me so happy right now!! And if you can buy millet, try it out, I love it for breakfast!!

Wonderful recipe

Thank you!!❤❤❤

Wow your desserts look super beautiful and it sounds it can be done easily too. I love beautiful desserts with doable recipes! I don't think I can get bilberries here but I can get some blueberries from the supermarket. I have never explore into using millet this way. But I used to cook millet porridge for my boy. Thanks for such a wonderful idea, @vegan.niinja! :)

That's so great! Millet is so healthy and I love how my body feels after eating it!😍😙

This is a good idea and thank you for this! I used to eat millet but only with banana and cinnamon. Have to try this.

Oh yes I hope you will! You won't regret it!❤❤❤

Oh myyyy I love breakfast that looks like artwork! :-D

That's so kind of you my lovely friend!❤❤❤❤

Such a great recipe again! And your photos are to kill for it!! Love them, like always! Enjoy the time to your grandparents! Enjoy every second spend with them cause this is one of the most important things on earth: family!!

Yes so true my dear @missdeli ! I love to spend time with them, they live far away so I dont see them more than a few times a year. Same with my parents and siblings. I am looking forward to my days with them!

Thank you!!!

You are more that welcome!! Have a lot of fun and enjoy every second spent with them!!:x

I do! Thanks lovely!❤❤❤🙏

Wow u really are the breakfast queen here on steemit! I like u have memories of childhood visiting my austrian grandparents and eating wild blueberries by the truckload nothing beats nature's tasty and abundant. Millet is something I don't use really but I'm going to try to use it now although the amount of draining does put me off a bit still the health benefits out weigh my laziness. Thanks for sharing another one of your beautiful recipes :)

Oh you are so sweet! The title Breakfast Queen sounds just right for me haha! Thank you for all your kindness!😗
You don't need to wash the millet so many times, but like lentils, usually have a lot of dust, so I prefer to wash it good before cooking. You could also try millet flakes instead of the whole millet, they can be used as rolled oats, and you got all the health benefits from it without spending a lot of time washing and cooking. I use both, and love them.😋
I hope you will buy some millet and do your experiments!😉
Thank you love, and take care!😍

Turns out I had some millet flakes in the cupboard and gave the a rinse, they were great :) mixed with porridge oats

Oh that's sounds great! You don't need to rinse the flakes though.😂🙌Love to mix different flakes and rolled oats for porridge😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57130.74
ETH 2551.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41