Translating Steemit | English-Dutch | #2

in #utopian-io6 years ago

translating steemit.png

Project Details

Steemit: An organization building apps on Steem, the blockchain!
The project contains 2807 words, this was my second translation in Dutch.

Project Links

Contribution

This second translation I had some doubts about what words I should and should not translate to Dutch. Like I explained in the previous post for my first translation to the Steemit project, some words are frequently just taken over from English. This caused me to not be sure about some strings that needed translation.

Examples are the private, owner, posting and voting keys, which all appear quite often in the project as they are part of our daily Steemit usage. I started to skip them at first, to have another look at them, and see more strings in the hope I would find the right answer myself. For some of them I did, and to be sure, I checked the opinion of my LM @misslasvegas.

We both agreed that some translations in Dutch seem weird simply because they haven't been used anywhere else but on Steemit, so it's probably something we have to get used to. We also asked @minersean for his opinion, and I think together we made a good choice eventually on translating them. It feels good to have such a great team with members that are all willing to have a look to give their opinion, or to confirm we chose the right word for translation.

Word Count

As I didn't do the complete translation in one day, I could not see the normal stats selecting my translation report. So I made a print screen of my total translated words, which was 2184. The
My first translation for the Steemit project contains 1003 words.

proof of authorship steemit 2.png



The first part I translated contained 1003 words (see image below), so the remaining words for this translation should be 1181 for my second translation.
steemit proof post 1 1003 woorden.png

My previous translations:


  • Steemit (English to Dutch)#1
  • JabRef (English to Dutch) #1, #2, #3, #4
  • OpenCart (English to Dutch) #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6
  • BibleBot (English to Dutch) #1, #2, #3
  • GDevelop Website (English to Dutch) #1

Team



Currently, the Dutch team has the following translators:

Sort:  

Thank you for contributing to the translation project for Davinci-Utopian @anouk.nox!

This was your second contribution for the Steemit translation project.
There were no major issues, however we had to have a good think about how to translate the 'key' words, as in: posting, active, private keys etc.
After some debating within the team, I believe that we found the perfect solution that makes the text easy to understand for the Dutch, without taking away from the original.

Other than that, this was an excellent translation, again.

Great job!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you @misslasvegas!
I'm very happy that we can always discuss questionable words together or within the team. It's good to know others are willing to have a look, so we can find the best possible translation for a project.
I'm looking forward to translating the last part of the project. Next week translating Steemit to Dutch will be "a wrap".

Have a nice weekend!

Thank you for your review, @misslasvegas!

So far this week you've reviewed 1 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @anouk.nox! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @anouk.nox!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That's a great work and contribution that you are doing! 👍

Regarding the translation itself, I know how hard it could be. There are some words and expressions not only Steemit related but especially from IT, computer and app development area, and above all the crypto world which simply don't exist in other languages. Some somewhat, but only sometimes may be translated somehow, but some only in a descriptive way or just using the original word as an official term. Often, there is no other solution.

Hey, @anouk.nox!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33