Translating JabRef | English - Dutch | #3

in #utopian-io6 years ago

jabref.png

Project Details

JabRef is an open source bibliography reference manager. The native file format used by JabRef is BibTeX, the standard LaTeX bibliography format. JabRef is a desktop application and runs on the Java VM (version 8), and works equally well on Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X.

Project Links

Contribution

This is my third contribution to the JabRef project and after some communication back and forward with my LM @misslasvegas, we decided that we should ask the other Dutch translators for advice. There are quite a few words that come back repeatedly in this project, but the translations I first decided on don't seem to fit in everywhere. So I kept going back and forward, looking at other options, but none of them felt right. Luckily our team member @soyrosa came with advice pretty quickly, and so far I think this issue is now solved. The project isn't completely translated yet, so it's possible that I might bump into a questionable translation later on. If this is the case, I will discuss it again, and change this. Although it costs a lot of time going back and forward in a project, I still find it very informative. I also keep making notes of my translations if I have my doubts what word fits best so that I can discuss this if I can't solve the issue myself. Thanks again to @misslasvegas and also to @soyrosa for being a great team member. Sometimes it's very refreshing if someone "new to the project" has a quick look at the issue to find the right translation.

Word count

My third contribution to the JabRef project contains 1002 words. The project has now been translated to Dutch for 67% ( 4951 words). The end of the project is in sight.

proof authorship JabRef 3.png

My previous translations:

Finished project(s):

Current project(s):

Team

Currently, the Dutch team has the following translators:

Sort:  

Thank you for contributing to the translation project for Davinci-Utopian @anouk.nox!

This was your third contribution for the JabRef project, and even though it is sometimes hard to find the right words for this, you manage it very well. As we both had a hard time finding the right word for just one word that just didn't seem right (it was right, but just didn't sound like it was good enough), I decided it was time to ask colleagues for their opinion in order to get an objective view on the matter. It didn't take long for @altrosa to come in and present the perfect word. This is what I call Team-work!

I believe this team works really well together, and this absolutely shows in the work presented.

Well done!

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord

Thank you for your review, @misslasvegas!

So far this week you've reviewed 8 contributions. Keep up the good work!

You're welcome! It's cool to be able to work together :D

Yes, I agree! :)

Hi @anouk.nox!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @anouk.nox!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05