Christkindlmarkt in Innsbruck- Christmas arrived to Tirol :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

corner.JPG

It's about the time! :) Christmas is around the corner and I can feel it literally everywhere! 11 days to go. And if you say Austria and Christmas, there's one thing which undoubtedly comes to my mind - Christmas market. There's a famous huge Christmas market in Vienna, but here in Innbsbruck, we have also our tiny version :) Lemme show you!

image.png

I'm gonna be honest with you


I'm riding the Christmas hype train like never before! It's been tough couple of months and going back gome, meeting family and friends and just getting the rest from work and never ending training is much needed. That's why I'm spending quite some time in the city centre and getting in as much of this vibe as possible :)

Getting closer


You kinda know you're getting there not because of all the smells of Gluehwein (warm wine with spices and fruits) and sweets but also because the intensity and frequency of street lights is getting bigger and bigger.

1.JPG

Then, even streets get more and more narrow and you know you're aaalmoost there. 2 more corners? Or maybe even one?

2.JPG

And then, suddenly - it's there. Chrismas Tree!!!!! Kinda shy, looking from behind the old buildings of Innsbruck main square :) Smell of warm sweet treats as as strong as it can be and you feel like in paradise.

3.JPG

Then it's up to you. The tree won't come to you :) So you take couple of breaths and come closer. Now you might think - why do you even need to take those breaths? Well, once the city tower right next to the tree reveals itself, the view is just breathtaking! :) That's why you need to have those couple of extra breaths before ;)

4.JPG

Market


Once you stop looking up like a retard, you realize you're in the middle of the Christmas market. And not some random Christmas market - the most beautiful one in the whole Alps! And a bonus to it all - the most touristic part of the whole Innsbruck (Gold Roof) right next to it.

DSC08951.JPG

Presence of "Goldenes Dachl" is also a great excuse for going to market to get some hot wine. Almost daily, I keep saying to my training partners after the practice:

"Hey guys, let's go to the city centre to check out that beautiful history of your town"

The answer is usually something like:

"Oh ofcourse...nothing unexpected, Slovak guy wants to go drink again :D"

And I mean...they're right :D This is usually the first shop I go to. Beer, wine and some aabsolutely yummy (and expensive :D) typical tirolean foods

6.JPG

Second part of the market


It's not actually all in one place but all these tiny stands are "sprinkled" all around the city centre. One main area is the one I've already shown you - near the christmas tree. Another main one is centred in the close proximity of the Swarowski Light Tower.

DSC08978.JPG

While the first part of the market was more about foods and warm baverages, this one offers more "materialistic" stuff. Yeah, Christmas is about well-spent quality time with the close ones, but all these tiny presents are a part of it. And if you have some empty slots on your list, this is the place to come to fill those up :)

I'd bet my (future) house these slippers are the bestseller. I have 2 pairs at home and almost bought a pair anyway. All the colors, various platform heights and designs. Man, I want them all haha :D I'm not a sneaker guy, but these might be my new obsession :D

DSC08988.JPG

As every market, there are also many various decorations for you home, tree or even garden. Many have (obviously) kinda Christian topic to them. Angels, baby Jesus etc etc etc..

DSC08981.JPG

And last, but definitely not least - Gingerbread!!. There's no market of any kind wiithout these cute heart-shaped gingerbreads :) Also, I can't believe if people buy these masterpieces and freaking just open and eat them! I think such actions should be made illegal, don't you think? You're also not allowed to just tear down some beautiful paintings, are you?

DSC08986.JPG

Once you've spend all your cash and circling around the rest of the shops would cause just unnecessary damage on your credit card, there are there tiny cute little "stoves" whee you can warm your hands and enjoy some warm baverage you asked your friends to buy for you (cuz you're already broke anyway).

DSC08989.JPG

And if you stay long enough, you have a chance to experience this weird and almost mystical feeling when the shops close around 10pm. Suddenly, everything is soo quiet. There are couple of people here and there, but within minutes, the whole "village" of these tiny shops just falls asleep. I don't know what exactly is it, but there just something special about it :)

DSC09030.JPG

All this is happening while mountains are watching


Ok, I'm getting kinda sentimental/emotional immediately as I've started this paragraph haha :D I'm 100% sure whenever the life takes me, I'll forever remember these amazing (white-capped 11 ouf of 12 months!) mountains protecting this beautiful town. Just tell me, where in this world do you have such amazing view from the central square with a Christmas market right behind your back?

8.JPG

Here is the unedited picture for you as I've hoped by slowing shutterspeed and increasing exposure compensation, I'd be able to show you how huuuge those mountains are. They're indeed leaping over the town. Sadly, the picture outcome is not what I wanted and therefore the picture above needed some GIMPing to be done :D But here is the original, just to show you how huuuuge the Nordkette is :)

DSC09011.JPG

I could stare on this scenery literally forever. You just have to see it with your own eyes to understand. Magnificient and breathtaking :) ..

Thanks for reading! Matko.

text10.png

You can find my latest posts here:

🏆 My STEEMMONSTERS trophies/scalps 🏆

ATS_NIGHT VIEW-2.jpg
Reached #16 in leaderboard
ATS_NIGHT VIEW.jpg
One-sided win over JoeParys
ATS_NIGHT VIEW.jpg
Proud owner of legendary Hydra

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Very cool! Thanks for the photos! :-)

I'd like to ask you to participate in my Art Curation Initiative #5

Omg what a greeeeaaat idea for the signature :D I have to steal this idea from you (and possibly claim it my own hahaha :D kidding). Are you fine with me using the same one like this?:

Earn STEEM for getting better in your own craft every week! Join Learn & Earn league now!

Sure, go ahead!

I'm just trying something new to check if the post has more visitors or not. So far, it seems that a few people visited it because of the signature.

Thankss! But it seems it doesn't really work for me :D Does it for you? I see it's missing in ur 2nd comment as well.

Oh, I've been copying+pasting it to the comments. I tried Busy.org signature but it didn't work as I expected. :-(

Ohh ok..yepp neither does SteemPlus :/

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing! The view above the river and beyond makes me curious, indeed.

I think I would also go with the slippers. They feel cosy, already.

Also, probably gingerbread and coffee. Do they have nice coffee there? Sometimes cheese and wine may also do.

I saw we had some Austrian or German style Christmas market in Sofia as well. I might visit it just to share with you folks. But I guess it will feel much more... artificial there.

Hmmm gooo go go and share...just for the sake of science of comparison :D In Slovakia (where I come from), those markets feel still normal and not artificial but these austrian ones are really special. And coffee...I actually haven't even seen it being sold :D It's all about warm baverages WITH ALCOHOL in it :D

Thank you for taking me to the Christmas market. I do miss the European way of celebrating the season...

Hah well from what I've seen in the movies, the US way ain't the one I'd enjoy either. But u have many other opportunities there which are hard toget here :)

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #392

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Oh haha, @livinguktaiwan you should't let your personal feelings of missing European Xmas propagate into your Steemitworldmap curation haha :D But I'm grateful for it :)


Want to earn STEEM for getting better in your own craft every week! Join Learn & Earn league!

There are so many places I wish I could go to when I curate for the Steemitworldmap every day. I may have to change my handle to @livingeverywhere one of these days.

Register it till it's free haha :D


Want to earn STEEM for getting better in your own craft every week! Join Learn & Earn league!

ah nice, I miss that vibe! Here we don't really get into the vibe because it's always hot as F and sunny...I would love a European winter for a little. I also miss the gingerbread and marzipan (don't know if that's big in Austria), but that was one of my favorite treats during Xmas.

Oh yeah, I looove marzipan :)) Always eat those pieces from Merci as the first ones haha :D


Want to earn STEEM for getting better in your own craft every week! Join Learn & Earn league!

LOL my brother in law is in Germany right to visit his gf and I told him to bring me some (by some I mean a LOT) lol

Hahah and are you allowed to eat such stuff now? :D

Posted using Partiko Android

yes of course =) well, not good for the six-pack, but I won't have one anymore for the next 6 months now =)

Nice work nephew!

I never get tired of reading along with your interesting life and seeing such a cool town. Your stories are awesome.

Haha I bet you know we're all selling our lives here on Steemit in the best possible light :D Not saying Im not suuuperhappy with my life/days..I actually am, but my days are pretty stereotypical :D Work, training, fun with flatmates...friday, saturday, sunday is job-free and spent on some extra fun, training and projects. But all in all, it's kinda stereotypical haha :D

Well the beauty in you blog is your adventurous spirit, positive attitude, and your gift with words that makes the mundane special.

If people knew what kinda rock star we were, they might not feel sorry for me and give me the pity upvotes!

Gotta relate to the little folks! ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hah thanks for kind words uncle! :) Nice day to you!


Want to earn STEEM for getting better in your own craft every week! Join Learn & Earn league!

Have you actually climbed any of these peaks before? :D They look amazing but something makes me feel that you haven't done it before :D

It's a very nice Christmas market. It looks like from a fairy tale. The one that we have here is not even half of the size and the stuff they sell is just useless.

I'm gonna be in Budapest on the 22nd and 23rd so I hope that the Christmas market there will be better :)

Have a good evening!

Whaaaaat!!? You really think I'm either a total nerd or a total gym rat don't you? :D On the other side, part of me actually takes it as compliment :D

But ofcouuurse I was up there...like..dunno..8 times? And the opposite one which you can't see (Igls). We've climbed it in january when there was more than one meter of snow eeeeverywhere..my hips were in snow and we got up there! Oh you!
I actually went up there on the very first week I came to IBK in 2015 ;)

And 24th in Slovakia or back to CH? Enjoy! :)

Hahahaha, I'm not going to tell you what I think :D who would be interested in that anyway, right? :D

Really? Do you have some photos? You know as a proof :D

23rd night to Slovakia and then we'll be staying there until 7th of Jan. Will you be at home too?

Hah I actually wrote that only cuz I have a kinda cool pic from that day and wanted to add it to the comment :D Handstand on the summit ;) But can't freaking find it haha so you have to believe me :D

Haha I'm not interested AT ALL, but Im sure all the other Steemians are dying to find out what you think :D Soo I guess you should share it with "us". I'm in Slovakia from 21st till 28th..then going to Greece to volunteer till 12th :) So you're going direction east on 21st? Not 20th? You couuld take me blablacar style if you go on 20th haha :D

I will believe you once I see that photo :D You won't fool me that easily :D

Oh yes, you're not interested AT ALL :D And I'm not interested if others are interested or not :D

I almost forgot about that Greece trip. Looking forward to it already?

No, no 22nd morning.. so well, can't help :D

And identity proof:

Do u believe me now? :D Just wasted 10 minutes of my life loooking for the pic :D

Oh, what about going on 20th cuz of me :)) I can sing in the car to pay my dues :)) :D

Hahaha, you would waste it with something else anyway :D :D OK, OK, now I believe you.. even though that guy doing a handstand could be anyone :D

We're taking a plane to Budapest :D I rather skip that singing part :D I saw you dancing and I think it was enough of an experience already :D

OHH u killing me really :D is it even possible to satisfy you to 100%?

Hmm true.. dancing and now singing.. it's hard to witness soo much greatness all within one month right? :D well, maybe the next time (Easter?) :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @matkodurko,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thanks guysss! I hoped to get one more entry in before you reach 1000 :) Hoped this one will be kinda unique as you probably don't have many christmas posts yet hah :D

Want to earn STEEM for getting better in your own craft? Join LEARN & EARN league!

Sure! We are still 100 stories behind the goal :) Steem on and thanks for your support @matkodurko!

I really miss the Christmas atmosphere in Taiwan, sob sob...

When are u coming back over here then? Any plans soon?

Not soon unfortunately for xmas. The Christmas atmosphere in Europe and UK is lovely with all the markets and decoration, plus the cold weather makes it more chrismassy. We don't get that atmosphere here in Taiwan, so i guess I'm stuck with a un-christmas christmas for a while 😔

Well on the other side, I can imagine changing this ass-freezing weather we got here these days (-10) for some warmer weather :) But yeah, christmas is christmas and it should be coooold. :D


Want to earn STEEM for getting better in your own craft every week! Join Learn & Earn league!

I love christmas markets i visited one last week in Florence! I went to many xmas markets around europe, austria, north italy, budapest and germany but i still have not visit one in tirol, i wish i could visit one soon!

Yeah come over till I'm still here :D Can show you around...I'm still totally surprised there's so far not even one person from Steemit to come visit me :D Iguess Im not promoting the town good enough :D

Hmm I was in Florence in summer (2013?). Suuuperbeautiful town :)


Want to earn STEEM for getting better in your own craft every week! Join Learn & Earn league!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61