The Mexican Magical City Tour: Real de Catorce Photo Gallery and What Makes it Magical

in #travel7 years ago

When we arrived to Real de Catorce it was already dark.






Our little band was super tired but we still made our way up and down the rocky hills and through this little ancient village.


The guys, Ezequiel and Ovat, set up a tent for us by flashlight.


Once the morning appeared the breathtaking beauty was endless and all around.


BUT, the question of the day is, "What makes it a Magical city?"




Before I begin to answer that Question you may want to
catch up with the history of this story.


Buying Back My Kuna First place winner in Travel Story Contest. A MUST READ!
Should I Marry the Kuna?
At Breakfast With Qiqi and Noki
Part 1 My Packing List Toiletries Bag

Part 2 My Packing List Small Easy Carry Backpack

Part 3 My Packing LIst Jewelry Making Supplies

Part 4 My Packing List Sleeping Supplies, Culinary and Tarot tools

Part 5 My Packing List

Leaving Texas and Crossing Into Mexico

The Mexican Magical City Tour: Después de mi corazón

The Mexican Magical City Tour: Real de Catorce y el éxodo dos





I don't know for positive why it's a magical city but I have some ideas.






Here is the map and list of the whole tour.


We've barely begun so you are not too late.










Perhaps it's the breathtaking beauty that makes it a magical city.







This Magical looking tree just lends itself to being loved and decorated with crystals and other natural objects.

One of the exposed roots is wrapped around and clutching a big black stone.


She feels like a grandmother.

Do you see Ovat being cradled by her?







These guys are pretty magical but they came with me, not part of the scenery.

I hope you like looking at them because they are my models by default.







Drumming and dancing by firelight in front of the old city's cemetery.


The sky had an eery beauty.





I was very impressed with how Ovat just magically threw together this stove
in the morning and cooked us a lentil breakfast.






Walking on a crystal paved road was a magical experience.

The stones glitter and sparkle if you're paying attention.







Let's peek through this old door and see what other magic is afoot.







The next several photos are a gallery of streets,


buildings,

homes


and the gentle life of the locals.





The streets are paved with beautiful blue and white stones.


I have to walk with my head down because not trust myself to
easily maneuver the consistent bumpiness.






The oldest buildings are all constructed with these rocks.


I know from personal experience making walls with rocks like this takes some great skill.





Homes and businesses are built follow along the natural shape of the earth.





Carrying backpacks up and down these hills was a feat of magic for me.







This is the main street that takes you through the village.

A local couple looks at the wares of a street artist.







One of many beautiful doors I saw. I plan to make a post on just doors and windows.


Here you can see where the locals are switching to cinder blocks instead of the beautiful stones.





This was taken from the door of the hostel we stayed at for a couple nights after our
Night of the Flood.

The mountains are covered with cactus and other various desert plants.







I love this photo. there is so much to see here.


It was taken while sitting at the edge of the Central park.





What can I say?


This is just a great photo!





This is the oldest church in the village.


It's the

Temple of Immaculate Conception,


constructed in 1793 in the NeoClassic style.





The floors are made of coffins of dead Friars.


The smell of the church nauseated me.





The ceiling and other ornamentation is really beautiful.







The guy who makes this stuff ran away when I started taking photos.

He was concerned about the law.


The jars have no label so travelers can avoid problems by pretending it's something else.

Why does the government want to keep the medicine from the people?







Here it is people, the GOOD StUfF!!


Is this why it's a magical city?





Here's another booth selling


magical,

natural potions.







This magical medicine is great for a variety of ailments.


Cute label!





On our fourth night camping the storm hit.


I was cozy and happy alone in my tent listening to the musical downpour when the panicked voices from outside destroyed my peace.


Within moments my tent was filled with

wet sleeping bags, backpacks, blankets and two young Mexican men.




Not much longer after that my tent floor began to fill with water.

Quickly, we had to make a decision.


At the count of three we all dashed out,

grabbed a corner of the tent and carried it as fast as we could through the pouring rain
to a higher ground level.


Once we all jumped our soaking wet bodies back into my waterproof, tiny tent

we waited for what seemed like a couple hours for the rain to lift.


Not long after the rain stopped we realized we cannot sit here in the cold rain.

We will get sick.


The boys found a hostel while I felt that once they were out of my tent I would fine.

Lying there with
wet hair, wet clothes, wet blankets and cold, cold wind blowing
I realized I needed to bail out also.


Just up the street I found a hotel gate open so went in and made a miserable night sleeping in a chair.

A week later I am still recovering from the exhaustion.







The next morning I began at 6:30 AM cleaning out the tents,


taking everything apart,

hanging everything in the sun and drying out our soaked possessions.


We spent the next two nights in the hostel.

Ezequiel is sitting on the steps to the hostel here.







Time to load up and head out again.

On our way to Xilitla







Trucking through the village market. On our way to the Ogarrio Tunnel.





Ogarrio Tunnel


Here we go again, back through the tunnel.

On our way to Xilitla.









The next blogs are going to be about our food and another about architectural details.


Then, hitchhiking to Xilitla.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79