PART 3 My Packing List: What I'm Carrying With Me On MY Epic Journey Through Latin America

in #travel7 years ago

When I first began to plan what I would bring on this journey it didn't seem like much stuff but when I packed it all together and loaded it up on my back I was forced to see the reality of it all.




But, I'm stubborn.
I'm carrying it all, for now.
As I make my way south I have no doubt I will shed much of this stuff.




One of my justifications for carrying so much stuff is Survival.
My budget is grossly limited.
The intention is to put into practice what I learned on my most previous travels, to live like a street artist as well as utilize my vast skills.


As an anthropologist I love to get right in there with the people.



Before I get started, here are the links to catch you up with my story. You'll want to know who Fabio is and where the hell I'm going.
Buying Back My Kuna
Should I Marry the Kuna?
At Breakfast With Qiqi and Noki
Part 1 My Packing List

Part 2 My Packing List

When Fabio took me to his island he introduced me to some indigenous street artists. After watching these guys make jewelry for a couple days I finally decided to be vulnerable and speak up,


"Yo quiero hacer, tambien, por favor". "I, too, want to make, please."


Much to my surprise the guys were extremely happy that I wanted to learn. These kinds of crafts I just have a knack for so I knew I would be good at it.







The guys had a lot of great laughs at my crappy first results, grabbing my work from me and tearing it out, saying, "no, no, no. es feo". They thought my pretend crying was funny.



About a month later I spent three weeks in Panama City living in Casco Viejo with the street artists.


There, I spent many hours working with talented artists from all over the world, perfecting my skill. Now, I am returning to the land of the Latins with my own supplies and stock of hand-crafted goods to sell.

Over the next few weeks I will be posting more details about the street artists and the art. I'm very excited to tell you more about this but for now, I want to focus on what I have in my backpack.


Most of my supplies listed below were either gifts, things I found, stuff I bought in Arizona at the Gem and Mineral Show, purchased second hand or new through eBay.com.

Jewelry Making Supplies:



  1. Plastic waxed cords/threads (these are recycled plastic materials that I have only seen available in Latin America. After much searching in the USA I am convinced these cords are just not available in the United States.)
  2. Bag that holds a rolled up, jewelry, door hanger bag. (Is visible in the next photo)
  3. The two rolls in the first photo are rolled up inside this cloth. The cloth protects my jewelry as well as doubles for a ground or table cover.
  4. Canvas bag with findings, extra scrap cords, and tools. It also holds my good fabric scissors, intended for my other skill as a seamstress and pattern maker.


This photo consists of more details than the above along with more detailed descriptions.

  1. Small canvas bag with tools for wire wrapping stones and wire cutting.
  2. Baggies of findings, miscellaneous stones and pendants. The center of this bag holds my scissors, extra cords and scraps. The side pocket holds wires for wrapping and crochet hooks.
  3. Door hanger jewelry holder. I love the clear plastic windows and that they all zip closed. I can easily see what I have and the back has velcro loops for displaying my wares for when I am in sales lady mode.
  4. These are two PVC pipes wrapped in the sleeves of an old shirt. Inside the pipes I have tucked my back stock of creations. These are wrapped in the green cloth in the previous photo.
  5. Again, my cords. When I packed my backpack I eliminated the basket and sorted the colors into four 1/2 gallon size baggies. These were way easier to fit into the backpack than the basket.


    So, there you have it. Part 3 is complete.


    Next I will detail all that I am carrying for my sleeping comfort. I've got some great supplies I am excited to show you.




Sort:  

Wow, pretty elaborate cargo to haul with you...

Actually, other than my phone and laptop, this stuff is likely the most important stuff I have. Soon, I'll be doing a post on the actual jewelry and street artist highway. that flows through Latin. I'm grateful you took the time to comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99