My Packing List: What I Am Carrying On My Epic Journey Through Latin America PART 1

in #travel7 years ago

Friday afternoon (April 27) I will catch a bus going south from Dallas, Texas, USA with a large 70L backpack, a smaller anti-theft bag and my djembe drum.




After researching many packing lists offered by various experienced travelers I made many calculated decisions on what to carry with me. There are several bags and groups of things that I will present in detail along with explanations of why I am carrying some of these things.



Each section or bag and its contents will be photoed and blogged separately. The last blog will contain a full list of the complete links to the entire packing list.

Before I get started with the packing list I feel compelled to confess this one thing. While researching the packing list of world travelers one thing they all mentioned was to not bring much stuff. Of course, I am breaking this rule. But, but, I have some really good justifications...

  • Due to a variety of reasons, over the last few years, the Gods have found it necessary to strip me of everything I own. Recently, I found myself with only some of my jewelry making supplies and some scant work clothes. As a result, what I am carrying with me is literally all I own.
  • Most of the time I will only be moving my things from one transportation situation to another then to a place I may remain for one to three months.
  • Because I am a Freedom Traveler, about half the things I am carrying are tools of my trades. My intention is to survive from volunteering my vast talents as a chef, tarot card reader, teaching English, selling my handmade jewelry, sewing and designing clothing or household goods to just name a few.
  • During my past travels I discovered I can store my stuff at some of the hostels. Many hostels provide a locked, secure place for dropping off excess possessions, free of charge.



    This is the entire contents of my Eagle Creek tioletry bag.






  1. Raw Coconut oil (I use this for teeth cleaning, moisturizing as well as for cooking and overall good health)
  2. Dental floss and miscellaneous teeth cleaners
  3. Ear plugs (recommended by all travelers for sleeping in noisy hostel dorm rooms)
  4. Prescription and Reading glasses
  5. Hard eyeglasses case (#3 and 4 fit inside the case)
  6. Tom's deodorant
  7. Shampoo
  8. Liquid soap
  9. Daily supplements Coloidal Gold, Colodial Silver, Iodine
  10. Contact lense cleaning supplies
  11. Bandana (used as a washcloth or for any other small towel needs)
  12. Hair accessories
  13. Small things Zippered bag
  14. Small personal items
    a. nail clipper
    b. spare pierced nose jewelry
    c. cotton swabs held together by a ponytail elastic
    d. bobby pins
    e. cedar wood for incense
  15. First Aid kit Doterra essential oils



    I love this Eagle Creek bag! It's built to hold a lot.

    The hanger at the top is one of my favorite things about it although this photo cuts off that part. It's great to hang it on the shower curtain rod, making everything easily accessible when I'm showering while simultaneously keeping it up, out of the water.



    All zipped up and ready to go. This bag fits nicely in the convertible fanny pack that clips to the top of my Osprey backpack.





    My next blog will detail what I am carrying in my Anti-theft bag,
    my smaller carry-on backpack.


Sort:  

I love with this post! Minimalist packing is a huge interest of mine, and I'm super interested in how you are loading up. :) Upped and resteemed!

Packing lists were important to me when I started the big plan. I didn't exclusively use any of them but used them to help me think through what I feel is important to me to bring as well as how I would like a packing list arranged. I'm to write the next one. Super grateful for the support!

Ahhh yes, finally the list!! Having already traveled extensively, your awareness of what truly works for you and what is fluff, your insight will be beneficial to many. It will be interesting to see what you end up with in a few of months, and how your perspective on what is important to carry shifts or is validated. Great post. Excited to see what happens next!

I am so truly grateful for your support. It will be interesting to see how managing all my things will pan out in the long run. I'll be sure to post update blogs now and then. While photographing all my things I actually eliminated a nice pile of stuff.

I hope you'll also share other things you eliminated or picked up on the way that you find benefit your journey. I imagine constant re-evaluation is helpful as your needs/desires become known. Great idea for a blog @loveon!

Yes, yes, absolutely! I'm feeling the readers will want to know how I reevaluate as I go. So, I still have everything that is in the photos. Some things moved to another bag but I mention it as I go. I just posted Part 4 so don't get behind.

AAAAAAHHH!!! I am so happy for you and wish you the best in your travels, it will most assuradly change your life forever.. I am so close to following your footsteps and hope to be traveling south america in late in late June.. I will pray for you along the journey and know you will find it is what you are looking for. :D #namaste

I started Following you. The plan is to cross through Mexico to get to Guatemala where I'll stay for two or three months. But...who knows. Maybe we shall cross paths. Loving the feedback!

I am so grateful of your kind words and I would love nothing more than to cross paths with an angelic like being like yourself, :D! So you are just going rogue status huh, that is so brave and have been timid to do that yet due to financial issues in the realm of "fiat". More and more sites, stores, people, and corporations are starting to get used to the idea of willingly accepting crypto. So for the past 5 years or so I have been reserving altcoins for this exact case.... Traveling with keys to the universe. Peru is where I am most excited to visit!!!

Ahhh...Machu Pichu! I am definitely envisioning myself visiting there. Don't feel bad. I have been planning this trip for over ten years. When I first decided I was going to do this I was over 250lbs., married and with three small children. I've jumped through some huge obstacles to get here.

I'm super grateful for your interaction and support.

Light shines brighter than any dark days, live fast and never die! Much Love and my prayers are with you!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 27 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Most grateful for the consideration and recognition.

@screenname is always on point !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69