PART 5 My Packing List: What I am Bringing On My Epic Journey Through Latin America

in #travel7 years ago

Yesterday, nine days after departing from my beautiful home, the Garden of Eden @gardenofeden I crossed the border into Mexico.




It feels like I took the big jump and the real journey has begun.


So many amazing situations have lined up and so many amazing new people have appeared in my life to support me.



I look forward to making a separate post to catch you up with my journey so far.




Today I am showing you my big 70L backpack and what is in it.




Before I get started here is the list of what I have written so far.

Buying Back My Kuna First place winner in Travel Story Contest.
A MUST READ!

Should I Marry the Kuna?

At Breakfast With Qiqi and Noki

Part 1 My Packing List Toiletries Bag

Part 2 My Packing List Small Easy Carry Backpack

Part 3 My Packing LIst Jewelry Making Supplies

Part 4 My Packing List Sleeping Supplies, Culinary and Tarot tools



UPDATE: I am now in Monterrey, Mexico. I have so much to tell you about my journey thus far but that is my next post. I now have a good stable internet connection, or at least, what appears to be. I have many great posts coming up.


Without further ADO, let's finish our packing!!




This is my main backpack, now officially known as mi mochila grande...followed by a nervous laugh. This a great backpack. There's a couple zippers I wish it had on the convertible fanny pack but otherwise it's worth every penny. As you follow my story I'll let you know if it has failures. It's a Woman's Osprey 70L, well respected brand. Mine is an older version than the one in the click.

Everytime you click it supports what I'm doing, paying me a little sumthin'.
So, please, click away.






  1. 3-Season 2,4 Person Waterproof Tent for Camping Backpacking ,Double Layers with 2 Doors and Rainfly
  2. my pillow rolled up tightly into a discarded recycled tent bag.
  3. Eagle Creek Pack-It Specter Compression Cube Set - 2pc Set These were a bit of an investment but I read so many great reviews on them I took the jump and spent the money. Already I am so glad I bought these. I bought two sets and they worth every penny.
  4. Gaiam Print Yoga Mats inside my Gaiam Top-Loading Yoga Mat Bag
  5. jewelry display: PVC pipes covered in fabric, displaying my hand-crafted jewelry wrapped in a cloth for protection that doubles as a ground or table cloth.
  6. My favorite deck of tarot cards, [Spiral Tarot Deck](Spiral Tarot Deck) and Numerology oracle deck
  7. jewelry making supplies in shoulder bag SuperB2C Double Sided 38 Pockets Hanging Jewelry Organizer and jewelry display
  8. Jewelry making supplies in a heavy duty canvas bag I bought the last one the dealer had from eBay. This bag holds tools, wires and findings.
  9. backstock of contact lenses and cleaning supplies
  10. Anker SoundCore Bluetooth Speaker and co2CREA Storage Travel Organizer Carrying Case I've traveled with speakers before and I am always glad i did as my music is important to me.
  11. spare pair of reading glasses
  12. My favorite "go-to" woman's' Knife. A gift from Quinn Eaker @quinneaker I'll cherish it all across Latin America
  13. 10000mah Solar Charger Portable Dual USB Waterproof Solar Power Bank Worth every penny. This thing charges my laptop and my phone twice.
  14. extra Energizer MAX AAA Batteries for my flashlights
  15. TREKSILK 100% MULBERRY SILK SINGLE LINER Sleeping Bag Inner Sheet For comfortable sleeping this is about all you need in Latin America.
  16. Emergency supplies kit. A gift from a friend who collects survival kits.
  17. Misc. stuff: stainless steel tea ball, a combination lock, extra contact lense cleaning basket and a carabiner
  18. My toiletries bag (see Part 1)
  19. Travel Towel
  20. RenGard Portable Camping Hammock
  21. Nylon Waterproof Lightweight Portable Backpacks for Traveling I actually am carrying three of these types of bags, each a little different. Rain in the tropics is something to be prepared for. I've had computers stop working just from the humidity while traveling in the tropics in the past. One, right now, is carrying extra food that I received for free. Another is holding my extra shoes and dirty clothes. The other is just an extra.
  22. Zulu Atlas Glass Water Bottle with Flip Lid, Periwinkle, 20 Oz. I love, love this water bottle. I hand crocheted the the sling bag. I can make you one. It's really beautiful and I love how it only takes one finger to pop it open.
  23. bamboo socks These were a gift from Sara Miller @saramiller I'm gonna walk across Latin America in these.
  24. My jewelry making cords - I bought all these the last time I was in Panama. I've looked, you can't buy this stuff in the US.
  25. Advanced Spanish Step-by-Step: Master Accelerated Grammar to Take Your Spanish to the Next Level I am always working on improving my Spanish.
  26. Waterproof backpack holding my extra shoes and dirty clothes (same as #21)


    All loaded up and ready to go!



    The removable fanny pack at the top holds my toiletries bag and towel. The bottom compartment holds all my clothes and the canvas jewelry supply bag. Pretty much everything else is in the body of the pack.



    The looks I get in public when I am hoisting this thing on my back is pretty funny.
    I DO get this thing on and can carry it with all my other stuff.





    My next blog is going to pick up telling my story since I left the Garden of Eden. I have a ton of stuff to tell you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30