The Power Of Sound - Post #23

in #thepowerofsound4 years ago (edited)

Here, I share with you the music I've come across that has a certain quality to it, rare and elusive. The kind of music that moves you so deeply in a way that you can't understand or describe. The lyrics or music or video may make no sense to your brain, but it does to your soul. It's beautifully cathartic and inspiring.

Previous posts:
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22

Artist: Led Zeppelin

Song: Going To California

I'm back! I've been distracted with some changes in my life and have neglected this blog. Time to pick up right where we left off.

This is a well-known song, and I try to keep this series focused on lesser-known music, artists that deserve more followers than they have. I write these so you readers might expand your music taste and hear how much incredible music is out there, waiting for us to look beyond what the mainstream music industry wants to feed us.

Popularity is not a measure of quality.

Some popular music is very good, yes, but we severely limit ourselves if that's all we listen to and never look for anything more.

I want the world to know how much they're missing out on. Thanks to the internet, I have discovered all kinds of incredible artists with rather small fanbases.

Sharing music that has moved me deeply is why I write The Power Of Sound.

The music I select for these posts is based on quality, not on popularity alone, so naturally many of these posts lean toward underground music because what is popular makes up a very small percentage of all the music that is out there.

Once in a while, amazing music does get the recognition it deserves!

This song is a perfect example of what The Power Of Sound is all about. So even though you've probably all heard this before, I want to share it with you again. Maybe you, like me, had forgotten all about it and can experience the joy of rediscovering an old gem just as I did a few weeks ago when this song title popped into my head out of nowhere and prompted me to look it up.

Few experiences compare to one day rediscovering a song you've forgotten about and haven't heard for years, and finding the music absolutely beautiful, with the lyrics providing deep insight into your life at that time.

This is why, through every passing interest and hobby and up and down I've ever had, I've always come back to music. I want to inspire and help people the same way others before me have inspired and helped me. This is what makes life worth living.


Spent my days with a woman unkind
Smoked my stuff and drank all my wine

Made up my mind to make a new start
Going To California with an aching in my heart

Someone told me there's a girl out there
With love in her eyes and flowers in her hair

Took my chances on a big jet plane
Never let them tell you that they're all the same

The sea was red and the sky was grey
Wondered how tomorrow could ever follow today

The mountains and the canyons started to tremble and shake
As the children of the sun began to awake
Watch out

Seems that the wrath of the Gods
Got a punch on the nose and it started to flow
I think I might be sinking

Throw me a line if I reach it in time
I'll meet you up there where the path
Runs straight and high

To find a queen without a king
They say she plays guitar and cries and sings
La la la la

Side a white mare in the footsteps of dawn
Tryin' to find a woman who's never, never, never been born

Standing on a hill in my mountain of dreams
Telling myself it's not as hard, hard, hard as it seems


Thank you so much for reading! If you like what you see and hear, please consider upvoting and resteeming; it helps a lot! Thank you for your support on my previous posts! It really means a lot to know that you all appreciate my writing.

Stay tuned for more exceptional music in a week or two!

Post #24


https://linktr.ee/jake_duncan_art

Sort:  

Absolutely agree that popular music is not (always) equal to quality. Actually, I think much of the real quality music never gets popular. The mass wants to hear relatively simple music. This can be quality music, sure. More complicated music is generally niche, and is what I usually like; Music that mostly doesn't get liked by the mass hence it does not get popular. But then again: What is quality? :) Taste is what it's about and fortunately my taste is generally not the taste of the mass :)

Well said! Yeah it's also important to remember how subjective everything is. Music and humor are two very good examples. We're all different inside and some things click for some people and not for other people. I have my own tastes and I do not let the masses define them for me. Regardless of popularity I only like something if I like it, and could never understand following bandwagons.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87