The Power of Sound: Post #2

in #thepowerofsound5 years ago (edited)

Post #1

I want to share the music I've come across that has a certain quality to it, which is rare and hard to find. The kind of music that moves you so deeply in a way that you can't understand or describe. The lyrics or music or video may make no sense to your brain, but it does to your soul. It's extremely cathartic and inspiring.

Artist: Munly & The Lupercalians

Song: Cat

On last week's post I said I would post a connected band. I'm not sure of either band's lineup, but I know they both share at least one member, which is Munly. (He also has a band called "Munly and the Lee Lewis Harlots" which I haven't listened to yet, and "Slim Cessna's Auto Club".)

I saw both Slim Cessna's Auto Club and Munly & The Lupercalians live recently, which is what turned me on to their music in the first place. I got to meet Munly at the merch tent and tell him how much their performance blew my mind. Visually they give off an air of mystery with the other band members in black cloaks with headdresses on, and Munly sitting front and center with a banjo and singing very passionately. You can see pictures of one of their shows here, and I'd add them into this post, but judging by the "buy these photos" button on that page, I don't think I have the right to use any of them.

Slim Cessna's Auto Club gave off an equally energetic, animated, and captivating performance. The frontman of that band goes by "Slim Cessna" with Munly as his sidekick. They play very well together and did some cool synchronized dancing. I haven't yet listened to SCAC to refresh, but I remember it was distinctly more country, without blending in with your everyday country music; they have a distinctly unique and creative take on the genre.

Since I'm sort of promoting the same people with this second post in the series, I'll go ahead and post a third one, moving along to more music with uniquely profound, and profoundly unique, styles.

Post #3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67