The Power Of Sound - Post #16

in #thepowerofsound4 years ago (edited)

I want to share the music I've come across that has a certain quality to it, rare and elusive. The kind of music that moves you so deeply in a way that you can't understand or describe. The lyrics or music or video may make no sense to your brain, but it does to your soul. It's extremely cathartic and inspiring.

Post #1 | Post #2 | Post #3 | Post #4 | Post #5 | Post #6 | Post #7 | Post #8 | Post #9 | Post #10 | Post #11 | Post #12 | Post #13 | Post #14 | Post #15

Artist: SUNFLOWER

Song: I don't remember

https://sunflowermusic.bandcamp.com/track/i-dont-remember

I typically post a YouTube link so it's convenient to play it right here and listen as you read, but this one isn't available on YouTube. Anyway:

I found this song through a Twitter/Bandcamp project I recently started, called #EarForAnEar. It's a way to connect musicians together, support each other, and build relationships, a quality-over-quantity approach to music promotion. I want to keep this brief and move on to the song, so if you want to know more, the link is right there.

I listened to SUNFLOWER's album PLAIN SIGHT, loved every song of it, and wasn't sure if I could pick a favorite to highlight in my Bandcamp review until a few hours later, when this one song in particular stuck with me. A great song isn't just good composition, good instrument sounds, good recording, or good performance. Those are all important, but there is no one perfect recipe. There is a subtlety to sound and music, and it's hard to achieve perfection, but sometimes you happen to get close and strike gold.

I don't remember is a perfect example of why I started writing The Power Of Sound. It starts off with an eerie, mysterious horn melody that penetrates your entire being, evoking some abstract emotion(s) that you can't quite put your finger on. The horns are supported by subtle strings plucking in the background, adding just as much to the strange atmosphere as the horns do. On top of this, distant voices add another layer of mystery, and then suddenly, a bouncier beat with a man singing take over for a little bit, but still keeping that strange, surreal vibe that just... stirs something deep inside you, something that you don't remember, but it's still there, waiting.

Some may look down on sample-based music, but I don't criticize anyone for using samples, because for me, music isn't solely about your ability to compose from scratch, it's about the love of art. Does someone's music inspire you? Great! Feel free to create something out of it. If that makes you happy, then it's worth it. That's what art is all about. If other people like it, even better! I don't know where the samples used in this song came from. All I know is that this song is amazing in its own way, and that's what matters. I don't care how it was made. I just enjoy the music.

In my own music, I draw a lot of inspiration from VST presets, from instrument samples, and drum samples. I stay away from sampling entire loops, and instead make my own beats and melodies. I feel better knowing that everything I create is my own composition, without leaning on anyone else's writing, and without worrying about copyright issues. That's just where I personally draw the line for myself, though, and I have nothing against anyone who likes to rework other music into something new. Like a patchwork quilt, it's beautiful in its own way, and it's an equally valid art form in my eyes.


Thank you for reading this far! If you like what you hear and read here, please consider upvoting and resteeming; it really helps! And, thank you for your support on my previous posts! Stay tuned for more exceptional music in a week or two!

Post #17


https://www.jakeduncanart.com

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84