The Power Of Sound - Post #24

in #thepowerofsound4 years ago (edited)

Here, I share with you the music I've come across that has a certain quality to it, rare and elusive. The kind of music that moves you so deeply in a way that you can't understand or describe. The lyrics or music or video may make no sense to your brain, but it does to your soul. It's beautifully cathartic and inspiring.

Previous posts:
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23

Artist: Nine Inch Nails

Song: Right Where It Belongs

From time to time, everything we think we know breaks down.

It can feel empty, uncomfortable, even outright terrifying. The shadow self must be faced; there is no hiding. I take comfort in remembering that it is temporary and it is an opportunity to re-assess where I am, where I'm going, and allow new, better perspectives to be built in the place of old ones. I always come back to the same me, except I'm slightly better than before.

Every time this dissolution of self happens, I rediscover why I'm here. Music is a very important part of the rebuilding process, pulling me out of the void and back into reality with new eyes and a fresh mind. I feel so deeply inspired by the power of music to guide us through difficult times that I am reminded of why I wish to dedicate my life to music and be that light for others.

Right Where It Belongs is a perfect example of the feelings and the experience I just attempted to describe. I won't say any more; there is nothing left to say that the lyrics haven't already perfectly communicated. Read for yourself:


See the animal in his cage that you built
Are you sure what side you're on?
Better not look him too closely in the eye
Are you sure what side of the glass you are on?
See the safety of the life you have built
Everything where it belongs
Feel the hollowness inside of your heart
And it's all
Right where it belongs

[Chorus:]
What if everything around you
Isn't quite as it seems?
What if all the world you think you know
Is an elaborate dream?
And if you look at your reflection
Is it all you want it to be?
What if you could look right through the cracks?
Would you find yourself
Find yourself afraid to see?

What if all the world's inside of your head
Just creations of your own?
Your devils and your gods
All the living and the dead
And you're really all alone?
You can live in this illusion
You can choose to believe
You keep looking but you can't find the woods
While you're hiding in the trees

[Chorus]


And now, the light at the end of the tunnel. I present to you two bonus songs:

Artist: Steely Dan

Song: Any Major Dude Will Tell You

Artist: Dire Straits

Song: Why Worry

Darkness never lasts forever. Do some soul-searching, let yourself be guided to the music you need to hear, and keep walking until you meet the sunrise again.


Thank you so much for reading! If you like what you see and hear, please consider upvoting and resteeming; it helps a lot! Thank you for your support on my previous posts! It really means a lot to know that you all appreciate my writing.

Stay tuned for more exceptional music in a week or two!

Post #25


https://linktr.ee/jake_duncan_art

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74