The Power Of Sound - Post #14

in #thepowerofsound4 years ago (edited)

I want to share the music I've come across that has a certain quality to it, rare and elusive. The kind of music that moves you so deeply in a way that you can't understand or describe. The lyrics or music or video may make no sense to your brain, but it does to your soul. It's extremely cathartic and inspiring.

Post #1 | Post #2 | Post #3 | Post #4 | Post #5 | Post #6 | Post #7 | Post #8 | Post #9 | Post #10 | Post #11 | Post #12 | Post #13

Artist: Distant Dream

Album: Your Own Story

(A few days late with this post, sorry!)

I'm sharing a whole album again, instead of a song, because I can't just pick one song by Distant Dream. None of them stand out to me. This isn't because they all sound the same; they're all the same style, yes but the reason I say no song stands out is because I enjoy them all, and because I don't listen to post-rock often enough to become familiar with it. It often takes several listens of an album and some close attention to know each individual song by name, but sometimes, one listen is all you need. This is one style of music with a lot of music out there, and I don't see it as beating a dead horse. I think it's beautiful how much this music inspires people, and that with today's double-edged sword of technology, many more are able to create and publish music compared to just a few decades ago.

Distant Dream is a great example of the emotional power of post-rock. It might seem a little uncomfortable, which is completely understandable given how Western culture generally considers displays of deep emotion to be taboo, however, I've learned not to let that discomfort turn me off to beauty, and not to dismiss honest, pure expression as "sappy", whether that's in someone else or even in myself. I try to never underestimate what a person is feeling even if I don't understand it, and remember that when a person decides to talk about something, it's because they trust you enough to open up, they trust you to listen without judgment. Emotions aren't to be ignored, or suppressed, or battled, or escaped. The nature of emotions is to flow. Your Own Story by Distant Dream encompasses a wide range of emotions, so that no matter what you're feeling, and especially when you don't even know what you're feeling, the music can take the edge off and transmute your feelings into something a little bit better.

I imagine people often see me as indifferent, bored, depressed, tired, or apathetic because I find it difficult to express emotion (admittedly, that's in part due to a bit of depression). It's often difficult to even understand emotion and give it a name. I think it's something best communicated through sound. Listening to music can be a very cathartic experience, and writing music is too.

I don't speak much because I have little interest in small talk, and people have little interest in what I like to talk about. Just imagine detailing the latest developments you've made in your meditations and near-obsessive psychoanalysis to your extended family over Christmas dinner! I'm sorry, I think work and the weather are really boring. So, I use music, writing, poetry, drawing, animating, and painting as an outlet for everything I think and feel. And even then, most people aren't very interested in art for anything outside of background noise and entertainment.

If you're thinking about making music, just know that most people won't give a single shit, but that's no reason to not try! It will be worth it for you no matter what, even if you're the only one who knows how far you've come. And it's still not impossible to get a following of fans and earn money through music; my point is, that's not the point of making music. That's an added bonus.


Thank you for reading! If you liked today's music and my writing, please consider upvoting and resteeming; it really helps! And, thank you for your support on my previous posts! Stay tuned for more beautiful music in a week or two!

Post #15


https://www.jakeduncanart.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79