Day Four ~ Seven Day B&W Challenge ~ Original Photography ~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #stinkythewondercat6 years ago (edited)

P1430464 261kb lighter.jpg

Stinky


......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

I was given this challenge by @jlufer

Thank you very much, great Steemit friend @ jlufer for this nomination.

The Challenge

7 black & white images that represent an aspect of your life
Present one image every day for seven days
No people
No explanation
Nominate someone every day. Although anyone can join in
Use the tag: #sevendaybnwchallenge as one of your five tags

My Nomination Today: @old-guy-photos



Thanks for stopping in and viewing Day 4 of the Seven Day B&W Challenge. If you have any thoughts about what monochromial things you see here today, or anything this post reminds you of, feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 11/11/2017

Sort:  

Really cute! Yes, I absolutely agree with you, "Stinky is very wonderful cat"! ;)

Thank you, she is a rather unique cat, that's for sure. But much fun. Hope you have a most wondrous day and it is sunny there.

You're welcome! She is really lucky and would certainly be happy staying with you who has a good humor and a lot of fun! ;D

Have a pleasant day, too! ;)

We do laugh a lot. Now if only I could teach her to use a keyboard. I could just sit back and let her write for me on Steemit. I suppose no opposable thumbs is a problem.

Yeah! I can imagine! It's really nice for you laughing a lot with her all day long!

Oh! That's very great idea! Ha ha.... It would be so much fun reading a lot of stories from her on Steemit! ;D

p.s. : Sorry, I have little power at the moment. (only .10) I'll travel to Phatthalung today to participate in my eldest brother's funeral. (he had cancer in his lungs!) I will be back on Friday and will upvote your new posts until then.

We do laugh a lot. And I can relate to the .10, my bucket is rather empty too. But like you, I like to vote at 100%, especially my good friends, but it sure drains my guppy pool.

I am so very very sorry to hear about your brother. That makes me very sad. My thoughts are with you and your family, and though I realize words always fall short in these times, know I am thinking of you often and wish you all the best as you deal with this in your life. I'm usually always around in chat to talk. Take care, dd

Yes, I like to vote at 100% for my good friends, too! My power reduces very quickly at present!

I'm much grateful for your kind thoughts with me and my family during this sad moment. I cried a lot, especially on the first two days since I heard about his dead. This is a big lost of my life after my father's dead.

I'm glad to know that you think of me often and always around in chat to talk.

Thanks so much once again for your kindness! Have a wonderful night, my dear friend! ;)

You are so very welcome. I know how hard it is, I've lost many family members too. We try to go on as best we can, and still enjoy life as much as possible. It gets better, but always hurts.
Friends and family do help a lot in these times, and can help by talking about it with them/us. Like I said, I'm usually around on chat.
(My vote is down to 3 cents. Not making any big waves, but that's the way it goes. I'll stick to my 100%.) Have a most wondrous night. dd

I don't want to interrupt this comment stream. I'm learning so much about "this particular kind of animal" and Stinky. I'm not about to say "KATT" and get that robot started here!

No no, please interrupt ( :
What fun this is. And what an energetic and tenacious cat commenter they are.

I'm not sure which I enjoyed more, the beautiful photo of Stinky the Cat, or learning all about her in the comments section. There was some really funny stuff in there, and I wanted to jump in, but I was afraid of getting Cat Facts going again.

Stinky sounds like a very cool and unique cat.

I'm kind of enjoying my chats with the online cat people. Think it shall continue ( : Though I probably shouldn't let Stinky the Cat know I'm putting this much information about her out on the worldwide blockchain.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed her portrait as well, she is a rather unusual feline. Much fun. (She keeps running back and forth in the hall behind me...'drump drump drump', one way, then 'drump drump drump' the other. Over and over. Maybe she thinks she's Lassie, I better go see if the stove is on fire. Have a most nice night.

Those eyes tho.
Great shot, my friend.

Thanks, it's all in the Stink...

There are approximately 60,000 hairs per square inch on the back of a cat and about 120,000 per square inch on its underside.

Stinky the Cat has 180,000 hairs/in² in the all-round. Just look at my black biking pants.

Female felines are \superfecund

When Stinky the Cat first moved in, she was very skinny. Then she got much fatter. But not because she was pregnant. She just loves to eat late at night.

A cat's whiskers are thought to be a kind of radar, which helps a cat gauge the space it intends to walk through.

Stinky the Cat seldom walks anywhere. She usually is at a dead run. Even through the house. That's why we call her 'Busy'. She corners rather comically at high speed. It reminds me of the fat ballerina elephant in Fantasia.

I cannot speak as to her whiskers. She moves so fast, they are usually at a blur.

The strongest climber among the big cats, a leopard can carry prey twice its weight up a tree.

I'm pretty sure Stinky the Cat is stronger than a leopard. She pulls herself up like a chinnup champion all the time. When she pulled the screen from the window, she first had to jump up, grab the special grate we put up to keep her out of the window, did a full-on fat-cat pullup, then climbed over, and pulled out the screen. I'd like to see a leopard do THAT.

Tigers are excellent swimmers and do not avoid water.

We've never taken Stinky the Cat to the pool. But I did take her to the veterinarian. They didn't say anything about NOT swimming.

I think next summer I will take her to the lake (no chlorine), and see if she is like a Tiger. I'm guessing since she is an Egyptian Fell Dog, she will do the doggy paddle. As a parent, these things can cause us stress in social situations. Peer pressure and all.

However...Stinky the Cat has too much self confidence and self esteem to worry about such things. So now I am not worried any longer.

According to a Gallup poll, most American pet owners obtain their cats by adopting strays.

The Gallops don't really know much about diddly.
People do not adopt cats. Cats adopt people.
The idea that there is choice on this side of the matter is laughable.

Case in point. When Stinky the Cat first hit our area of the county, she ran full speed into the neighbors house one day when the sliding back door was open. She was a really skinny, odd looking cat with tufts of fur sticking out everywhere but where they should be, that couldn't meow and bothered their child to no end. They invited her to leave.

She then ran into the neighbor to the right's office door as fast as possible. As if to say, "I'll think live here". She was not any better looking by then. Their chihuahua's were not amused by her antics. For some reason they did not like a kamikaze cat that ran at them like a banshee at the water bowl. They invited her to leave as well. (The neighbors...the dogs were under the bed).

Next she ran into our house like her tail was afire. We had no thought about her, really. But like writing on Steemit, persistence sometimes pays off. She would not take no for an answer. Eight years later, she is sitting here, looking at me as I write this. "Wondering what I am writing"? "Why, a grand tome all about your wonderful greatness, Stinky", I respond. But she is gone before I get to "your". Some commotion is going on in the kitchen. Not much has changed, except she is a whole lot fatter and better looking now.

A domestic cat can run at speeds of 30 mph.

I'm pretty sure Stinky the Cat can run about 63mph. At least it seems like it when I am sitting on the couch and she runs by in a blur over and over again.

Cats have individual preferences for scratching surfaces and angles. Some are horizontal scratchers while others exercise their claws vertically.

If you had to really tie her down and discover Stinky the Cat's preference, it would be " the right-side arm of the couch", and "every now and then, or more often." I'm pretty sure angle of scratch is pretty much kitty free-form though. "Just as long as the stuffin's come out with efficiency, I'm happy". -Stinky the Cat

An adult lion's roar can be heard up to five miles (eight kilometers) away.

I'm pretty sure Stinky the Cat's litter box could be smelled farther away than that. But she has to do what she can, as she can't meow, let alone roar...

Purring does not always indicate that a cat is happy. Cats will also purr loudly when they are distressed or in pain.

What about a cat that purrs and snorts and grunts at the same time like a rutting brush pig? Is THAT a sign of anything important??

Cats spend nearly 1/3 of their waking hours cleaning themselves.

I'm not sure Stinky the Cat HAS 1/3 waking hours. And if so, she is so busy running about, cleaning seems to take a back seat to all other shenanigans.

Two members of the cat family are distinct from all others: the clouded leopard and the cheetah. The clouded leopard does not roar like other big cats, nor does it groom or rest like small cats. The cheetah is unique because it is a running cat; all others are leaping cats. They are leaping cats because they slowly stalk their prey and then leap on it.

Stinky the Cat is more of a "shinny-climb the porch post-pole to the roof, then run away really fast when you poke holes in Dad's tarp building roof by the garage when you jump off the house-roof to the expensive tarpola part", cat.

A cat named Dusty, aged 1 7, living in Bonham, Texas, USA, gave birth to her 420th kitten on June 23, 1952.

Stinky the Cat just looked at me as if to say..."Dusty must have had a bit of a wobble, after all that ". Not sure what that means....

Cats dislike citrus scent.

For some reason, when I first read that, it came out as "cat's dislike circus tents." Besides needing some heavy analysis on why THAT popped into my head first, the other part WOULD be related to cats.

For example: How many cats in history have run off to join the circus in the past? How many big-tent cattivities (cat activities...think major acts in the big ring) have been put forth in the old days of Barnum and Baily and the like? Cat on a tiny bike? Cat shot out of the giant cannon into the net? Cat Clown sidekick? Maybe putting your pet mouse's head into the small cats mouth? Guess the weight of the chubby cat? I think some historical research is in order here.

Stinky the Cat just reminded me here that no cat worth it's 17 cents worth of Kibble would even consider lowering itself to these sort of "falderaugh-ish actions of the self deprecation-al absurd" (her words, not mine). So, maybe you should forgo any further, time-wasting exercises of looking into this world for catfact research. A large 'nevermind' is in order here.

According to Hebrew legend, Noah prayed to God for help protecting all the food he stored on the ark from being eaten by rats. In reply, God made the lion sneeze, and out popped a cat.

Julius Ceasar, Henri II, Charles XI, and Napoleon were all afraid of cats.

No one is very afraid of Stinky the Cat. However, EVERYONE is afraid of the black cat Pantera. Particularly the neighbor Jim. Pantera peed on his leg one day. Jim never came back.

All cats have claws, and all except the cheetah sheath them when at rest.

I will read this to Stinky the Cat. Maybe she will get a hint and use them for something useful. One day she pulled the bedroom screen out of the window, just to get into the house. She is very smart. And sometimes very bad. This is not a good combination for a cat. With or without retractable claws.

A cat rubs against people not only to be affectionate but also to mark out its territory with scent glands around its face. The tail area and paws also carry the cat’s scent.

Stinky the Cat's breath smells like sweaty Rotweiller on a hot summer day. That is one reason her name is Stinky. We love her anyway.

The female cat reaches sexual maturity within 6 to 10 months; most veterinarians suggest spaying the female at 5 months, before her first heat period. The male cat usually reaches sexual maturity between 9 and 12 months.

I'm pretty sure the cats from across the fence are born with sexual maturity. I think all they have to do is look at each other and out pops kittens. The little things seem to be everywhere. As Stinky the Cat often asks me in the back yard as they run on by to the woodpile..."what's up with that"?

We haven't had that discussion yet.

Cats lose almost as much fluid in the saliva while grooming themselves as they do through urination.

So if nature happens to call while Stinky the Cat is grooming herself, we should be aware of possible dehydration?

Of all the species of cats, the domestic cat is the only species able to hold its tail vertically while walking. All species of wild cats hold their tail horizontally or tucked between their legs while walking.

Robert the Cat always tried to wag his tail, like a dog. It never worked. I'm pretty sure cat's are born without a proper 'waggo-motor' in their south end.

Even though he gave it his all, it only came out as a little shimmy-wiggle at the very base. It was quite cute, but not good as a way to get other dogs to understand his intentions. Which is OK, I suppose, because he was a cat. And dogs did not really understand him anyway.

Miacis, the primitive ancestor of cats, was a small, tree-living creature of the late Eocene period, some 45 to 50 million years ago.

Paint Bucket was a more modern cat, hailing from the BC Stink period. (Before Cat Stink). He just showed up on the stoop one day...and never left.

He was a peculiar, very tall cat, coal-black coat with bright white legs half way up, like he had been standing in a can of white paint. A real mellow, deep thinker he was.

He trained Hairston III to be a normal cat...by allowing him to walk in circles and UNDER Paint Bucket, and lift him off the ground. (Normal is definitely relative.)

Like I said, we always thought Paint Bucket was a wise old sage of a cat. But ends up he did not have enough red blood cells. Guess you need those if you are going to have a quick wit of a brain.
Paint Bucket has since left the world we know for the great kitty beyond. But Hairston III is still around, and still a complete dork.

The normal body temperature of a cat is between 100.5 ° and 102.5 °F. A cat is sick if its temperature goes below 100 ° or above 103 °F.

Stinky the Cat got very sick last winter. She had a temperature, but I do not know if she was hotter than 103°. She gave me that look of "I'd really rather not have a glass stick stuck up my bum right now." So we will just say it was high.

A cat's hearing is much more sensitive than humans and dogs.

This is very true. I know it is.
Whenever I open the refrigerator to get something to eat, Stinky the Cat comes running around the corner to peer inside. Even when she is outside, she still runs into the kitchen. Or through the kitchen window, if the front door is closed.

The dogs of the neighborhood don't do this. Neither do the neighbors.
There can be no other explanation.

When a cat drinks, its tongue - which has tiny barbs on it - scoops the liquid up backwards.

Stinky the Cat likes to drink from the bathroom sink. But only if we put new cold water in it after putting down the plug. Water greater than 1.7 hours old is not acceptable. I think she likes the process more than anything.

A cat has 230 bones in its body. A human has 206. A cat has no collarbone, so it can fit through any opening the size of its head.

Stinky the Cat is not very bony, she is kind of fat. But her head is often in places it should not be.

The first cat show was in 1871 at the Crystal Palace in London.

We first named Stinky the Cat Buttercup, and took her to the store in a harness, and sat out front on a bench, in the hopes we could adopt her out. No one was interested.

Then we re-named her Stinky. We did not try to give her away after that. She seemed to greatly enjoy her one day out though.

I would say taking Stinky the Cat to the store is KIND OF like a cat show. We didn't parade her around for the judges, like in "Best of Show", but she did get heavily scrutinized by judgemental-looking shoppers as they got tangled up in her leash on the way into the store. I think that counts...

A cat called Dusty has the known record for the most kittens. She had more than 420 kittens in her lifetime.

Stinky the Cat is smarter than Dusty. She knows not to back into any Tom's in the neighborhood with her tail in the air. Who wants to have 420 kittens anyway? That's a LOT of kitty litter!
Stinky the Cat says there's better things to do in life than procreate like a rat on steroids...like eat too late at night. Or pull screens from windows. Or sleep on totally clean laundry. Or sit on my chest while I do sit-ups, "just to add some weight and help out with the program".

A cat’s heart beats nearly twice as fast as a human heart, at 110 to 140 beats a minute.

I'm pretty sure Stinky the Cat's heart beats even faster than that. She is in excellent shape. From all the running around and pullups she does.

A cat can sprint at about thirty-one miles per hour.

How fast do they go when they are just light jogging?

Ancient Egyptian family members shaved their eyebrows in mourning when the family cat died.

Ironic. We often call Stinky the Cat an Egyptian Fell Dog.

When a family cat died in ancient Egypt, family members would mourn by shaving off their eyebrows. They also held elaborate funerals during which they drank wine and beat their breasts. The cat was embalmed with a sculpted wooden mask and the tiny mummy was placed in the family tomb or in a pet cemetery with tiny mummies of mice.

You said that first part already. Stinky the Cat does not repeat herself.
However, in regards to Part II...there are no mummified mice in our house. Last night Stinky the Cat jumped into a drawer when I opened it. She thought she saw a mouse. She hates mice with a passion. No mouse would ever get to the mummy stage in this house. Stinky the Cat would see to that, pronto.

Purring does not always indicate that a cat is happy and healthy - some cats will purr loudly when they are terrified or in pain.

Stinky the Cat only purrs when she is happy. Sometimes she purrs so loud and hard, she chokes on her cat drool. I want to laugh, but don't want to give her a complex.

Stinky the Cat does not purr when she's mad at me. She just looks at inanimate objects really close up with her back to me, as if to say, "I'm not listening".

Many people in China consider cats a "warming" food that is perfect to eat during the winter

Golly. Why would I want to eat my cat? I would not try to eat Stinky the Cat, even if I was very hungry. First, she would catch wind of the plan, and I have to go to sleep at night.

And second, her breath smells like that Rottweiler on a hot summer's day. I would rather eat liver and gizzards and other things like that, than a cat that smells like a large, sweaty dog.

Also, I like Stinky the Cat. A lot. Why would I want to eat her? That is exactly why they make doughnuts, and french fries and chicken fried steak and other healthy foods. Jeesh louheesh.

In the 1750s, Europeans introduced cats into the Americas to control pests.

Stinky the Cat has never met a European. I'm sure she would like them. "Kitty Kitty Kitty" probably sounds the same in every language.

As for the pest part, the only one Stinky the Cat controls is the electric meter-reader. I think he is a bit afraid of her. But he is not a pest to us, because we like having electricity for our devices, so we don't really have much of a problem, except once a month.

When a cat drinks, its tongue - which has tiny barbs on it - scoops the liquid up backwards.

Tell me about this one too. Stinky the Cat licks my face sometimes when I am asleep. It hurts. Especially the eyelids. I think it is these barbs you're always talking about on here. All I ever say to Stinky the Cat in retort is: "go drink from the sink with your pokey barbs, Stinky". It seems to fall on deaf ears.

PS. I think this fact might be incorrect. I have picture evidence from Robert the Cat drinking from a puddle. It is more of a cupping action with the tongue. I think someone hoodwinked you on this barb thing. Might ask for a small % refund from the Little-Known Kitty Fact Company of Whereverville, USA.

There are approximately 60,000 hairs per square inch on the back of a cat and about 120,000 per square inch on its underside.

And 78 million on my down comforter...

The Ancient Egyptian word for cat was mau, which means "to see".

I'm wondering what the ancient Egyptian word for 'particularly nutty cat' is. I'm thinking something like The Stink-Meister Meister-Stink.

Julius Ceasar, Henri II, Charles XI, and Napoleon were all afraid of cats.

As we've discussed before, Jim the neighbor is not afraid of Stinky the Cat. But he IS very terrified of Black Cat Pantera that used his leg as a territorial marking post. Maybe that is why Jim moved to Iowa.

A cat's whiskers are thought to be a kind of radar, which helps a cat gauge the space it intends to walk through.

When I was very young, way before Stinky the Cat, I came home from a trip to the barber's, and decided I would try my hand at the cat. I took our cat Suzy into the dark pantry closet, and trimmed her whiskers for her.

When I exited the pantry, I looking like I'd tangled with a really long bobwire fence. I was also doled out a very large and painful amount of punishment for that dumb little maneuver.
Luckily, cat's whiskers grow back.

I still feel bad about that today.

I also wonder now and then if that had anything to do with the diaper truck incident years later??

Isaac Newton invented the cat flap. Newton was experimenting in a pitch-black room. Spithead, one of his cats, kept opening the door and wrecking his experiment. The cat flap kept both Newton and Spithead happy.

What IS a cat flap? The back-door on a small pair of red, kitty long-handles? Never seen a cat in long under's in my life. Go figure.

Then again, he WAS Sir Isaac. He probably had access to some pretty top-notch cat clothier's.

A cat lover is called an Ailurophilia (Greek: cat+lover).

In my neighbor hood, Stinky the Cat calls them ''highly intellectual".

A happy cat holds her tail high and steady.

An un-happy cat will hold her tail "any darn way I want".

The strongest climber among the big cats, a leopard can carry prey twice its weight up a tree.

Such a beautiful cat! <3

Thank you, she is a wonder. I'll pass that on to her, she'll appreciate it. (And this post has given me endless entertainment, that's for sure...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14