You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day Four ~ Seven Day B&W Challenge ~ Original Photography ~

When I was very young, way before Stinky the Cat, I came home from a trip to the barber's, and decided I would try my hand at the cat. I took our cat Suzy into the dark pantry closet, and trimmed her whiskers for her.

When I exited the pantry, I looking like I'd tangled with a really long bobwire fence. I was also doled out a very large and painful amount of punishment for that dumb little maneuver.
Luckily, cat's whiskers grow back.

I still feel bad about that today.

I also wonder now and then if that had anything to do with the diaper truck incident years later??

Sort:  

Today there are about 100 distinct breeds of the domestic cat.

So many cats, so few kibbles...

Cats have supersonic hearing

I realize this. Every time a jet flies over, Stinky the Cat looks up.

In Japan, cats are thought to have the power to turn into super spirits when they die. This may be because according to the Buddhist religion, the body of the cat is the temporary resting place of very spiritual people.i

I don't know much about spirits, or Buddism, or things in Japan, but I do know Stinky the Cat always talks about being a super HERO while she's still alive.

This year she wanted to be Cat Man for Halloween. But I told her, "your a girl cat". Then suggested she could be Woman Cat, a nifty knock-off/bi-specie euphemism of sorts for Cat Woman. I thought this was incredibly creative.

She just looked at me with total disdain, as if to say this was dumb, and gender-based sexism, and also dumb once again.

This made me feel bad. So next year, she is going to go out on the 31st as Cat Man. Anyone know where I can get a used, full-sized Barbie Car to chop into a cool Bat mobile?

The oldest cat to give birth was Kitty who, at the age of 30, gave birth to two kittens. During her life, she gave birth to 218 kittens.

Cats have 32 muscles that control the outer ear (compared to human's 6 muscles each). A cat can rotate its ears independently 180 degrees, and can turn in the direction of sound 10 times faster than those of the best watchdog.

My Grandfather could control and move each of his ears whenever he wanted to, so he must have had more than 6 muscles in each ear. He would do it whenever he came to visit. We kids thought this was really neato.

And though he could move them independently, he certainly couldn't get them to go 180 degrees in different directions, at any speed. So that is something.

Not sure how he would compare to a watchdog in ear movements, but I DO know he taught our dog Smokey to go down the stairs by doing it himself on all fours. So that is something too...

Purring does not always indicate that a cat is happy. Cats will also purr loudly when they are distressed or in pain.

Cats dislike citrus scent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83