The Life Changing Turning Point of Steemit

in #steemitismyhappyhour6 years ago

LifeChanging-turningpoint-steemit.png

Although it might be hard for someone on the outside to understand how much steemit has changed my life, it's not hard for me to see at all. I'm sure if you asked my husband @serapium/Patrick, he'd tell you that it has been nothing short of miraculous for me as well.

Before I found steemit, I had been floundering for years. YEARS. My kids were growing up and my years as a desperately needed, stay at home mom/homeschool mom were coming to an end.

cover-banner01.png

I couldn't seem to find my mojo again. I wanted to write or act or create SOMETHING, but I couldn't seem to find that passion that I knew was still inside of me somewhere. I tried blogging, writing, doing facebook pages. I tried acting, taking classes, but nothing seemed to be quite right. Everything always felt like it was somehow lacking.

I, of course, assumed it was just me. There was surely something wrong with me that I couldn't figure out what I wanted to do.

Patrick was getting more and more into investing in crypto when he came across steemit. He knew that it was right up my alley and when I saw it, the first thing I was reminded of was Live Journal. A platform that I blogged and made friends on regularly for 13 years. When that went downhill, so did my daily writing/journaling and soon my writing inspiration of any kind fell away as well.

And here I had found my place again!

cover-banner.png

I soon discovered @mariannewest and her #freewrite community and decided to try one of those 'little writing challenges.'

The community was just what I'd been wanting for so long. The encouragement, the ability to sit and write and let my creativity flow seemed to recharge me almost from the get go. I was finally looking forward to something again. I felt a tiny spark of hope rekindling my love of writing and for the first time in years (and I mean LONG YEARS), I honestly felt like I had something that I really wanted to do again.

Soon thereafter I found the #steemitbloggers community and between that and the freewrite family I had grown to love, I was hooked.

Now at this point, steemit is down and I can't afford to treat steemit alone like a full-time job. However, it is definitely solely responsible for inspiring me to write again. Through that, I have started working on a website and writing/finalizing full out books to publish and sell. This is something I've wanted to do forever, but now I feel like I can. It's actually POSSIBLE with ebooks and print on demand. I can write and publish and sell without a big investment like it used to require years ago.

cover-banner00.png

I'm excited and honestly feel hopeful about doing something that I LOVE to do and something that I feel truly passionate about as a CAREER... and without steemit (and Patrick's constant, total and complete support!) I wouldn't even be considering it. I would be back working at a dead end job stocking shelves at a grocery store again. Not that there was anything wrong with that, but this? Having a dream that I can fulfill (or at least TRY!) is so much more hopeful.

I have made friendships here and have found a way to make my dreams come true. So, long story short, I suppose it might sound ridiculous, but steemit and the community here has seriously given me a new passion for life. I'm excited again. I'm CREATING again. From writing stories, creating characters and new worlds to getting back into graphic design. I feel like this has been a wonderful, desperately needed turning point for me. I wouldn't be in this spot if not for Steemit.

LifeChanging-turningpoint-steemit-pic.png

This is my entry into the Contest by @arbitrarykitten

black.png

Short Stories

A weekend freewrite that I'm actually really proud of. I don't generally have favorites, but the story flowed really well this week:

Clarity-300-2933984_1920.jpg


A fun series: Letters froma Boat Cat!

23-Tempest-hideandseek.png


A fun tale, told from the perspective of man's best friend!

pin-300-quote-dogstale-3121397_1920.jpg

black.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

black.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source under the photos (Or in the case of linked thumbnail cover photos in the sig, they are sourced at the original post).
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Thanks for Your Words, @byn!
It is nice to read about how Steemit helps to fulfill dreams.
I myself started writing again thanks to Steemit. Never before did I believe that some of my posts someone really read. I did not believe that my posts could have fun or someone could learn something.
And voila!
Today, when I do not have time to write, I'm so sorry and I miss writing. My posts are read by real people. And on Steemit I found many new "friends" from all over the world.
Steemit changed my life too!
Perhaps one day, thanks to Steemit, I will write a (perhaps a short) book.

Once again, I thank You, @byn, for Your testimony.
Steem On!

I LOVE that steemit has introduced me to people, traditions and cultures from around the world. I think that is something that is sadly lacking in most social media sites. I'm so happy that you've found a love of writing as well. It is a fantastic way to express ourselves! :) Thank you for reading and commenting!

I love reading books! My dream was to write a book. But I did not have the courage. Now, thanks to Steemit, I might find courage. Maybe! ;)

Great short story of your journey ... hope you will succeed with your plans or should I say glad to see you do because as from what I can see it is great to have you back

Thank you so much! I've so enjoyed writing again!

howdy this fine Sunday @byn! wow I love this post! man, you are such a great testimony for this platform and it's ability to transform lives..no one would even believe that it's possible but you are proof. Amazing and inspirational testimony. And to think that really...you're just getting started!
Where will you be with your goals a year from now? wow!

I hope I'm making enough this time next year so that my husband can take a BIG break and not work so hard!!! :)

Thank you! It's people like you who are so encouraging that have brought me to this place of feeling like I can do it!

howdy this fine Sunday @byn! how was church today? lol. I crack myself up sometimes, I don't even know if you guys go so I thought I'd just throw that out there. ours was fine thank you. lol.

Oh I KNOW you can do this and there's dozens, hundreds? of other people on here who do too, plus Patrick so there ya go! as this place grows and your popularity increases...then when you get a book published we can all buy it and boost sales right away!

did you say you were going out to do Karoke? how did that go?

Thank you! No, we don't go to church, but thanks for asking.

Thank you as always for the awesome support and encouragement! I sang Fleetwood Mac, Gloria Gaynor, Eminem and a Carrie Underwood song. It was fun! :) We actually go to karaoke in a church, so I guess in a way I did go to church ;)

haha! you're kiddin me? karaoke in church..who'd a thunk. Eminem? does he sing? lol.

Love me some @mariannewest & @byn, two of the finest individuals on Steemit. 💜

Awww... you're a sweetheart! <3 Thanks for the continued encouragement!

I really enjoyed reading about how much Steemit has meant to you and how it's allowed you to feel confident enough to pursue you dreams. Lovely and motivational @byn.

Thank you! I appreciate your continued support and comments. You've been great!

Reading you has caused me to sighs, it is encouraging and gratifying to read to people who transmit a thousand emotions through their words, I suppose it is the essence of a good writer.
I congratulate you, finding something that you are passionate about and where you feel totally comfortable is definitely a blessing, is the way the universe has to make you feel loved. I feel identified, steemit brought a change to my routine, my world and my life, that is why I can practice empathy when reading to you, dreams are there to be reached and with these opportunities, are much easier to fulfill, enjoy your stay in this free and open sea.
My English is a little bad, my translator's helping me.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

This is a beautiful comment, translation or not! Thank you for the wonderful encouragement. I really appreciate it.

What a great story, very inspirational! I'm happy I found it.
To show my appreciation I have featured you in my comment challenge this week.

Please have a look here for the post. It might bring you some additional comments, but I hope you won't mind that. :)

Thank you so much! The extra comments have been wonderful!

Oh Byn, this is the mist gorgeous and inspiring post to read- and you capture the stirrings im starting to feel in my own heart so perfectly!

I'm so thrilled and excited for you - all this hope and posibility right there in the palm of your hand. I'll be here, cheering you on. E x

tip!

Thank you so much for the comment AND the tip! I really appreciate the encouragement! It is a wonderful ride!

im happy for you because as of me also i found steemit wonderful, you can enhance your writing skills aside from earning it. The community also are not selfish, they will help you to be good. anyway nice content, i learned from it.

Thank you for reading!

no, Thank you it's a pleasure to read your wonderful writing

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing! Before I started on Steemit, I was never keen in writing. To be honest, I started out thinking that I can come here and earn some quick money. I was wrong and earning money is not as easy as I thought on Steemit. Haha.. However, through Steemit, I get to know a new group of friends. Some I have never met before, some I went on to meet them up IRL. It was a great feeling. Now I write because I love to. I gained a new hobby.

On a side note, STEEM price may be down now, but it is not going to be suppressed for long. I am very bullish of this platform and I think those who stick around through this price valley will be rewarded in due time.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am stubbornly hanging onto that hope as well! It's the first time I've invested/learned about crypto at all, but I'm hanging in there! Thanks for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62