A Dog's Tale: A Story of Devotion, Magic and Bravery (Steemitbloggers Contest)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

cover-dogstale-3121397_1920.jpg

Pixabay

Day 36: My human companion and myself have traveled for 36 days thus far on our journey to the Zordic Kingdom.

I’ve felt his lack of respect for my authority since day one, yet I’ve endeavored to be the bigger man and I haven’t responded in kind as of yet. Still, my patience grows thin and I am about to bite him if this continues. Why, just yesterday he actually picked up a stick and threw it down the path, saying, “Fetch!” like I am some sort of imbecile. I gave him my best withering stare and he finally gave up in defeat. I consider this a win.

Day 37: We are now deep in the forest. There is a chill in the air that I can not explain. My human companion is starting to act in an odd manner. He jumps at every little sound. It’s starting to affect my own professional demeanor. I do not know how to help him. Humans are such weak creatures. I will have to ask for a canine companion on my next journey. Hell, even a feline would surely be preferable to this human experience.

It has gotten so bad that the human pretends to comfort me for his own sanity. I must play along so as to make him feel better. This is the sacrifice I make as his companion.

dogstale-foot-1182642_1280.jpg

Pixabay

Day 38: We came upon something odd during our walk today. A cabin, deep in the woods. The human tells me that these woods are known to be inhabited by Briggins, a mystical type bear. I responded with a growl, since everyone knows that mystical bears aren’t real. Still, we used caution and kept the cabin under surveillance for the evening. I wanted to approach and ask for shelter for the night. There were quite wonderful smells coming from the small abode, but the human was too afraid to approach. This coward will be the death of me. My stomach grumbled at me throughout the night. I was lucky to get any sleep at all.

dogstale-cabin-1587303_1920.jpg

Pixabay

Day 39: I’m tired of dealing with the human weakness. While he was still snoring loud enough to wake the dead and alert everyone in the surrounding areas of our presence, I did a stealth maneuver and scoped out the cabin. In spite of being weak from hunger, I did my duty.

Inside there was a human female. Her hair was the kind that humans seem to admire, long and gold in color. The kitchen was a mess, half eaten bowls of food sitting wasted on the table. Humans are so wasteful. I felt a deeply ingrained need to go clean up after her, making sure that food didn’t go to waste. That is just the kind of thing I do to make the world a better place.

dogstale-blonde-2405131_1920.jpg

Pixabay

Still, I tamped my natural tendencies down. Something was not right here. This was supposed to be a forest where no humans resided. I could smell that something wasn’t right.

She was standing over a pot of food that was surely magic as it had me drooling where I stood. I sniffed the air loud enough that I caught her attention, but managed to duck away just in time. It is obvious to me that this girl doesn’t belong here. She must be a witch, brewing a magical potion. She will try to bring me low, but I will not allow it. I am much too strong.

The human was still asleep in our camp. I went back to relay the news. I knew it was time to escape, to leave this to the King’s men. This was not a safe place for us to be.

dogstale-hill-2436270_1920.jpg

Pixabay

Day 39: Now the human is involved. He won’t listen to my advice, as I’ve come to expect. He insists that we stake out the perimeter and gather more intel. I’m nothing if not loyal, so I agree to his plan, taking my time to search out more evidence.

In the first window past the kitchens, I see more evidence of the girls destruction. Not only has she left chaos in the eating area, she has also managed to wreak havoc in the living areas. There is a small chair that she has shattered into kindling. I can not imagine the kind of powers and rage it would take a small girl to cause this much wreckage in such a small abode. I will admit, I am starting to fear for our lives. I am sure that the human has no powers to fight this being and I’m not sure that I have the strength for the task alone.

The next thing I know, I’ve come full circle and I’m looking in the kitchen window again. The horrors I see in front of me are not for the faint of heart.

dogstale-kiss-2563426_1920.jpg

Pixabay

The girl with the golden locks has somehow bewitched my human partner! She has him coiled in her grasp and it looks as though she is taking the very air from his body. My impressive canine hearing can even hear him moaning, obviously in dire need of my help.

I hesitated but a moment, trying to determine if I should sacrifice myself and leave the Kingdom ignorant of the dangers in these woods or if I should save the human I had been entrusted with. My knightly honor overrode my own desires and I leapt through the window with a snarl.

Then it happened. I admit, my King, I was too close. I miscalculated. I was taken under her spell. Enchanted. She was coming right at me and I couldn’t even move away. Soon she had me in her grasp and I knew my death was near.

dogstale-kisses-1393403_1920.jpg

Pixabay

Please have it put in the records that I sacrificed myself for my Kingdom.

Your Faithful Servant,

dog-paw-2263833_960_720.png
Pixabay

black.png

Short Stories

Stories about a sexy night out when these two strangers meet at the club and really hit it off after a hot night out of drinking and dancing. Told from both perspectives: His and Hers

bynhis-side-her-side-goodmorning.jpg


A fairy tale story with quite the twist!

Thumb-a-modern-tale.jpg


A story full of hope about the hope and faith of a child

thumb-faith-of-a-child.jpg

black.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

black.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source under the photos (Or in the case of linked thumbnail cover photos in the sig, they are sourced at the original post).
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

@byn You have the most amazing mind!!!!! What an AWESOME story!! And yes - our furry friends I am certain... DO shake their heads at us many times... much like children - they are FAR wiser, far more intuitive, far more loyal and fearless.

Just LOVE your writing!!!!

Oh and @zord189 there is a kingdom named after you ;)

Thank you! Our dog DEFINITELY looks at us like we're crazy sometimes. I think he just assumes that we're the ones that aren't understanding things, because in his mind, he communicates SO clearly! :)

Thank you for the fantastic compliment!

Pleasure hon! And yes... I think you are probably right... hahahaha!!! Even WORSE (better) with cats! lol :)

Cats definitely have their own voice! Have you ever read my Tempest Papers posts? Our cat on the boat had THE strongest personality!!!

I have!!! So KNEW you would know what I meant hehehehe!!!

Dogs who bark the most: Miniature Schnauzers, Cairn Terriers, Yorkshire Terriers, Fox Terriers and West Highland White Terriers.

Canines Rule!

Yes, they do! I LOVE your username :) I'm following you now just because of that.

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Good dog stories are rare and this is nice one! It's good to have one from the dog's perspective. Smart dog, even if he is a pushover for a woman's touch.

Thanks, byn; good story!

Thank you! I love our dogs and it was fun to write a story, imagining our dog in the role instead of a human for once! :) Thanks for stopping by!

My dog is quite dedicated to her mission of cleanliness as well, heh

They're so selfless and giving, these dogs! :) Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment!

Good information... Thanks

Obvious spam comments aren't going to get you anywhere here.

Hahahah Goldilocks has a bewitching ability? Now that's new, only happens in the Zordic kingdom. As always, I admire your brains! This is so out of the box, @byn! Awesome write and hope you win in this message to the King after the sacrifice for the kingdom! :) The dogs ALWAYS know better!

Thank you so much! I REALLY loved writing this. Taking a story from the perspective of someone not human is always so much fun. :)

Very clever, telling it from the dog's perspective.

We have a dog who is SO expressive, I swear, I was just using him as my muse! :) Thanks for the comment.

Loved this!!

I felt a deeply ingrained need to go clean up after her, making sure that food didn’t go to waste. That is just the kind of thing I do to make the world a better place.

haha, I can imagine a canine thinking just this...😊

Right? Our dogs are so helpful like that! They will never leave a dirty dish when we're finished with our food (especially steak!) Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82