Curation With Style: The Best of the Unmentionables Ep. 8 (29/9/17)

in #steemit7 years ago

Warning: This curation list may cause an insatiable desire to join The Unmentionables and improve your writing - reader beware.

The best of The Unmentionables content (29/9/17) - curated with love.

(Huge thanks to @enchantedsfpirit for becoming our group curator - be sure to give her a follow and some love!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Curator's Choices

If this extension works for you, this may be the greatest thing you've found all month! I mean that. It is @ironsheild's review of @armandocat's extension for Steemit -- and it contains some some features I have desperately wished to have.

If I ever find three extra minutes to rub together, I'll see what I can do about getting hold of this little possum and using it myself. Those three consecutive moments may be a problem, but this looks like a jewel! I'm sure comments, suggestions and other "user experiences" would be welcome.

DQmR5PFzQ6pjK1KGTpLX7uEgj8yTVCXZpwLz7RPA3GFNUKE_1680x8400.png

Enhance Your Steemit Experience
@ironshield

unmentionables-s.png

I usually avoid groups. I know that's not practical, it's not brave and sometimes maybe it's not even in my own best interests. But I have usually found "there's one in every crowd" that ruins the whole experience for me. It wasn't worth the stress. I have definitely stopped trying to lead my own groups for the very same reason. So I asked @adamtilsley for his thoughts after seeing his video -- featured in yesterday's CP on leadership. He always gives great advice, and this was no exception.

This pretty much confirmed for me what I had already decided -- and while it probably won't change my resolve to never do that again (ever lead another group or offer another class!!) it will surely help you if you're still on the fence -- or got handed the job and can't get rid of it. At least you'll know what you could be in for -- and how to handle it. (Which is @adamtilsley's whole point!)

unmentionables-s.png

What to do when dealing with troublemakers, etc.,
as a group leader?

@adamtilsley

unmentionables-s.png

For such a sweet lady, @hopehuggs sure has her saltier side! Or maybe the internet hasn't yet made me tough enough, although Lord knows it's trying!! But an aggravating moment did provide her with another insightful post idea that maybe will help you keep "middle-finger salutes" to a minimum.

There's a saying among the right-wingers in this country (presently having a harsh, incendiary debate about Second Amendment rights and gun control) that "An armed society is a polite society." To that I would say, "A polite society where people aren't afraid of getting killed by a stranger is an even better idea." Maybe together, @hopehuggs and I can help that happen.

DQmP3tzyXvHsvuqjuA5uAJeMUSLhT9wGcyWgru5yJkL5Nim.png
Image Source

Does This Man Deserve The Middle Finger Salute?
@hopehuggs

unmentionables-s.png

Our own @mountainwashere writes: "I've decided to run a weekly nature identification thread! Post pictures of plants, animals, rocks, or other cool stuff that you've photographed but can't identify, and I, along with anyone else who wants to participate, will try and help you identify it!

Sounds cool, huh? Well, hustle on over and get in on that from the start!! Mountain asked about this in our Discord channel the other day saying, "I'm a bit of a nature enthusiast." To which I replied, "Yeah, and Martin Luther King was a bit of a believer in civil rights." @mountainwashere chose to ignore my smart-ass remark ... but maybe he was giving me a middle-finger salute from behind the safety of his computer monitor. I suppose it's possible! (I never thought about that until I read your essay, @hopehuggs!)

Anyway, Mountain is great at what he does ... in many fields. He's always got some interesting essay or project going on his blog. Check and see what he might have for you!

DQmXg6o8u1hVGXfg3eVNoL4Utg68kmavusv4pGcKMZayB85.jpg

Nature Identification Thread 1
@mountainwashere

unmentionables-s.png

Oh, WOW!! Is this one ever dear to my heart. Especially that line about: "In all reality, writing is a really really hard job!"

People who don't write think, "Anybody can write." After all ... they went to school. They learned to spell. They've got a computer. They think: What's the problem?

Every time I hear something like that, I'm tempted to sit them down in front of their damn computer, say ... "Ok, give me 800 - 1500 words of publishable material -- polished, proofread. Any topic. You choose. Lemme know how that goes and how long it took you. Then, when you're done, do it again. And again. And again. Get up tomorrow and start over. Blank screen. The world is your oyster. GO FOR IT!!!"

Those of us who are writers are different from those who think "writing is easy." The real Ernest Hemingway said: “There's nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein.” (The copy / pasta crowd who showed up on Steemit thinking this deal would be a cinch prove these points every day!)

There is a boatload of wisdom in @arbitrarykitten's post. Those of us who are writers because we can't be anything else, because it's absolutely in our blood ... will stand up and salute her! If you're one of us, open this page and read the story of your life ... as only you know it!

DQmVxQA1hwwN4zXgnoTAtUCmP8VVRbvV4mh7XGRWDihM7U5.png

An Inside Look at the Life of a Writer
@arbitrarykitten

unmentionables-s.png

Continuing her amazing Bookmarkable Series, @karencarrens writes here about vector icons. It's a tutorial series worth its weight in gold. Open this latest jewel, read it, bookmark it ... and then follow the yellow brick road down through all the rest. Unlike batteries, these links are included!

U5drys6p5ufPRRvaQ9wauGvMykDNBzb_1680x8400.jpg

Bookmarkable Series: Need a Vector Icon
to Spiffy Up Your Blog? Look No Further!
My Favorite Icon Site with Step-by-Step Tutorial
on Editing the Vector Icon of your Choice

@karencarrens

unmentionables-s.png

And if you're interested in doing a portfolio page ... it's @codingdefined to the rescue! The Unmentionables will help you learn this internet magic stuff in spite of yourself. Just sit back, drink soda, eat Cheetos ... and read!

DQmXEFtKTdfMHk7D4eSbG1Vyy8b1AN8P5wPQf2spMrnbLWG.png

Let's Learn How to Create a Portfolio Page
@codingdefined

unmentionables-s.png

@fukako -- one of our newest members -- is another remarkable artist!! -- (When she's not off looking for food and fighting racists with the other hand. See? I do read your messages @fukako!) She's smart (and a smart-ass). She's witty. Make her welcome if you get a chance to talk! (I rarely have time for that!!)

I can hardly believe the talent-pool we're assembling in this group. I am delighted! Thank you for recruiting her @karencarrens!

DQmYxEvy638krGpjJifQS7DHysyUNk1kXNrUzgoAyZVgrhR.jpg

A Drawing of Gandalf the Grey
@fukako

unmentionables-s.png

Good Lord, @ethandsmith's into gaming. Is there anything this man can't do?? Just keeping up with him is giving me a complex. Somebody get in here and make some comments. Ask some questions. Keep him busy. Give me a chance to catch my breath!! (Hey, Ethan!! What's your IQ? Never mind. I don't want to know.)

U5drusAcKwhgZpexMx4S5fwwv1pQXA3_1680x8400.jpg

Ever Wanted to be a Pirate?
Pillage, Plunder, Hunt for Buried Treasure,
and More in Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag
(Review + PC Steam Key Giveaway!)

@ethandsmith

unmentionables-s.png

We end today with a musical interlude ... sweet, catchy tune. And I admit this one caught my attention because I live in an area where Spanish is common ... and not speaking it can be an issue. As the world shrinks, dealing with "language" will become a constant challenge. (Especially for those who don't so well in their native language from the start. God, I was appalled when I first got on the internet and saw how too many Americans handle everyday English!)

My halting and broken attempts to speak Spanish to those here who don't speak English are always met with such grace, generosity and approval I'm humbled by it. They do everything they can to bridge the barrier and reward my efforts. You can feel their gratitude that I'm at least trying. (On the other hand, I've heard from lots of different people that the French can be insufferable, arrogant assholes who act annoyed that you exist if you can't speak French. Something to remember.)

"I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel."
~ Maya Angelou

That cuts both ways. If you learn nothing else from this post ... take that thought home!

Salena.png

My Favorite Selena Song and Panama Trivia
Tuesday Tarea by A Panama Mama

@apanamamama

unmentionables-s.png

Visit our past posts!


Curation With Style No. 7
Curation With Style No. 6
Curation With Style No. 5
Curation With Style No. 4

unmentionables-s.png

Would you like the chance to see one of your posts featured here? Join our friendly writing-and-curating group The Unmentionables. Find us here: @unmentionable. Join us here -- on Discord. It's quick. It's easy. And you'll be glad you did. Three of the best reasons I can think of off the top of my head!

We hope to meet you soon on our dedicated Discord server -- where our awesome Welcome bot Mee6 will greet you and get you started. Then a real human will hustle along to help you further. At least that's how it's supposed to work. If the room is empty when you arrive, give it a few. Eventually someone's bound to notice.

unmentionables-s.png

The author of this list of curated posts by members of The Unmentionables is @enchantedspirit whose mostly metaphysical writing can be found on her own blog. The opinions here are strictly hers ... but they're also very true! (With occasional prompting and cheerleading from @fatpandadesign. That guy has his fingers in every pie.)

unmentionables-s.png

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Unmentionables

Sort:  

The posts that were chosen by our lovely curator @enchantedspirit in this post have all received full upvotes from #TheUnmentionables vote bot. Well done on the excellent work, family!

And remember the 1st rule of The Unmentionables: DON'T MENTION IT!

Adam seems to have a great handle on leadership and how to effectively manage a group. He's definitely a great selection as a leader!

Pshhh, I wouldn't give any of you guys a middle finger salute. You're all fantastic! Thanks for including me in the roundup!

Thank you for this curation trail/list. I read through @ironshield's post and have installed @armandocat's Steemit More Info. It says in the post that it's version 1.1, however v1.2 was already release here.

I think if you have it installed, it will be updated automatically as what I believe what happened to mine.

Anyway, the feature I like most about it is having your post composition and preview side-by-side.

Good job mate!

A great selection - again!!

I think @ @enchantedsfpirit did an amazing job with curation even though Croatia got bashed in the previous post. But keep it up. We are on the right track even though our curator is.... lol

No more Croatia-bashing ... at least for the rest of the month. I read the post you sent in Discord yesterday ... and the resilience of you and your family leaves me speechless. What a story! What an experience. My God, Duro, I'm so glad you all made it through!

Well, thank you, for your kind consideration. I know it will be a hard couple days for you not being able to bash Croatia. I appreciate it. lol

Not an easy time for us by any means, but we are all alive and well. That is most important. :) The story came from my heart and from my memory. Some moments in life stick with you forever. Whenever I think about it I still get the feeling like it happened yesterday. Recording it cleary. I just wish I can recall my bank pin like this. lol :)

Thank you for your kind words my new amazing friend on Steemit. Have an amazing day. :)

P.S. thank you for reminding me to post a 3rd update on how things with rebuilding are going :)

I love this group so much, I added an invite link to our discord channel to my last post and will continue to do so moving forward. And congrats @fukako for being showcased! @enchantedspirit, good job in making our nosy Panda think he's helping to prompt you into action. It's good for him to feel needed. ❤️❤️❤️

Hey now! I heard what you said! That's it, Pimp Master Panda smells a demotion for someone!

Omg. My stomach hurts from laughing.

Congratulations @unmentionable! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63887.77
ETH 3417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56