My Favorite Selena Song and Panama Trivia - Tuesday Tarea by A Panama Mama

in #tuesdaytarea7 years ago

Last week, I shared with you how to learn the RR sound and a few Spanish tongue twisters. Did you try them out and impress your friends and family? I’m sure that post left you craving some Ruffles!

Are you a Selena fan?

In high school, we memorized many songs as part of our grade. I always loved these because it was relatively easy for me to learn them. I loved Spanish, what can I say? One of my favorite songs to learn was Como la Flor by Selena. I was not a Selena fan in the height of her stardom, but I learned to love her songs thanks to my teacher! This is a pretty easy one to memorize. Take a listen to this:

It’s okay to make mistakes when speaking Spanish.

I was surprised when I saw the video about her life that she wasn’t a native speaker. She learned to speak Spanish singing her songs and with her band. She was interviewed by a Spanish TV station and didn’t even know the term “excited” so she said it in English! It encourages me to keep trying – even if I make mistakes or don’t know the vocabulary word (which happens every single day – especially construction terms)!

Terms are not the same between countries.

Sometimes I even learn that terms accepted in Mexico are not used here in Panama. One that I used all the time in Mexico (around college students) was “que padre” (or "que chido") which meant “how cool.” That term is NOT used here in Panama and I don’t even really know how to tell someone that something is cool – “me gusta” or “que bueno” I guess would come closest! I think “que padre” sounds way better though!

Panama Trivia

Here’s a little Panama trivia for your Tuesday! Did you know that Panama is the only place in the world where you can watch the sun rise on the Pacific Ocean and then watch it set on the Atlantic Ocean? I need to try that out sometime. They say that from the top of our volcano, Baru, you can see both oceans at the same time on a clear day! Something to add to my list!

Is visiting Panama on your bucket list? Let me know in the comments!

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Tuesday Tarea will be brought to you here every Tuesday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for videos, lessons, poems and much more that will encourage you to explore Spanish!
If you would like to share your thoughts on Spanish, feel free to in the comments.
Gracias por visitarme. Hasta luego.

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Wow! That's really great. Do you think is possible seeing the sunrise and the sunset in Panama!! Bcos it's actually going to be an amazing experience..

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What a great post. The fact that it's never too late to learn a language is very encouraging for those of us that want to.

Yes definitely never too late! I need to start working more with my kids! :)

Here in our area of Panama.. they say "Que pritty" for "How cool!" Said like the word "pretty" but with a long e sound. ;)

What? That is craziness!!!! That doesn't make sense. I don't know if I can do that. ;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @apanamamama to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55