Bookmarkable Series: Need a Vector Icon to Spiffy Up Your Blog? Look No Further! My Favorite Icon Site with Step-by-Step Tutorial on Editing the Vector Icon of your Choice [Video]

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

The simplest way to explain vectors is to say that they are graphical images. Someone created them and that someone is allowing you to use them.

How to Create an Icon

See the one I edited for this lesson...
image

Step-by-Step Tutorial

Go to www.flaticon.com

Search for the type of image you want. In this case, I selected ramen noodles.

image

Select the Image

Click on image you want then double-click the eye. The crown icon means it is a premium icon and is not free to use. The S icon means it’s free to use if you give credit to the author.

image

Add to Collection or Edit

You will only have editing rights if you are a registered user. It’s free to register. If you do not want to edit, click Add to Collection.

image

Edit Color

Select the area you want to change color. In this example, I selected the chopsticks and turned them from brown to Steemian blue!

image

Edit Position if You Want

Play around in this area so you get a feel for what it does.

image

Download

I typically download the PNG format. Select the size. In this example, I chose 256 pixel.

image

Save As

As soon as you select the size, it will download the icon. If I open in folder, it will be found in download folder.

image

Copy Image into Blog and You're Done!

image

Short Video (53 Seconds)

For those of you that would like to see this in video format, here you go!

Cost: Free with Attribution

You can use them for free if you provide attribution. How to Give Credit to the Author.

Icons are made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com


flaticon.com is #bookmarkable… because some things are just meant to be saved.

image

Previous Bookmarkable Series Posts


My Other Latest Posts


Try it out! Have fun and post your edited icons below so we can ooooh and aaaah over it.

Remember to comment, follow, upvote and resteem to show support.

Much luv,

@karencarrens

***This post was posted by eSteem mobile app.

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Again a great post, my bookmark is getting bigger and bigger and thanks to you :)

I absolutely love this site. It's so great to have these icons when you needed them.

This is really helpful and useful

Thanks for the encouraging feedback! 😃 Icons are fun to use.

I like to do my own graphics, but it's good to know I have options when I'm in a hurry. Like when I just spent 6 hours on illustrations for an article I never posted.

Hey! I thought I was the only one who did that!

Your posts are great - and super helpful!!

I am very proud of myself that I can now do GIFs.

I think I may be pushing the limit to go beyond that, but at least I know where to come and look if I want to try whatever comes after GIFs

Thanks!!

That makes me so happy and I too, am super proud of you for growing your skillset. 👍👍👍

This is actually really useful! Definitely worth resteeming for future references!
Great with the screen capture step by step guides. This will help so well for newbies!
upvoted

Yes, there are so many simple ways someone can enhance their posts. Thank you for the encouragement! And for the resteem-me! 😆

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @karencarrens! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Very valuable content. Thanks for sharing.

This post has received a 1.65 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @karencarrens.

Lovely idea. sure earned my upvote well.

and a follow too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43