Steemit in Rolling Stone Magazine: Looking for Success Stories

in #steemit8 years ago

My editor at Rolling Stone asked for ideas for their annual Hot List issue:

I shared my experiences on Steemit with him, and suggested that it would be great for the model, the disruption, and of course the community itself.

And I was met with a resounding...yes.

It's a widely read issue, so I'm looking for a few great success stories to include in the item.

Stories like:

@heiditravels touring the world, chronicling her adventures on Steemit, and using the rewards to finance her travel.

@infovore living on $1 a day in West Africa, then making over $41,000 on Steemit over the summer.

@anwenbaumeister doing something impressive in her life via Steemit that she hasn't posted about so maybe I shouldn't out her here.

If you have a great success story (or any story), let me know below. Would love to hear it: for the article, for background, or even just to inspire others in this thread.

Looking forward to sharing my thoughts and experiences on Steemit with the readers there, and to the challenge of explaining this model succinctly and comprehensibly to the general public.

Sort:  

@neilstrauss this is awesome. However, may i suggest something different? Do not interview Steemit celebs. If I was to read about Steemit in Rolling Stones, I want to know thoughts of normal steemit users. Let me explain: pick 4 or 5 steemit users (they don't have to be famous or people that earned a lot of money), ask questions and let them express their opinions about Steemit.I don't want to read about a person's POW who earned a lot here, I want to read normal user's opinions! The ones that are consistently writing here and have not made a lot of money! But they still want to stay here and write in Steemit.

I agree with @thebluepanda! I've been working on an article describing my experiences on this platform from the perspective of someone who gave up all other social media for 60 days, came to steemit with 0 followers, and suffers from metromania. Coming here has been the best decision I could have ever made. I'm writing more than ever (which has helped with depression), engaging the community through poetry challenges (currently on the 8th installment), and have organically grown a following from 0 to 300. I'm no Steemit big earner, but I'm a die-hard community member who posts daily and loves what this platform is and can still become. This platform has had such an impact on me that it has become a factor in how I am shaping future goals/milestones.

You may choose to go with the bigger names, and that makes sense. But @thebluepanda's suggestion is awesome and could give unique depth and perspective to the final piece, especially given that the uninitiated perspective is that you blog here and get TONS of money.

o.O MrWang would be perfect.. actually my real name, Wallace Carranza would be perfect for this...
Let me start off by offering my IMDB LINK for verification purposes but I'm sure this community is pretty familiar with me already.

This is one awesome opportunity that maybe we can really help each other AND this community out by including someone like me in the article, here's why..

I'm kind of making some big noise in the entertainment and television industry as a professional actor... right now, my career is blowing up, big time.

this video post first..
Goodbye American Beauty


a little background about me and a source of influence...

then follow it up with this video montage of my success as a professional actor after all this happened in
Divorce Your Insanity


A music video montage looking back on how far and high I've climbed in success over this past year to finally being cast as a regular on, Queen of the South a hit cable network show on USA Network.

I feel that my story is not only relevant to success and what your looking for but also I'm more then willing to share my success story and help influence others to give us a look and join the steemit revolution. Right now I'm looking to strike while the fire is hot, in regards to my current rise to "fame", if you want to call it that... it's not really my reasoning for being in this business but it comes with it of course.. so I might as well take advantage and if you agree... I'm ready and willing to make this happen.

Either way, I'm resteeming this and excited to hear this news.. I hope I hear back from you on this but if I don't... good luck on this project and I can't wait to read about it.

I like the idea of @MrWang being featured! A thoroughly entertaining chap to follow!

Hey Neil. This is astounding news. Rolling Stones would be a great PR move for Steemit, and hopefully bring some users.

Here's my story, I started writing on Steemit back in July, right around the time that payouts started occurring. After a couple of months, my Steem Dollar earnings helped me pay off a ~$7,500 IRS debt obligation. It was also a therapeutic experience to write about some of my experiences and talk to others. I find the vibe here to be really motivating and educational, if you're following the right cats. However, the exceptional circumstance of this story, is that such a large payout in a short amount of time was due to the high price of Steem at the time, so I was able to accomplish that in just handful of articles, a feat that is not possible today. By a stroke of luck, timing, passion, reputation, and drive, Steemit.com made a big difference in my life, and helped me get my financial situation back into a sane place.

I haven't made the time to write as much lately, in fact I took a conscious break after I hit my goal so I could refocus on other projects. And prevent the dreaded burn-out. But I am still lurking, curating, commenting, and following the developments of the platform.

Keep up the good work Neil, that book club idea is really cool and I wish I had the time to participate. Looking forward to hearing about a Steemit article in Rolling Stones.

That's incredible. And you, and some of the other posters here, are right. Your story, and some of the others, are part of that high Steem price then. That said, it's the model and the respect of users' time/value/posting here that's important, as opposed to the dollar amounts.

And thanks, just got off what I believe was the sixth Steemit Book Club call!

I agree with you on that point, "it's the model and the respect of users' time/value..." and that is also why I stick around. I love the concept of contributors getting compensated directly, relatively proportional to the value they bring. That's a huge improvement over the convoluted centralized business models that benefit corporate entities that run a social media network. That being said, I think an advertising model that has been mentioned to be in the works (I can't remember the source) could help to close the loop for the Steemit economy by increasing the demand for STEEM. This place gets really active in a bull market and really pessimistic in a bear, who would have thought? Anyways, another rise in the market cap of STEEM would really help with retention because there would be users that realize the wax and wane of the market is inevitable, and maybe they should just ride the next tide instead of losing hope. So, maybe advertising is the key to reversing that trend.

Such an amazing opportunity! Featuring a Steemit story in Rolling Stones would bring attention to our community and benefit every member. It would be an honor to share my story, but I think this would have more of an impact if a couple different members were featured! Please check out my blog post! It was one of the highest paid posts- earning over 30k! Many have reached out to me and said that this post is what inspired them to join Steemit.

Link to post: https://steemit.com/beauty/@guerrint/the-first-steemit-makeup-turtorial-bringing-youtubers-to-steemit

Hope to hear from you soon!
<3 Guerrint (gar·in·tee) /ˌɡerənˈtē/

Thanks @guerrint, I remember seeing your post, will re-check it out now and get in touch to discuss.

Interesting to find out how to pronounce your name, I was pronouncing it more like (gwer-rint)

:-)

Cg

I figured out early on how the real currency here is relationships:

The Currency of Steemit Isn't Steem Power, STEEM, or SBD

I'd love to see that idea featured.

I've since been really active, gaining followers, and providing content people enjoy like a weekly report of currency going to and from exchanges. You can see my blog for more. Thanks for working to make this happen to support our community!

I think @charlieshrem's "A Geek in Prison" series is the single best success story that both resonates with mainstream readers and highlights the power of Steem. Steem incentivizes content creators to share real content and Charlie's tales from prison are as real as it gets.

I completely agree and his backstory and history in cryptocurrencies would add a lot of interest to the story.

Maybe a visit to SteemFest is required?

There are a lot of fantastic stories out there for sure, I dont know if mine is much for mentioning in comparison but to me its been incredible. As a single mom for the past 15 year whose always struggled financially because my passion lies with bejng an artist, I have always worn myself thin trying juggled numerous jobs at once, and make time for my art. Then there was my ridiculous dream to hike the Appalachian Trail...6 months on my own 2,200 miles 14 states. I posted my first blog about the supplies id take..a lot of which i couldnt afford and had no idea how to make it happen. I was floored when my blog hit $10,000 then floored again when i was hacked and lost it all. Thinking OMG this is going to happen and jumping around my living room like a 6 year old to,crying about it was too good to be true and that I never would get such a big break, so figured. Well, the community of Steemit came together and I was able to recover 7,000 and not only aquire my supplies (I leave this March), but also leave the multi job world...Im talkin real full nights of sleep!!!" It gave me the opportunity and time to apply myself to my art, to the point where last week super star Chris Young bought one of my pieces! Part of my Appalachian dream is to publish a book which would be a combination sketch jornal of all the faces their stories and my own experences and all in between. It will be one of the few books based on a full through hike, unlike the wild and a walk in the woods....Which are great reads but they only hike chuncks of the PCT and AT. I look forward to this time to write and record my insain life as well as draw and record those of people i meet and all i experience.

I am an elementary school teacher who banked more in July by Steemit than by my teaching job. That was interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56446.21
ETH 2966.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17