Episode 5 - Goodbye American Beauty

in #nobodysperfect8 years ago (edited)


When I was my sons age...



my parents would get into these insane arguments and of course they would turn very physical. My mother was the only girl in her family and growing up, my uncles made sure she could handle herself. This only made things worst for my dad.


Back In The Day

Summer 2013

Never lay your hand on a lady but you can't let her go ape shit on your face

Mom knows how to fight and is not afraid to throw down. So when arguments got out of hand, he had to either back into the corner and take the punches or grab the wrist to stop her from swinging. Of course, nobody is going to let hold down their arms and expect you to calm down. The obvious next move would be my mom kicking or trying to yank her arms free. My dad would then wrap around her to control her upper body and continue pleading with her to calm down.

The Neighbors Get Involved

I grew up in a pretty bad neighborhood in Houston, Tx. (More On That Later) The one awesome benefit of this hood, were our neighbors. My Grandpa and Grandma wanted to keep my mom close and decided to build a house for my parents, on the same lot. So any time shit got out of hand, I ran out the house around the little path my infant feet made in the grass and into Grandmas arms so she could make them stop. I took full advantage of this and anytime I would get in trouble or knew something bad was about to happen..

I'd run out the house around the corner, follow my path all the way into Grandmas arms

I'm a big boy now

23 years later, I have a beautiful son.. He is loved and I am learning so much from him. I'm arguing with his mother.. Why can't she just shut the fuck up and listen because I'm right and she's always wrong



WHACK!!! - a hole in the wall

My son runs out of my bedroom, into the hall around the corner into my moms arms.. I realized at that moment, I've become what I hated as a child. Selfish and full of rage.. pissed off because nobody will believe me when I absolutely know without a doubt that I AM RIGHT. Somebody was playing mind games, fucking with my head and my "babymama" wasn't making it any better by telling me I need to calm down. Thieves keep trying to steal my truck and everybody tells me to let it go, drop it.. it's not worth stressing about.

My Grandma Eva



My Mom & Grandma

She was diagnosed with leukemia in 2013 and her health started to deteriorate fast. She was getting weaker by the week and our family started to prepare for the worst. Those battles I was dealing with before were no longer important. My grandma called on me one day and sat me down for a talk. She urged me to get my life in check and to reconsider this "acting career" I was pursuing. My priorities were jacked up and I needed to be a better man then I was acting at the time, so I listened.


The Day of The "Talk"

As I watched her health decline, the rage slowly returned. There was nothing I could do to help her... I had nobody to talk to because the people I thought I could trust, stabbed me in the back. I blamed everyone else for everything that was happening. I realized I needed to focus on something to get my mind off of being soo angry.. I decided to audition for a film, B.O.O.S.T. and was cast that same day.
I ran to my grandma and told her the good news.. promised it wouldn't distract me from the changes I made and she was proud.

The very day I returned home from filming, she was in the hospital

Showing my grandparents pictures & videos being "On Set"

I returned home from filming and my grandma was in the hospital. I walked into the room with a bald shaved head and she grinned at the site of her grandsons new hairdo.

When Can I See The Movie?

The worst question I would ever hear to this date. The doctors had only given my grandma a few months to live and the movie wouldn't be finished in over a year. My heart dropped the moment I realized this... I worked so hard to get here and committed so much of my life and finally able to reap the rewards at the expense of my grandmothers life?


before we left that night

When My Heart Dropped

How would you feel?

It was at this time, she made the decision to stop chemo therapy. She was tired, frail and ready to move on. She accepted her fate and gave all glory to God. We as a family had to come to terms and prepare to grieve... My grandmother, on her death bed was at peace. Fuck Cancer and Fuck God for putting her through this hell.. WHY? Please God, Why? Our whole family had our own ways of grieving..

ME... I took that RAGE

and made a video..



Goodbye American Beauty

Finally, I was about to hit the bottom of the pit, rock bottom


Rest In Peace Grandma, I love you and miss you soo much.

Episode 5 was inspired by the realization drawn from the following post

@the-alien - zen and the art of not giving a fuck


Catch up on the episodes in this series:

Extremely Awkward and Incredibly Honest

Episode 1: Awareness

Episode 2: Heaven Shine a Light On Me

Episode 3: Grab Your Balls and Face Your Fears

Episode 4: I'm Having a Baby Boy

If you are interested in funding my production thru bitcoin, Please visit https://bitcoinstarter.com/projects/mrwang-on-steemit/


Subscribe to my channel - Comment and Feedback very welcome and very appreciated.
Instagram/SnapChat: @LILWALAY
Facebook: DrunkCooking
Twitter @WallaceCarranza

Sort:  

@mrwang really nice share, my mom had all brothers and she definitely can throw down:) Thanks again for sharing such personal space with us, cheers!

Yea, moms with all brothers is automatic trouble, hahah... yup. Thanks for keeping up with me.. More darkness to come, stay tuned

If it ain't broke, you haven't tried hard enough.....great job!

haha, at this moment in my life @scifiwriter

I WAS BREAKING

@the-future thank you for following and support.

Nice work @mrwang I love watching your blog!

Thank you for the support @acassity

All of the feels, particularly when grandma wants to see a movie that will release after she is gone. Not to trigger an unwanted emotion out of you, but what was the movie and where can we see it?

Also interesting dynamic dealing with an abusive mother (towards your father). One of my friends college girlfriends acted that way and we never knew what to do other than call the police. But doing it on family is a different scenario.

Finally nice video, was that the music from American Beauty?

happy to upvote and follow

@daut44 You sure can watch that movie online now... it's currently making film festival rounds and recently accepted into the Official Latino Film Festival in NYC B.O.O.S.T.
Check it out now...

Yea, my mom has her moments, lol... Yes it was from American Beauty.. I made this video nearly a week before she passed. It is technically a parody of the opening scene from the movie.. hence "Goodbye American Beauty"
Good Catch tho

I see echos of parts of my own childhood in your story. Thanks for sharing this @mrwang.

Really? Wow, hopefully I brought some better understanding to those parts that echoed your way bro.. Thanks for reading.. Stay tuned, I barely hit bottom.. more darkness to come

Beautiful - thank you for sharing!

Thank you for checking it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15