Yay, XXXX Followers! NOT Important

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)



If you have made a post with a title similar to the first part of the title of this post, let me assure you - this post is not directed specifically against your achievement. In fact I may have made such a post in the past that mentioned the number of followers too, but it is important to know what I am going to say in this post.

It's Not the Number That Is Important

It is the type of followers that is most important. Your followers should be those who are interested in the content that you publish. People who click on your titles should do so out of their own free will so that they can read your post. Not because they want to plug in their own post link in the comments section or leave the ubiquitous nice-post-thanks-for-sharing message for you.

-:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:-

It is no use having followers who do not read your content but only wait for you to upvote their comment(many a time not even upvoting your post) so that they can earn a few cents. Such kind of followers will do no good either to you or the platform.

There seems to be a race to get the highest number of followers in the shortest amount of time. I have seen posts that scream a headline that says asks users to drop their links and get an upvote. These bloggers do not seem to understand the concept of having people follow them.

I call this the "Tsu mindset" - Tsu was a failed website that encouraged follow for a follow and other such dubious practices that made their way to Steemit. This is not Tsu nor will it ever become one.



You will always find it easy to acquire followers who follow you for a drop-your-link promotion(if you ever have one) or comment on your post just for an upvote. Chances are that these followers will not have too many blog posts of their own, and will instead have more of resteems in order to fill up their profile page.

The worst thing about these followers is that they are here for the short term only and will gone after earning a handful of SBDs with their incessant quest for comment upvotes. They have no interest in cryptocurrency, blockchain, or any of the popular topics on Steemit and most probably do not have any idea of what good content really is.

-:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:-

Which brings me to the next important point.

How many of your followers are still active?

When you go through the list of followers you will find that a majority of them no longer post anything anymore, not even comments. That is the reason why you should never seek people to follow you for a reward. They will claim the rewards till they are available and be seen no more.

If anyone likes your posts and looks for good content like yours on topics of interest he or she will follow you for the long term anyway.

Your true followers are those who are attracted to your blog due to your quality content, including thoughtful and useful comments on other blogs. They will wait your posts to be published, and the upvote and resteem them after they enjoy reading what you have to say. Consuming your regular content, they will always be there to read your latest post. Those are the people you should blog for and have as your followers.

(¯`•._ _.•´¯)

Would you please UPVOTE and RESTEEM this post so that it can reach others too? Also do FOLLOW me for more useful and interesting posts.

#thesteemengine



#thealliance



#qurator

A Few Of My Previous Posts You Will Enjoy Reading!


Are You An Exercise ADDICT?

The Dangers Of POSTING Too Much On Steemit

Feel Too Lazy To Post? 5 Ways To Publish Regularly

How To Create A GREAT POST With Your Content

How To ALWAYS Be Happy While Working

Social Media Loneliness | Modern Day Anxiety And Stress

Success Is Not An ACCIDENT On Steemit

The Best Uses Of High SBD

Image sources: Pixabay, Giphy, Canva

Sort:  

Thank you. Every thing of yours I have read has given me guidance. I feel similarly about the followers and following. I have found that it just costs too much energy to comment meaningfully on posts I have no real interest in either the content or the person. I have watched myself do steemit like I do life. I want to be related to real people on some level. I understand that I will get to know some better than others just because of similar interests but I want some connection so that the interactions are not contrived. Just takes too much energy for me. Good word! Peace.

Thank you. Every thing of yours I have read has given me guidance.

You're welcome - glad that you find it useful!

I understand that I will get to know some better than others just because of similar interests but I want some connection so that the interactions are not contrived. Just takes too much energy for me. Good word! Peace.

You know the meaning of a follower in the true spirit of Steemit - the way it has been designed, and not just a way to game the system like you see all the time. Followers need to have some connection to the person they follow, and the connection should not merely be based on upvotes.

Thanks for your comment!

Active followers used to be an easy thing to track, as there's a site called Steemit Dead Followers. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like it's been updated lately, so it doesn't work (or it just takes a long, long time to load). It would show you all of your followers who had not been active in the last 30 days. Could be a pretty useful statistic.

This post is good advice, though. I hardly pay attention to my number of followers. It's a shame that so many people will join Steemit and then leave it behind and not come back. It's always great to have a small group of engaged followers rather than a huge number of dead ones.

Thanks for sharing.

Active followers used to be an easy thing to track, as there's a site called Steemit Dead Followers.

Funny I used the site to check for dead followers a couple of days ago and it didn't seem to be working since it kept loading for ages. I have seen quite a few tools out there that don't have an owner to look after them - pity since the tools were really useful when they were launched.

This post is good advice, though. I hardly pay attention to my number of followers. It's a shame that so many people will join Steemit and then leave it behind and not come back.

Thanks!

The reason for this post! People seem to care for the number of followers they have, not how engaged they are with their content. Hopefully in the next round of changes on Steemit, there will be a way to get rid of dead followers, or followers that you don't want following you - instead of only a mute button that doesn't get the person to unfollow you at all.

It's always great to have a small group of engaged followers rather than a huge number of dead ones.

^^This! It is so important to get the right type of followers, who can appreciate your content and enjoy reading your posts.

Thanks for stopping by!

...most probably do not have any idea of what good content really is.

Yes, people sometimes get distracted by the money and do crazy things, following and unfollowing is just one them. I don't really know how many of my followers are active and how many of them are not, I have people who will read everything I write, a few of them, and those who will stop by when they can. I love them equally and appreciate every comment and a suggestion.

I agree with you that the number is not important, I would rather have 10 followers that are quality people than 1000 of them that are just a number that doesn't mean anything :)
Thank you for yet another, thoughtful post 💚

Those who have been exposed to follow for follow practices on other platforms will tend to do the same thing over and over again until they realize that they are not having much success. A few good followers is what you are looking for not a large number. Thanks for your comment!

Thanks for dropping by my post earlier... Sorry I was not aware that you were a fellow Tsuvians too...
I totally agree with you on this... Yes, the number of followers doesn't really mean everything... it's just a number...
What's important is like what you have said... the engagement with our friends, followers and fans is much more important!

I signed up for Tsu and was an active member for less than a week and believe it or not I got a few hundred followers during that time! I could sense that it was a scam in the making and quickly exit from there.

Engaged and loyal followers are the need on Steemit. Thanks for stopping by!

Oh. I made many awesome friends and had fun there. Didn't manage to cashout because the minimum withdrawal was too high and I was constantly donating to charities that time too.

Having so many inactive followers is the worst, makes me think that my work isn't being liked when actually there are not that many people seeing it.

True, happens to all of us. I have quite a few of them myself although I have never done contests etc. only to get followers. I think it is because many newbies coming from other platforms hope to get upvotes on their blogs by following people who have been around for a longer time - thinking they will also be followed in reciprocation. Thanks for your comment!

I was midway through your post when I went back and changed my post footnote image to remove the phrase "I upvote good comments", then I came back and read the rest of it.

I was thinking about removing the phrase for the last several days, your post gave me the final push. Thank You!

Good thing that you acted on the basis of my post! There are thousands begging for upvotes and follows but that's not the way to go. Thanks!

Exactly, I get hat now because the same suggestion came to me from multiple quarters

I agree, the follower count means nothing. You need an interactive audience.

Thanks for your comment!

I kinda fit in this Category as Recently about a Month ago I started Upvoting Valuable Comments to related Topics. Then I thought why not try to Promote some Posts which have very less Visibility and I often make Post Promotion Threads.

That being said I kinda Agree to Disagree with you.

I absolutely agree with you on the Fact that Quality trumps over Quantity.

But then again I have some Motives behind Doing both Upvoting Comments and the Post Promotion. After Joining Steemit I was stranded for about 2-3 Months without a Penny Upvote which Disheartened me a lot and I was about to Leave Steemit.

Fortunately, I found some people willing to show me the Way but that is not always the case for everyone. My Main Aim is to keep Newbies interested in Steemit.

And by Interacting with all of them I have pretty much Noticed who the Loyal Followers are and who are Not.

Believe it or not, ​Reading their Comments does help me to Determine if that Person has Actually Read my Post.

I hope I am not wrong about this.

What do You think??

#thealliance

This comment has received a 0.04 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @arunava.

One look at the views, votes and comments on a post vs. the number of purported "followers" tells the sad truth about too many accounts here on Steemit. A 10% return is outstanding and it sure makes me wonder why people bother following someone in the first place.

The "follow you / follow me" mentality is just nuts. If you're not interested in what I'm writing about, I don't want you to follow me. That does neither of us one speck of good. Twitter is just rabid with that notion, though. There are even places to offer to sell you followers on Twitter, which makes no sense at all.

Also the "numbers race" is nothing short of stupid. Think about it. If you're "following" 20,000 people, you're not following anyone. In fact, if you're following more than 100, you'll have a real hard time keeping up and providing decent support to those who genuinely deserve it.

If you can only offer 10 - 50 votes a day, all the rest go begging ... and if they're also producing quality work, that's a shame. It just kills me to see a quality post with $.38 cents on it when so much crap (a notorious Steemit problem!!) gets so much more.

You need to consider people who provide you with more than cold numbers to be friends and members of the family. If you have 10 of them, consider it the start of a real treasure. A high number of followers doesn't impress me. Never did. I've seen how meaningless that can be.

I also wish there were a way we could purge dead followers. The untidiness of that annoys me.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56681.24
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28