You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Yay, XXXX Followers! NOT Important

in #steemit7 years ago

One look at the views, votes and comments on a post vs. the number of purported "followers" tells the sad truth about too many accounts here on Steemit. A 10% return is outstanding and it sure makes me wonder why people bother following someone in the first place.

The "follow you / follow me" mentality is just nuts. If you're not interested in what I'm writing about, I don't want you to follow me. That does neither of us one speck of good. Twitter is just rabid with that notion, though. There are even places to offer to sell you followers on Twitter, which makes no sense at all.

Also the "numbers race" is nothing short of stupid. Think about it. If you're "following" 20,000 people, you're not following anyone. In fact, if you're following more than 100, you'll have a real hard time keeping up and providing decent support to those who genuinely deserve it.

If you can only offer 10 - 50 votes a day, all the rest go begging ... and if they're also producing quality work, that's a shame. It just kills me to see a quality post with $.38 cents on it when so much crap (a notorious Steemit problem!!) gets so much more.

You need to consider people who provide you with more than cold numbers to be friends and members of the family. If you have 10 of them, consider it the start of a real treasure. A high number of followers doesn't impress me. Never did. I've seen how meaningless that can be.

I also wish there were a way we could purge dead followers. The untidiness of that annoys me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31