Steemified Series: 5 Reasons Why You Will WANT to Give a Warm Welcome to New Steemians

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The success of this platform is the stickiness and engagement of new Steemians. And, although it’s important to find support from more established Steemians, I truly believe it’s important to make a point as a community to leave comments that give a genuinely warm welcome to new peeps.

So, kudos to the many Steemians who reach out on a regular basis to new people! I know there are so many who make the effort to read introduceyourself posts and leave relevant and encouraging comments.

Holy Bot-Face, Batman!

Unfortunately, for the most part, when a new Steemian joins, they are primarily welcomed by bots and spammed with annoying "Follow me and I’ll follow you" requests.

A month ago, my sweet Steemit friend...

@abigail-dantes commented: I hope I am not being unfair to anybody else here, but yours was the only genuine welcome among the few I had on my ' introduce myself ' post!

My response: Oh, lol, I appreciate that, but for introduceyourself posts 9 out of 10 times the comments are from bots! As my friend @arbitrarykitten puts it... Holy bot-face Batman! That's why I make an effort to reach out when I can tell someone is for real because they need to know they matter!

@abigail-dantes: Then, I will follow your lead! It is nice receiving a warm genuine welcome. I will pass on to others what you gave to me....

My response: Awesome! That would be great to pass on!

Steemit's Own Language


Bottom line, Steemit can be an overwhelming platform for newbies. In addition to learning that there’s been a thriving cryptocurrency market out there that was hidden to most of us, Steemit also has its own language… witnesses, power up, power down, upvote, spam, @steemcleaners, markdown style, minnows, dolphins and whales, good bots and not-so-good bots, and much more. There’s also a myriad of helpful tools like the eSteem mobile app, Steemnow.com, discord, @minnowsupport, Steemit Chat, busy.org, etc that new people will learn about in time. Knowing they are NOT alone may make a huge difference to the new person.

Now, the five reasons you will WANT to go the extra effort with a new Steemian...

  1. If you hate spam, this is a great way to fight it. Besides, you may make a friend and maybe even a follow and future support from a pretty awesome person. In fact, many of the new people I supported when I started are now established and support me.
  2. Your encouragement may be what someone needs to stick with Steem long enough to create real financial options for themselves and their families. I love how @kaylinart was able to buy a car with cash because of her Steem earnings. Having driven for decades, I’m getting a kick out of reading about her adventures and perspectives with driving a car.
  3. Your encouragement may help someone stick with Steem long enough to use it as a platform for good. It’s great to see the Steemit community rally behind @rhondak’s fund raising efforts for animals.
  4. A newbie’s success and promotion of the Steemit platform could lead to the big break that Steem needs to break wide open and shoot the value of your Steem wallet through the roof.

#5, the best for last...

If you ever get writer’s block, don’t ask yourself, what should I write? Ask yourself, who’s the newest person I can serve? Go to the new tab, click introduceyourself section, read a few posts, and find a newbie you connect with to support with a word of encouragement. By helping new people, you’ll never run out of ideas for new content that you can post. Posts that help with new user engagement are usually a hit with the community which could mean upvotes, resteems and new followers for you! So show some newbie love!

introduceyourself.JPG

Helpful Tips

  • Check back with your chosen newbies and see if there's a post you can support.
  • You'll know pretty quickly if the newbie is someone you will continue to engage with as a new connection.
  • If you see a post, like a contest they can join, or a tutorial that would be good for them, direct them to it.
  • Resteem posts that will help new people so they can go to your blog history and see helpful hints.
  • Make sure you answer their questions when they ask. If you don't know the answer, let them know where they can search for an answer.
  • Don't get your feelers hurt if your love and support is not reciprocated.
  • And, mostly, cheer them on and have fun!

Who's Game?

Anyone, new and old to Steemit, can participate! Comment below if you're willing to reach out to one extra new person this week and please give me your feedback if you too have been blessed by reaching out or having someone reach out to you.

This Post is Steemified... pertaining to Steem!

steemified.png

My Other Posts

Remember to upvote, follow, resteem or comment to show support. :)

Much luv,

@karencarrens

** GIFs are from giphy.com

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @karencarrens! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

fantastic.
i agree with your statement. we should support new comer here. when i join here fist i get many support from whales here. that make me more excited here

When your new, support from people who want you to succeed is so exciting. You're the perfect example of why I love supporting new people! You've become a true friend who I know I will someday meet in person! Love you tons!

i hope so my freind. good luck and always success in your life. have a great day

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!

Pointing new people in the right direction has become one of my favorite things to do on Steemit. Like you said, that one genuine comment could be the difference of someone staying to learn about the platform or leaving just as soon as they sign up.

Always great to see this perspective, so I'm glad I came across this post on new. Now, if you'll excuse me, I'm off to encourage new people!

@tippy vote
@originalworks

Thanks for calling upon the oh mighty originalworks bot! You're the bestest!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @karencarrens to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks does? Give it an upvote to support this project and keep it free!
For more information, Click Here!

That is so great! I can always tell by people's comments if they are peeps I need to follow and I have a feeling you're one of them! :)

I'm flattered. :)

I'll be checking out the rest of your blog also. I'd just say keep sharing things like this. These posts help us make the community a better place!

Thanks!

Very good post and you definitely bring up something very important here. The new Steemians that join are the reason that our community grows, which we all wish, but as you say being a new comer is very hard, and it's important to give support and extra attention to new comers. I think good comments and guidance goes a long way. We who have been on here for some time already quickly forget how it was when we just arrived here, so thanks for reminding me ! Great Post !

Exactly! That extra effort is a win for everyone! 😁

It really is ! Also, the ones who really welcomed me in the beginning and made me keep at it Inam forever greatful to !

Thank you for remembering us why we need new people here. I'm saying this as a new person on Steemit. It's just 6 days I'm here. And I'm already in love.

If you really get what this platform provides, it's hard not to fall in love. So, yay! So happy for you!

The success of this platform is the stickiness and engagement of new Steemians. And, although it’s important to find support from more established Steemians, I truly believe it’s important to make a point as a community to leave comments that give a genuinely warm welcome to new peeps.

good post, I like Post you...

Thank you! Appreciate your encouraging comment. And, thank you so much for the resteem! :)

Thank you! Appreciate your encouraging comment. And, thank you so much for the resteem! :)

yes ... good morning @karencarrens!!!
safe running activities.........

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Also - check out @reblogger, by reading this post.


Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!


This post has received a 2.11 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @karencarrens.

nicely said; I'll add a selfish motive. When you establish a rapport with someone in your area of interest, you add to your list of actual readers.

ReSteemed

Fantastic point! I cannot tell you how touched I was when last week I disappeared for a few days and people kept on checking in with me. Thank you for the resteem!))))

in lieu of an upvote ;> I'm recharging

Also, good advice :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57