Mucking a House - What to Expect plus an Unexpected Visit from a TV News Crew (See Video)

in #volunteer7 years ago (edited)

Since the storm, my husband and I spend our free time volunteering wherever there is a need. Yesterday was no different. We went to muck out a flooded home. Hopefully, you never have to muck out your own house. But, chances are you may be called to help muck others. Mucking is the process of ripping up carpet or wood flooring, tearing out sheetrock and insulation, removing furniture and debris so that the home can be dried out with fans.

Debris Pile: Halfway Through

In this video, you'll see me and my husband's co-worker, Scott B., at the side of the house where we placed the debris pile. By the time it was done, we had created our own levy with the debris. What you see is only halfway through the cleanup.

Safety First

It's a dirty job. The water is toxic and the air is bad.

Gloves... The gloves I wore were all purpose gloves and I also wore thin rubber gloves underneath.

Shoes... wear non-slip shoes, preferably safety shoes. A volunteer in our group stepped on a nail. He was wearing running shoes. The wet, rusty nail went through the shoe and into his foot. Be careful! I bought a new pair of heavy-duty waterproof boots before we went to muck since the day before, I almost slipped when helping a friend move furniture out of the flood zone.

Masks... get the masks with ventilation like I have in the above video. I cannot stress the difference it makes to be able to breathe. Before I found the one with ventilation, I tried 2 other masks, both cheaper brands, with no ventilation and both times, I had such a hard time breathing.

Before & After

A Must Have - Wheelbarrow

My husband and his wheelbarrow. Notice that there's a boat at the home's front steps.
wheelbarrow.jpg

A News Crew Randomly Chose to Film and Report at our Location

It was an all-day event but we finished what we started. It was a 3400 sq ft one-story home with lots of sheetrock to tear out. The homeowner was a sweet widow named Judy. She was so grateful to have help. It just happened we ended up on the news. Most of the amazing volunteers you see in the news report work with my husband. They wanted to volunteer their free time as a group. Because they rehab homes, their expertise was invaluable.

How to Help or Be Helped

  • If you happen to be in the Houston area, you can volunteer your time and resources, or add your home to the list of homes ready-to-be-mucked.
  • Since the floods, because the company my husband works for buys homes for cash, their phones have been ringing off the hook. So, if you know anyone who wants to sell their home "as-is", please share my husband's virtual business card. For many of their clients, it's a major relief to unburden themselves of their homes. He may be able to help or direct them to someone who can help.

Special Shoutout

  • A few days ago, I unexpectedly received a very generous transfer of 10 SBD in my wallet from @sumatranate. I know with 5 children 10 years and under, that was a sacrificial gift for @sumatranate. He knows I will apply the money towards recovery efforts. If anyone else feels led to transfer SBD, please put in the memo that it's for recovery efforts. The need is so great. I will always update you and the community as to what I did with the funds. Thank you so much @sumatranate for your giving heart.

My Other Posts

Remember to upvote, follow, resteem or comment to show support.

Much luv,

@karencarrens

Sort:  

It just things but when it's where the heart is, it's still heart breaking. Best wishes!

You're absolutely right! In fact, it's a common sentiment I've noticed... the need to purge stuff out of our homes... those of us that didn't flood. In a sense, simplify. And, yes, the heartbreak comes from seeing the emotional strain with regards to shelter, transportation, and school for kids, etc.

Hey Karen, here you go friend! You can download the image or just use the link included below.

Karen's Badge

![Karen's Badge](https://steemitimages.com/DQmZ5dZUxNWUVoBVBSFkTbohQV1bVKGFm6uWvB9nVVXt35b/karencarrens-texas.png)

Thank you! :)

Great work helping you community/neighbours. Nice post :) Upvoted

Thank you @gavinthegreat! Houston is split into two categories... those that need help and those that can help. I feel fortunate that I and my family fell into the latter category.

You have a big loving heart😊Good job on helping others with a big smile, it means a lot to other people🙂🙏

It is great what you do, I am sure you a very appreciated! In these kinds of times the help of others can mean everything!

It's impossible not to act when we've been spared. We are all doing a little bit but it adds up because so many are helping. Pray for all those in the path of Hurricane Irma. It's going to hit the islands on the way to Florida. 😢

Of course all Help will be immensely helpful, also I think the psychological support is very important as well.
I saw in the News about hurricane Its crazy ..

Kudos to you and your husband. It's nice to see people helping people.

Thank u. 😃 The city pulling together hopefully will become the new normal...where we are there for each other without a devastating event.

Sounds like a nice community to live even though this disaster happened. Good for you.

Thank you for helping! I too hope that the spirit of togetherness and helping each other will prevail and that it will spread throughout the whole country!

Thank you @mariannewest. I have a feeling life long friendships will come from these storms. :)

that would be at least one good outcome of a disaster like this!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95